StarHub Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

StarHub

  • Overview
  • Reviews (75)
  • Questions (14)
  • More Details

Plans (3)

Slide 1 of 3

Details

Roaming Plans

International Roaming

Free International Roaming (Opt-in required).

DataTravel

Roaming data bundles that can be used across up to 81 destinations for as low as $5 for 1 GB. No activation fee or additional subscription required.

Read More about StarHub
Reviews (75)

2.8

75 Reviews

  • 5
    6
  • 4
    25
  • 3
    13
  • 2
    7
  • 1
    24

Read Review About...

customer service

sim plan

starhub year

weekend data

data plan

unlimited weekend

plan month

data usage

free caller

starhub mobile

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 18 Feb 2020
    Horrible customer service, they don’t even listen to what you are saying but will give textbook answer which is not even relevant or helpful to your specific query. Will make you feel like a criminal than a customer though you have NO outstanding and you have been paying on time. Very misleading advertisements like $0 phones but when you try to sign up it is only applicable to certain selected customers
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 10 Feb 2020

    Purchased

    StarHub $25 SIM Only plan

    I used to be on StarHub's 2 year plan and expired in December. I chose to stick back to Starhub's SIM Only plan after multiple comparisons for a few reasons: - Roaming: I found out that the newer telcos charges a lot for roaming charges. As I was planning to go China, the newer telcos either do not support or charges expensive rates. That was quite a turn-off, given I am used to the roaming coverage provided by the old 3 telcos. - Free 100 SMS: Starhub's plan is comparable in terms of outgoing calls and data (free weekend and 25GB is seriously generous). The winning point for me is the free 100 SMS with payment by credit card. Sometimes I have to send a few SMSes and paying 50 cents more for that is quite a bummer. I actually forget about this until I receive my 1st bill and "saved" probably $1 cos I sent about 20 SMS last month. - Lazy to port out: There are quite a few steps to port out (collect your new sim card, switch to temporary number and port back), and with the advantages above, porting out is not the hassle. Given that, Starhub's network has its issues at underground areas or shopping malls which Singtel has advantage on. But these issues are not a dealbreaker for me, so I will recommend this SIM-only plan.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 27 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    StarHub $25 SIM Only plan

    [Network] So far not dead spots underground or in malls. Been to ulu camp and airbases before. [Customer Service] Get notifications to claim rewards on app for being loyal to StarHub. Was offered free 50GB more monthly. Basically I feel carefree - like using unlimited. Filling up form online gets quick response via email. [Ease of porting] No issues as I port over often from telco to telco. [Mobile App] Can monitor bill and usage. [Billing] Paying below $6 monthly with the $10 discount code/monthly and employer subsidy.
    0 comments
    1
  • Updated on 19 Jan 2020
    [Network] Not as good a Singtel as I received poor coverage on selected locations of the tiny Singapore island. [Customer Service] This is totally non-existent. From the hotline to the walk-in counter support, their customer service is clueless and kept referring me around to get simple things resolved. [Billing] Personally, WATCH your bill if you are using them. If you challenge them on dubious billing, they cant give you a good answer and will beat around the bush to get you off the topic. I have IDD built in my plan and they constantly charges small amounts into my monthly bills and when challenged, some of it got waived, was a sneaky more and this was one of my main push to switch providers. in summary, if $$, customer service and coverage is not important for your phone plan, you can consider them, otherwise, skip and move on.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 19 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    StarHub $25 SIM Only plan

    Used their StarHub XS plan back in 2016, seems to pretty stable but lack of good data bundle packs back then. The new $25 SIM-Only addresses this gap now and it is very competitively priced. Only their own giga! by StarHub is more affordable in terms of same data bundles and pricing !
    0 comments
    0
Questions (14)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

