facebookGeneco Reviews and Comparison - Seedly

Advertisement

4.3
332 reviews
claimed

Claimed

This product is managed by Geneco.

Summary

Product Page Transparency

  • Claimed in October 2020

Geneco Electricity Market Review 2021

Geneco is a popular electricity provider in Singapore that offers affordable and flexible plans with green energy options. They offer standard price plans - fixed and discount off tariffs, with a duration of 6 to 24 months. To ensure price competitiveness, Geneco has a price match guarantee, no transmission loss charges and no monthly fees.

It is also a great retailer for those hoping to switch to a more environmentally-conscious organisation as all their plans have a Power Eco Add-on. With this option, you can select between Carbon Credits (CC) or Renewal Energy Certificates (REC) to add on any plan you want.

Geneco genuinely believes in upholding sustainability, thus not only do they work towards powering us with green energy they also have many non-energy-related initiatives for environmental sustainability.

...see more

Plans (3)

Slide 1 of 3
  • Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

    Fixed rate of 28.80c/kwh

    PLAN TYPE

    28.80

    RATE

    24m

    CONTRACT

  • Geneco Get It Fixed 12 Plan

    Fixed rate of 29.20c/kwh

    PLAN TYPE

    29.20

    RATE

    12m

    CONTRACT

  • Geneco Give Us A Try Plan

    Fixed rate of 29.80c/kwh

    PLAN TYPE

    31.00

    RATE

    6m

    CONTRACT

Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

Fixed rate of 28.80c/kwh

PLAN TYPE

28.80

RATE

24m

CONTRACT

Reviews (332)

4.3

332 Reviews

5
234
4
40
3
9
2
5
1
44

Service Rating

Customer Support

3.9

Ease of signup

4.3

Online Portal

4.1
      Posted 06 Apr 2022

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      Been using them since the opening up of multiple providers, and so far there have been no issues. Signing up was easy and hassle-free.

      5

      What are your thoughts?

      I have just renewed my Geneco contract too and I must say I am very happy with it. Prompt billing without hassles.

      View 3 replies

      View 1 other comments

      Posted 25 Mar 2022

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      One of the worst customer service experience from Geneco, if not the worst. Called up the call center and was told my request will have to refer to a manager (manager will call back within 3-5 business days). Now it had been nearly 3 weeks and in between, I had contacted Geneco about 4 times about getting the manager to call me back. Last conversation was the manager will call me back by next week. Haiz. Bad customer services.

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Dear Roland,
      Thank you for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear of such an experience. Our customer experience team is working hard to make sure that all customers are attended to and are given the accurate information. Rest assured that we will get back to you at our soonest.

      Please do take care and stay safe.

      Posted 21 Mar 2022

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      [Hidden Costs] Geneco falsely advertised its price-match feature, a few days after I signed up with them, I requested to price-match against Keppel's lower rate - to my surprise, Geneco mentioned that they're not able to do so, one of the reasons being that Keppel requires installation of a smart meter while they do not. This makes absolutely no sense, why would another retailer requiring installation of a smart meter affect a price-match application for a lower rate? When I asked for further elaboration, they just said it would "not be a fair comparison" without further explanation and refused to show evidence that anyone has successfully filed a price-match application. [Customer Services] Last of all, their customer service really leaves alot to be desired - taking a very long to respond to simple queries, and refusing to respond until multiple follow up emails are sent. Sign up at your own risk!

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Dear Hayden,
      Thank you for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear of such an experience. Our customer experience team is working hard to make sure that all customers are attended to and are given the accurate information. Rest assure that they will get back to you at the soonest.

      To be eligible for Price-Match Guarantee, both Plans must be of the same terms. Keppel plan will require an AMI meter whereas Geneco plans do not require an AMI meter to be installed. Apart from that, Geneco is offering one time bill rebate whereas Keppel does not. Hence it is not applicable for Price-Match.

      Hope these clarified.

      Take care and have a great day ahead.

      Posted 20 Mar 2022

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      Pretty happy so far with Geneco. Fuss free and hope they can maintain price competitiveness - with rising fuel prices. Wish they can provide more rewards though, and loyalty benefits.

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Dear James,

      We hope all is well on your side. We are pleased to know that it has been a great experience so far! Thank you for your support and here's wishing you a great weekend ahead :)

      Posted 24 Feb 2022

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      [Customer Services] Messing customer services and not sure what is happening, long waiting times, need long wait time to response. No empathy to customer who lose a family member

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 30 Dec 2021

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      it is very easy to signup and the fares are relatively reasonably and tailor-made, while every time I called customer support, the staffs are sincere and patient.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 09 Dec 2021

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      Product not good enough, but acceptable ok, some other things like game and recycle gifts are not well organized . like new year recycle Ang Po pack ask for no news.other on11/11 ask for free recycle gifts of 3out 1 . key in number of times andsay not confirm lastly . after on18/11 /21 tell you disqualify nothing at last. free recycle gifts no.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 07 Dec 2021

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      Honestly, I can’t believe the number of 5 star reviews here. I would have definitely quit the services earlier if the costs weren’t so prohibitively ridiculous. [Customer Services] Customer service is the paragon of inefficiency and incompetence, took 2 months to respond to my relocation request, meaning that I was stuck with a longer term contract than my lease because they didn’t process my request for MONTHS. Now, I am requesting to terminate my contract upon expiry. I gave them 2 month’s notice to terminate in January, one week later I got email confirmation that my service will instead be terminated in the middle of December. What a mess. [Hidden Costs] As mentioned before, absolutely insane early termination fees which trap you into recontracting with them when you move if you want your fees reimbursed. The account closure fee and processing charges are also a joke when you are simply terminating on expiry of contract. The fees may be only slightly cheaper, but I would say SP wholesale prices are better and sans the pain of dealing with the shitty customer service.

