Geneco Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Slide 1 of 7
Reviews (152)
4.6
Reviews (152)
4.6
  • 5
    125
  • 4
    16
  • 3
    2
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    9

Most Helpful

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
  • PM me for details on how to get extra $20 rebates. Many people have benefited from it!!!!!!!!!!! Natural gas is going up so would recommend the fixed price offer, but decision is solely up to you. Markets are unpredictable. Trade war on the other hand causing oil prices to come down. But in Singapore, price usually increase faster than for it to come down from past experience... Better act fast! Tariffs went up! Not sure current offers will remain for how long. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/electricity-prices-sp-group-tariffs-increase-july-september-2019-11672840 Sign up online is easy and hassle free. So far prices have been the better ones and no false marketing like displaying the price without gst. March deals even better at 17.78c/kwh for 2/3 year plans. However since July it has risen to 17.98c/kwh... Would recommend fixed plan over discounts over tariff plans. Switch over now without hesitation as every day delayed is costlier than waiting to get a slightly better deal in future.
    10 comments
    23

    See all 10 comments

    Siow Nan Wong
    Siow Nan Wong

    3d ago

    Hi Kelvin, apparently I cannot share it in review pages for unknown reasons, but you can find the code from my reply to this question. https://seedly.sg/questions/what-are-the-differences-between-the-various-electricity-retailers-like-keppel-electric-geneco-ohm-electricity-and-iswitch?aid=17114
    Kelvin Gan
    Kelvin Gan

    3d ago

    Hi. Will you be able to share the code?
  • PM me in my other posts for details on how to get extra $20 rebates. Many people have chosen my strategy/code!!! Note: The SP Electricity Tariff is going up 6.4% in Jul 19! Switch now to save more! https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/electricity-tariffs-city-gas-prices-rise-july-september Review: I have been using Geneco since May. For general users, I recommend the default 24month fixed plan as it's very simple and moderate risk and the tariff is increasing! Total possible rebate= $68 + $40 (Amex card new sign up or old card) + $20 (referral=my HP number above..) = $128. A really good deal! :) My findings: 1) They are among biggest players. Should be very stable and saves you trouble. 2) Simple pricing structure, no hidden cost, no deposit required. . 3) They have price match if you signed up for their 2 yrs plan. (24mth) 4) The bill is easy to read, simple, straightforward. 5) You saves 30% money (maybe 15$ per month) compared to SP
    10 comments
    23

    See all 10 comments

    Kelvin Gan
    Kelvin Gan

    3d ago

    Hi. I would like to register. Will you be able to share your mobile?
    Jonathan Ng
    Jonathan Ng

    2w ago

    Hi Queenie, I'm Jonathan from the Seedly Community Team. Posting of mobile numbers will not be allowed in product reviews. For Geneco specifically, your mobile number is the referral code. As mentioned previously, all promotional/referral codes posted in product reviews will be deleted. If this happens again, I'm afraid the team will have to ban you from our community. Thanks.
  • Tariff is going up 6.4% in Jul 19! Switch now to avoid the high tariff!! https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/electricity-tariffs-city-gas-prices-rise-july-september 😊Review😊: I have signed up the 24months plan with Geneco. For the past 4 months, our bill shows a great difference. It is around 30-40% cheaper! We recommended our friends to Geneco and I encouraged them to make comparison. I was sure that they will still go with Geneco after comparison, and they did :) Other points that attracted me- •The bill is easy to read, simple, straightforward. •They are one of the main providers and thus reliable. •No deposit is required whereas some companies require deposit (note: SP will refund u the portion of deposit for electricity) •No hidden fees (which is very crucial to me as I prefer transparency) •No disruption during the switch over and it was hassle free. •They do price match for 24 months plan. Thus, you get the best of both world, cheapest price + good reputation. •If you have any query, feel free to ask me. You may PM me if you need advice on how to do the price match. I got mine! :) . I hope the above helps :) Since Seedly does not encourage the sharing of promo codes, please find more details of existing promos on the Geneco website below. https://www.geneco.sg/residential/promotion
    5 comments
    7

    See all 5 comments

    Jonathan Ng
    Jonathan Ng

    2w ago

    Hi Vivien, I'm Jonathan from the Seedly Community Team. Posting of mobile numbers will not be allowed in product reviews. For Geneco specifically, your mobile number is the referral code. As mentioned previously, all promotional/referral codes posted in product reviews will be deleted. If this happens again, I'm afraid the team will have to ban you from our community. Thanks.
    Vivien Lee Feng
    Vivien Lee Feng