GOMO

StarHub

Singtel

Mobile Plans

L
Leon
Level 2. Rookie
Updated 2w ago
Unlike other MVNO Mobile Virtual Network Operator. GOMO is fully Digital Telco (Doesn't rides on other service provider). MVNO includes: Zero1, Circles, Giga, Zero and etc I currently holding 2 plan in comparison (Tested with Huawei Mate 20X). Ookla Speed Test (View Quest Station Orchard Gateway) Singtel CIS Combo 3 + Data 4X = 12GB Avg Download and Upload Speed: 66.1Mbps/10.22Mbps Avg Download and Upload Speed After 6PM: 27.9Mbps/6.19 Mbps Gomo by Singtel = 20GB Avg Download and Upload Speed: 51.5Mbps/11.01Mbps Avg Download and Upload Speed After 6PM: 29.2 Mbps/9Mbps If you are heavily rely on calls and sms (ah-hemmm what year is this?) you get only 200 mins and 200 SMSes. For me, my gomo is use purely on my iPad for work and study as i do not need call time. I do know M1 currently have the best deal for money for only $25 per month, 30GB Data, 1000 SMS and Call. If you are the kind of people that really needs calls, stay at Starhub or Port to M1. If you are the kind of people that only needs data for certain devices, go for Gomo. $20 for 20GB is really good value, unless you spend 24/7 watching 4k Cat's video.
👍 1

Lifestyle

Mobile Plans

StarHub

giga!

A
Angelica
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered 2w ago
Avoid giga at all costs. If you're lucky, the process works fine and the only hiccup is the awful app. But if you're not lucky, then it's really not worth it. Service doesn't exist at all. There is no line to call, there is only one live agent and you have to wait hours to get to him. Emails for help don't even get looked at. So if they mischarge you or you buy a roaming package and it doesn't work, there will be no refunds. For me, that's not worth the couple dollars saved at all.
👍 0

Mobile Plans

Circles.Life

Singtel

M1

StarHub

giga!

Traditional telcos still offer lots of discounts for phone (under contract), but to balance this, your monthly fees will be higher compared to Sim only plans. Good for those who wants to keep changing phone every year or so. I'm personally with a traditional telco, M1, but under their Sim only plan. I buy a 1x good phone that can last me for years, but have a cheaper plan so that overall I save money. Moreover M1 sim only plan has 1000 mins, 1000 sms, 30 GB per month, best for all worlds, though connectivity may be abit bad in some parts of the mrt, but overall not a big issue.
👍 1

Singtel

StarHub

Rais M
Rais M
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered 4w ago
Sim only plans are generally much cheaper because it just covers the basic, even though the basics they covered might be very attractive (eg. high GB data plan). New phones are not part of the Sim only plans. Sim plans subsidies the phone cost, resulting in a short term savings when in comes to get a new phone. Another attractive thing about Sim plans is that the plan itself might comes with additional freebies. For example, Singtel now provides free subscriptions with HOOQ. And of course, there are also some people who continue to stick to Sim plans because their mobile bills are covered by their company. It is a win win situation for these people because they do not need to worry about their monthly bill, and they can get a subsidies phone at the same time.
👍 1

Lifestyle

Singtel

StarHub

M1

MyRepublic

M
Mohd
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 25 Jan 2020
Go for the no frills plan. It's much more cheaper than getting a free phone and bumming up on your monthly commitment. You can get good phones off counters with good specs under $300 if you are not concern of mobile brands. Been using Vivo, redmi , ZTE , Asus and others and personally all have their pros and cons, you just need to know what you are looking for in your phone specs, battery life, phototaking, etc.
👍 0

DBS Woman's World Card

StarHub

In most cases yes, so long as it is not under the list of exclusions for the card. Here is everything about me and what I do best.
👍 0

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Singtel

Miles

StarHub

MileLion

Credit Cards

Choon Yuan Chan
Choon Yuan Chan
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 06 Dec 2019
You can earn 1.2 miles paying Singtel bills. However truthfully there are better ways. Use uob preferred platinum, top up to grab to earn 4mile per dollar top up. Then use your grabpay credit to pay singtel/starhub bills via axs mobile app payment method use grabpay
👍 0