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Dear Han Rin,

      Thank you for reaching out to us. We are sorry to hear of such an experience.

      Our customer experience team are working hard to ensure that all customers queries are answered and resolved as soon as possible. Rest assured, we are here to help.

      Kindly write to [email protected] and please quote that you have reached out on Seedly and it would be helpful if you can share more details for us to look into the matter for you. We look forward to assisting you.

      Please do take care and stay safe.

      Posted 16 Nov 2021

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 12 Plan

      Very efficient company ! Billing is clear abs prompt. Price is one of the best and allows price guarantee match. Promo codes and referral code and recurring payment allows a lot of cash rebate to offset bills! V v lovely!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 30 Oct 2021

      Purchased

      Geneco Get It Fixed 24 Plan

      I am glad I signed up with Geneco. They are a very big company with huge infrastructure capital commitments in Malaysia. There are still existing to provide uninterrupted service.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

    Discussions (0)

      No Posts Found.

      Geneco Electricity Plans

      Plan name

      Plan type

      Duration

      Electricity Rates / Price per kwh (incl. GST)

      Benefits

      Get It Fixed 24

      Fixed rate

      24 months

      28.80 ¢/kwh

      • No transmission loss charges, No monthly fees

      Get It Fixed 12

      Fixed rate

      12 months

      29.20 ¢/kwh

      • No transmission loss charges, No monthly fees

      Give Us a Try

      Fixed rate

      6 months

      31.00 ¢/kwh

      • No transmission loss charges, No monthly fees, Price match guarantee
      Summary of Geneco's electricity plans, rates and prices

      Features and Benefits of Geneco

      • Overall, Geneco has one of the most competitive prices for fixed rates electricity plans. Their Give Us a Try 6-month plan is priced at 29.80¢/kWh, Get It Fixed 12 plan is priced at 29.20¢/kWh, and Get It Fixed 24 plan is priced at 28.80¢/kWh.
      • Select between Carbon Credits (CC) or Renewal Energy Certificates (REC) to add on any plan you want.
      • No transmission loss charges for all plans.
      • No monthly fees necessary for the majority of the plans (excluding Get It Green, and Get Sunny) .
      • Get a 1% cash rebate for POSB Everyday Card holders.

      Geneco's Price Match Guarantee

      Geneco also offers a price match guarantee for its Give Us a Try (6-month plan), if one were to see a lower price than Geneco’s within 7 working days of sign up, Geneco will refund you the difference for that contract period. Terms and conditions apply.

      Need help choosing an electricity provider? Compare Singapore's Best Electricity Retailers with Seedly's Open Electricity Market Comparison Tool

      Fees and Charges for Geneco

      • One-time Registration fee: None
      • Security Deposit: Chargeable
      • Late Payment Charge: 1% interest on the outstanding balance from the previous month
      • Early Termination Fee: $60 - $720. The early termination fees charged by Geneco is a one-time fee corresponding to the consumer’s dwelling type.

      FAQs for Geneco

      1. How to switch to Geneco?

      Choose a plan on Geneco's website, enter your details and wait for a Geneco representative to get in touch with you. Don't worry! Switching of retailers will not cause disruptions to your electricity supply.

      2. Do I have to switch from an analogue to a AMI meter for the Get Free Sundays plan?

      It is not compulsory. If an AMI meter is installed, one will be able to measure their actual consumption on a half-hourly basis, allowing actual Sundays off. If you use an analogue meter, you will be given Sunday’s off based on the daily load profile that the Energy Market Authority has developed.

      3 . How long does it take for me to switch over?

      After sign up and submission of verification, Geneco will begin the verification process. The transfer process will take approximately 2 to 4 weeks upon submission of NRIC/FIN.

      4. Are there fees for early contract termination?

      Yes, there will be an early termination fee charged based on your dwelling type. Please refer to your contract for the exact amount.

      Contact Geneco

      • Phone: 63636677
      • Operation Hours: Mon to Fri, 9am - 5.30pm
      • Address: 450 Alexandra Road., #01-01, Singapore 119960

      About Geneco

      Geneco is a leading electric provider powered by Seraya Energy. Priding itself upon 48 years of experience, 18 years of award-winning customer service in electricity retailing since 2001 and 19 plus years of energy expertise, the UK based company is determined to help Singaporeans find the best ways of buying electricity. Geneco largely believes in providing sustainable energy to your homes. And thus also sustainable initiatives.

      Contact us at [email protected] should you require any assistance or spot any inaccuracies.

      Advertisement