    05 May 2019

    Thank you very much! 😊
  • Thanks for those who PM me, hope u benefited from it! :) PM me if you need the promo codes and how to do the price match as I am not allowed to share here :) Note: Tariff is going up 6.4% in Jul 19! Switch now to save more! https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/electricity-tariffs-city-gas-prices-rise-july-september Review: I have been using Geneco since January. The reasons why I chose Geneco: 1) They are very transparent in terms of price, no transmission loss charges, carbon tax absorbed, no hidden cost, no deposit required 2) They do a price match if you signed up for their 2 yrs plan. I emailed them to price match, and they responded fast- good after sales customer service 3) The bill is easy to read, simple, straightforward. My usual electricity bill is around $70. My current bill (based on entire cycle with Geneco) comes up to $44. This is 37% less than the average of $70. The bill has been quite stable as well, $40+ for the past 4 months. 4) They are one of the main providers and thus reliable. Promotions available currently: 1) $68 off bill for Get It Fixed 36 / Get It Fixed 24 / Get It Less 24 / Get Free Sundays or Get Sunny plan. 2) $30 off bill for Get It Green Plan only 3) 4000 Link points for Get It Fixed 36 plan. 4) $40 credit for recurring payment with AMEX card 5) $50 credit for recurring payment with Standard Chartered card 6) 1% rebate for recurring payment with POSB card 7) 1% rebate for recurring payment with UOB card for 12 mths. I would personally recommend the 2 years plan since they do price matching within 7 days and the tariff is increasing! Total possible rebate= $68 + $50 (Standard Chartered credit card) + $20 (referral) = $138. A really good deal!!
    15 comments
    6

    See all 15 comments

    Jonathan Ng
    Jonathan Ng

    2w ago

    Hi Germaine, I'm Jonathan from the Seedly Community Team. Posting of mobile numbers will not be allowed in product reviews. For Geneco specifically, your mobile number is the referral code. As mentioned previously, all promotional/referral codes posted in product reviews will be deleted. If this happens again, I'm afraid the team will have to ban you from our community. Thanks.
    Jonathan Ng
    Jonathan Ng

    2w ago

    Hi there! I'm Jonathan from the Seedly Community Team. Just a friendly reminder to not post any promotional/referral codes here. All promotional/referral codes posted in product reviews will be deleted. Users who repeatedly spam their promotional/referral codes will be banned from our community. Thanks!
  • Updated on 13 Jun 2019
    Recently switch to Geneco fixed rate 16.20cents with 24 months contract, the lowest rate in the town. Sign up with 15% off on first bill, $20 referral promotion and lucky draw spin up to $20 dairy farm voucher. Please PM me for referral code if interested to sign up. It is a hefty sum of money to save.
    1 comment
    6
    Rick
    Rick

    24 Nov 2018

    Hi interested in the referral code. Will that offer any additional discount for both of us?
  • POST UPDATE as of 7th March 2019. I have switched to Geneco Fixed 24months at 17.98 since last November. So far I have great experience with their customer service. Prompt call back and response rate when I leave my voice message for a return call back. Only setback for Geneco is, they only have e-billing which is separate from SP group. You may want to consider Tuas Power which is under same billing at 17.98 (incl gst) for their 2 years fixed rate. They are currently the only one who offers same billing. After going through a review on various providers below are my personal findings for the 3rd Phase of Open Electricity Offer: Between discount tariff and fixed rate, I chose fixed rate as the tariffs have been increasing since the beginning of the year and I foresee it will continue to rise. The current best 2 years fixed rate plan is at 17.52 which iSwitch charges (but they do not have very transparent contract information as well as renewal offer, Hardcopy Billing: $1.07 per Bill (Inc GST) Service fee: $5.297 per month (Inc. GST)) which is lower than the discount tariff in the market. Current tariff is at 25.52 which SP charges and the most consistent discount tariff plan is at 25% lower which will set the tariff at 19.14. For current 2 years fixed rate, the next consistent 2 years fixed rate are from Geneco / Sembcorp / Keppel at 17.78 (includes gst). Geneco does not require security deposit, absorb the transmission loss charges and they absorbed the carbon tax of 1% which took effect from 2019 (most retailers have opted in to cover these as well for this phase). Geneco is also one of the biggest power house generators in SG. SembCorp requires security deposit whereas Keppel requires installation of advanced smart metre 42.10 (incl gst) applies. On top of this, Geneco has a price match guarantee for their fixed 24 months plan if other retailers offer lower rate within 7 days of signing up. P.S: other retailers are offering different incentives but ultimately I chose one that is consistent in addressing the big chunk of our monthly household bills. Cheers!
    2 comments
    4
    Evelyn Lee
    Evelyn Lee