Stocks Discussion

StarHub

Alvin Teo
Alvin Teo
Level 6. Master
Answered on 11 Nov 2019
The fact that you have to mention sustainability over dividend payouts means it’s not sustainable. 5G is not a proprietary tech for starhub only. It’s first mover’s advantage will be as short as it’s bull run once the other telco starts their own 5G network. For the longest time, starhub has had a cable tv. That did nothing for its share price and look at the state of it now.. Sometimes no need see numbers also can determine the company good to invest or not. This is unlike creative. While not inventing, it was suing people for money so that’s good money coupled with proper business management.
👍 1

StarHub

Electricity Retailers

Credit Cards

Caroline Sim
Caroline Sim
Level 2. Rookie
Answered on 31 May 2018
Depending on how you utilise the cards. 1) I used OCBC Cashflo card for all insurance premiums. I converted all my premiums to yearly payments and clock it under thisthis card. Reason being, if the premiums are more than $1000, it will auto translate it into a 6 months instalment plan. If less than $1000 It's a 3 months instalment plan. All with no additionaadditional charges. Secondly, if the monthly payment exceeds $1000, it's a 1% monthly cash back. Lesser than $1000, it's 0.5% cashback. Note: not alall cashback cards gives cashbacks for insurance premiums. 2) I put my starhub bills on recurring basis on my bonus saver credit card. Starhub gives me 100 free sms (for my grab hitch usage) monthly by doing credit card recurring payments. At the same time I gain usage at my card to increase my bonus interest (0.78% pa) earn on up to $100k deposits in my bonus saver account. 3) utilities bills are parked under my hubby's posb everyday card. He has a DBS multiplier account. 4) minor spendings will first be looked through the above 3 mentioned cards. If I have met the minimum, then the rest will be spend on unlimited card or Citibank rewards card. Depending on my spending in the month.
👍 3

Trading

Fundamentals

Investments

StarHub

Stocks Discussion

Isaac Chan
Isaac Chan, Business at NUS
Level 8. Wizard
Updated on 12 Mar 2019
I think that starbucks is quite an interesting example, being a trail blazer by setting the coffee culture and developing this culture around itself. I feel that what's fascinating about starbucks is that they focus so much on the overall experience of the customer in the store. To them, it's not just about the coffee but about the entire experience of being in the store. This in-house store experience helps it to differentiate itself from other players in the coffee industry. Like McDonald's, I believe Starbucks has also got it right in terms of choosing the best spots for where the store is held, even if rental costs there are exorbitent. That kind of frontage and accessibility seems to be one of the key drivers of growth for both these companies. Not really well-versed in marketing here, but starbucks seems to also be a success story (along with Apple and Google), about brand equity and the need to nurture and develop brand awareness within the consciousness of the public. Paying 7 to 8 SGD for a drink is actually expensive if you think about other comparable F&B items you can buy with that same amount, but somehow Starbucks has done it. Something else I believe it has done right is in specialising and promoting its core items, coffee, and not veering too much off course with other food items like it had done before
👍 1
Load more questions

About StarHub

Started in the year 1998, StarHub is Singapore's first fully integrated info-communications company.

They aim to provide Singaporeans, every home and businesses world-class communication, information and lifestyle services.

Good to know

You can check out their data plans here.

Starhub also offers data add ons, ensuring that customers never run out of data.

You can visit their Data Add-ons FAQ here.

Still undecided to what plan you should choose? Check out our SIM-Only comparison.

Contact Info

Starhub’s FAQ

General Service Hotline: 1633

Prepaid Mobile Enquires: 9850 0000

Billing Enquires: 1637

Sales Hotline: 1630

Starhub Public Hotline: +65 6873 2828