Reviews (30)
2
Reviews (30)
2
  • 5
    1
  • 4
    4
  • 3
    6
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    17

Most Upvote

  • Most Upvote
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
  • Updated on 23 Apr 2019
    I’ve requested my termination notice via the customer chat box and it told me to “Please leave us your number and our customer service agent will call me shortly”. It’s been 6 months.
    0 comments
    3
  • I have decided to switch over to circles life yesterday with promo 8gb $28/mth after comparing my experiences with these telco + price point. I am data heavy but I connects automatically to free wifi pretty much in malls and home so every month I don't exceed 3gb (though I could since my plan is 4gb). Usually uses WhatsApp calls but occasionally still have to do normal calls for reservations etc. SINGTEL: Pros: 10gb/mth @ $36.05 (+2gb if switch to ST on SIM only now) comes with 150mins talk time + 500 free local SMS. Free ST wifi across Singapore if you're ST postpaid customer. Cons: Bad service both at counter and call operator level. I was just changing my phone 6 weeks ago at ST; made appt online but got confusing SMS from ST, called them back and operator told me my collection point is at Jurong when I clearly selected AMK. After arriving at AMK I was made to wait an hour plus for nothing and no service recovery. Also, when you are tied to contract with ST they do not auto upgrade you to be on par with their new packages. Example you registered for 4gb (4g network) @ $65/mth 2 years back; even if new package is $40/mth you'll be charged at $65 even after your contract is over. Also, when I sign up for 4g network I will want 4g network say 80% of the time. Not 3g. ST cheated my feelings. STARHUB Pros: 6gb + unlimited weekend data @ $24 (12 mth contract) and if you're overseas you can simply turn on dataroam @ $15 for 2gb (valid 1 mth) so it's really convenient. They also used to upgrade existing users FOC to new package so long as you're not under contract. If you were paying $65/mth for 4gb, you may notice you have 6gb because they upgraded you. They will send you a letter to inform you and this is what I like them. Don't think they are doing now though. Cons: Technical glitches. Past 3 months I've been experiencing constant glitches from them. First I had data roam which I used in Taiwan which was okay but when I go to Malaysia the next week it couldn't connect at all. I called in to verify and all was verified ok so I entered Malaysia again the next week and again no signal. Called operator again and was told it is an IT glitch which they are trying to solve (2 weeks at least - really?) Also let's not forget their massive breakdown just last week. My phone is on SH postpaid and my home wireless is SH too. So if there's totally no signal; it's not just cable and fibre broadband issues. Their technical team needs to buck up. Zerox: Pros: unlimited everything for first 3000 sign ups at only $65/mth. Cons: Not for everyone. Do you really need unlimited everything when you can get wireless pretty much everywhere now and cheaper plan @ $30 and below? Circles life: Pros: 8gb for $28/mth no contract and comes with 100 min talk time... Unlimited WhatsApp free and deliver the constant 4G promise. I stay and live in town but often goes around to East, North and West of SG. While I always get 3G signal in Orchard for ST & SH, circles life gave me 4G. I did a free trial with circles life last year and it certainly surprises me. Let's not forget free roaming and free caller number display which ST & SH charges for basic necessities. Cons: No SMS but not a big deal because to be honest you can contact everyone on WhatsApp/line pretty much these days. Sorry for the long post but this is why I chose circles life! Hopefully circles life stays competitive in terms of both pricing and service level so I can support them on a continuous basis.
    1 comment
    2
    Shirley Lim
    Shirley Lim

    27 Jul 2018

    Thank you. Your review has proven to be most helpful as my family and I have recently relocated to Singapore and looking for the best possible mobile company. Appreciate your detail review.
  • Updated on 15 Sep 2018
    I been with SINGTEL for a long time. Pros 1) good island wide coverage 2) bundle circles provides discount and Sunday free data Cons 1) no free caller ID 2) low data bundled with plans 3) pricy I think it would be better to go with Sim only plans
    0 comments
    2
  • Updated on 31 Mar 2018
    Switched to Circles about 7 months ago and I absolutely love it! Was under a Singtel contract previously because of family perks. However, exceeding my meek 3GB data limit became a monthly "ritual" I would say. Even though Singtel offers me unlimited sms, most people in this age of technology uses Whatsapp/Telegram/Line as a platform for communication. This perk wasn't a perk for me at all. Now, with Circles, I can get up to 6.5GB at less than $30 as compared to Singtel which stands at $60 (assuming that I exceed 3GB)! Being a student who pays her own phone bills, that $30 saved every month makes a whole lot of difference!
    0 comments
    2
  • Do NOT get Singtel they simply steal your money. I had overpaid my bill and I called Singtel 2 months before I was moving out of Singapore to ask them to return my extra money. They said that they would mail me a check in 4 weeks. I never got the check. After 4 weeks I called them multiple times to ask about the status of the check. Every time they said that someone would look into it and then contact me but no one ever did. Finally, 3 days before I was to leave SIngapore, I called again. The guy I talked to said they could rush a check to the store and I could pick it up from the store in 2 days. He even made me email my flight details to him so that he had proof that I needed the check to be rushed. He said they would call me when the check was ready to pick up. Surprise, surprise, no one called me. I called again that day and they told me to rush to the store because it was closing in an hour. I asked him to call ahead to the store and let them know I am on my way. I get to the store and surprise, surprise, the guy did not call ahead and they have and no idea what I am talking about. They also do not have a check for me and cannot write one. Someone asked for my bank account information and says that they will direct deposit the money into my account in 3-4 weeks. Well, it has been 4 weeks, and I still have not received my money. Singtel is really great at making sure that you pay your bills on time but they currently owe me OVER $300 AND HAVE NOT PAID ME IN 3 MONTHS. They are scam artists and you should NOT trust them with your money or your business.
    1 comment
    1
    Kenneth Lou
    Kenneth Lou

    07 Sep 2018

    Hey Adeetee Bhide thanks for leaving a really in-depth and insightful review. I'm Kenneth from the Seedly moderation team. I wanted to let you know that we do not allow profanity in the reviews, so please remove the 'F-words' and others soon by 8 September 12 noon :) If not, we'll have to remove it on our end. Cheers and have a great weekend ahead!
  • Updated on 08 May 2019
    My Google play account was hacked and Singtel allows it to charge google play items to be deducted from my bill without my consent, without any verification or notifications. The accumulated bill was $200+, I only knew it when i received my bill. Not a single sms/email was sent to me to notify this. I called Singtel CS hotline, spoken to Naren, all I heard is company SOP and they can't help me at all, ask me to contact Google play to resolve this. And also told me that I'm the one who authorized it to be charged to my Singtel bill, if I change it to pay by credit card, if my credit card has been hack, I also can not be finding the credit card company to resolve this issue right, bla bla bla. Told me change it to pay by my credit card instead, so it will not charged to my Singtel bill. Does it make a different for me to change to different payment matter? First of all, if I knew this would happened to Singtel, I will not use Singtel at all right. In the first place, Why do you all allow it to charge without notifying the customer? If Singtel won't take the responsibility, why take them as the vendors? Using Singtel for 10 years+ it really such a disappointment and feel insulted in what CS response, hate it that I now tied with Singtel contract and can't cancel it. When things happened, Singtel just push the problems away, instead of helping the customer, but monthly just sit there collect our money.
    0 comments
    1
  • Updated on 07 Dec 2018
    "We strongly encourage you to settle the payment within seven days from the date of this letter (Nov 30)" - I received said mail on the Dec 8. Buck up with your mailing before you threaten people, Singtel. >Switched to Circles Life because of: - Poor customer service - Expensive plans with no rewards - Shitty connection - Extra charges I could go on. Just get a new telco.
    0 comments
    1
  • Updated on 30 Nov 2018
    higher price but a lot of extra hiding charges in bills. Unless you check the bill in detail every month you might not have observed.
    0 comments
    1
Questions (9)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending

Circles.Life

Singtel

Kenneth Kwek
Kenneth Kwek,
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 16 Apr 2019
For new signups, either, both competitive. If you are with circles life, then gomo as circles life only offer competitive offerings for new signups

Singtel

Stocks

Investments

Probably because a lot of competitors are coming into the telco industry. Their overseas business also didnt do well.

Singtel

Investments

Isaac Chan
Isaac Chan, Business at NUS
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (May)

Level 8. Wizard
Answered on 07 Mar 2019
I would think that the pressure on Singtel to keep paying off dividends has also caused its leverage and credit risk to worsen also. It's dividend payout ratio is actually 77% for 2018 Q3, quite high! If Singtel were to cut back on dividends, its share prices will really tank since the dividends have all been priced into the shares. Maybe just to wrap Sandra point up, the measure of leverage that was talked about in the article was Debt/EBITDA. If more debt is taken on, but EBITDA decreases, the leverage levels will increase. That's probably why they downgraded Singtel's rating.

Starhub

M1

Singtel

Tee-Ming Chew
Tee-Ming Chew, Co-founder at Seedly
Level 6. Master
Answered 2w ago
You can use WeChat to do the call

AMA The Fifth Person

Singtel

Starhub

Stocks

Investments

They are all doing not so well. Singtel being bogged down by its huge investment in Bharti Airtel India. Starhub undergoing massive business transformation. Profits down, dividends cut. M1 losing ARPU and the price war is hurting it. Plus, the incoming TPG, the current circles.life promos will all add up into more competition in an already super saturated market. Sooner or later there will be a consolidation. A small population in Singapore will have limited people on data plans, any price war will hurt revenues.

AMA Christopher Tan

Singtel

ETF

REITs

Investments

High dividends stock investing in SIngapore is really a very good idea. Dividend investing will be essential when living in Singapore becomes expensive. Inflation will always be in the economy and living standard is bound to increase eventually. Some tips to make the most of dividend investing: - Select the companies that have been increasing the dividend over the years - Invest in the companies with long dividend payments record - Never forget to diversify your portfolio - Grab the knowledge of financial ratio For more info, please visit -https://www.mmfsolutions.sg/dividend-investing-sgx-stocks-make-money/

Singtel

Retirement

Investments

Png Cheng Xi Damien
Png Cheng Xi Damien, BSc Finance at SUSS
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 10 Oct 2018
Too big to fail yes, but their stock prices can still be affected. Too big to fail should only be used to determine if you should buy a bond.

Singtel

AMA SG Young Investment

Investments

Soh Sing Heng
Soh Sing Heng, Financial Blogger at SG Young Investment
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 11 Sep 2018
I still believe in Singtel being a good investment. I wrote an article on my detailed analysis of Singtel which you can read here: https://sgyounginvestment.blogspot.com/2018/07/looking-more-closely-at-singtel-is.html

Singtel

Investments

Dwivid Sharma
Dwivid Sharma,
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 17 Aug 2018
Yes, It is good time to buy Singtel. Yesterday, I have read a blog Top 5 Singapore Stocks to Buy Now! and it contains Singtel in their list of stocks. As per my analysis it is alost near to it low for this year and as we know that It has potential to give good return on investment.
About Singtel
OperationsThe Singtel 4G network has remained the widest nationwide. It is also consistently proven to be the fastest. (according to IMDA)
Bundles AvailableSIM Only Plans (no-contract or 12 months) Combo Bundle Plans (with 24 months contract)
Contract Length0,12 or 24 months
Data RoamingAvailable

About Singtel

The Singtel Group is currently Asia's leading communications group. Headquartered in Singapore, Singtel has more than 130 years of operating experience.

Singtel is one of the largest listed companies on the Singapore Exchange in terms of market capitalisation.

Good to know

Singtel offers a myriad of plans, catering to different wants and needs.

You can check out all their postpaid plans here.

Singtel also offers different mobile add ons for postpaid plans.

Still undecided? You can check out our SIM only comparison here.

Contact Info

General Enquiries: 1688

Operating Hours: Mon - Sun 8:30am - 8:30pm