    11 Mar 2019

    Thanks Kenson! :)
    Kenson Tan
    Kenson Tan

    11 Mar 2019

    Appreciate your detailed writeup! Supported you with your referral :)
  • Updated on 21 Sep 2018
    Customer service hotline is hard to get through. However, they call us back the next working day if we leave a message and contact number. They were receptive in taking feedback for improvements, unlike most Customer service in Singapore that are defensive, patronising or don't take followup actions.
    0 comments
    4
  • Updated on 24 Sep 2018
    With the launch of the Open Electricity Market, there are many electricity providers to choose from. It is quite a daunting task to choose the best provider. What makes Geneco stand out from the rest is that they offer this Home Night Saver Plan which offers steep discount for off peak period from 12am to 6am that is very suitable for night owls and people who sleep with air-conditioned. Geneco also offers free AMI Smart meter installation which will allow half hourly monitoring of the electricity usage. The transition from SingPower to Geneco was very smooth and Geneco allows the recurring payment of the bills to be charged to any VISA and Mastercard card unlike the case for SingPower where they only allow the bill to be charged to a DBS/POSB issued credit card. The best part was that all the transactions were done online, I managed to complete the whole switch over without even need to step out of the house.
    0 comments
    3
Questions (6)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending

Ohm Energy

iSwitch

Geneco

Keppel Electric

SeedlyTV EP08

Yixiong Chang
Yixiong Chang
Level 5. Genius
Updated on 07 Jun 2019
Imagine they are our different telco. M1, Starhub, Singtel etc. Or our Banks (DBS, UOB, OCBC, Standchart etc) offering mortgage loan. There are offering the same thing, but just different pricing terms. In short, the plans can be summarised into 2 main type. One is fixed price (imagine fixed interest rate loan), and another is variable (imagine floating rate interest based on sibor). The variable will be usually a discount( x %) off the regulated tarrif (sibor) rate that the rest of singaporeans are paying now. For actual plan comparision, see the official site. https://compare.openelectricitymarket.sg/#/home

Geneco

Fan ZD
Fan ZD, Employee at A Bank
Level 3. Wonderkid
Updated 4d ago
Seedly has banned and will remove referral codes posted. BUT you can always go to the Genoco review page and PM one of those who posted theirs previously.

Ohm Energy

Geneco

Keppel Electric

Best Electricity

Electricity Market

Senoko Energy

Huang Shuxian
Huang Shuxian
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered 2w ago
It is easy to indentify, under the fact sheet there is a column stating ->Direct Billing . If it states yes then it will be seperate billing and if it states no then SP will bill you instead .

Electricity Market

Best Electricity

Keppel Electric

DBS Electricity

Diamond Electric

Ohm Energy

Senoko Energy

Geneco

SeedlyTV EP08

Tuas Power

Randy Chai
Randy Chai
Level 4. Prodigy
Updated 4w ago
Hi there! If you've been following our community you would probably find that we've already covered the cheapest electricity retailer and the terms & conditions you should consider when it comes to choosing the ideal retailer. If you've yet to do so, do click on the respective links and read for your own good :) A couple of considerations beyond prices and promotions would be, services, usability and how environmentally friendly theses retailers are. So which electricity retailers are actually environmentally friendly? ! Carbon Neutral Electricity Retailers iSwitch - All of iSwitch's electricity plans are 100% green. They have this iSwitch2Green Carbon Credit Offset scheme that is applicable for both businesses and residential households. These carbon credits are issued with the aim of reducing the equivalent emission of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Households can use these credits to offset their use of electricity to become carbon neutral, helping you do your part for the environment! Do note that iSwitch has six electricity plans to choose from, 3 Fixed Price Plans and 3 Discount-Off-Tariff (DOT) Plan. Source: https://iswitch.com.sg/green-electricity-iswitch-online-price-plans/ Geneco - Geneco has a plan (Get It Green Plan) that produces zero carbon footprint for a one-year period. However, do note that all users can purchase carbon credits with Geneco at an additional cost of S$0.005 per kWh, which will be reflected on your monthly bill. Which represents that If your household consumes 500 kWh per month, and you have signed up with us for a 24-month fixed rate plan at S$0.1620 per kWh, your electricity bill would be S$81 per month. If you choose to purchase the carbon credits to offset your electricity consumption at a cost of S$0.005 per kWh, you would only be paying an additional S$2.50 per month. Which is not too steep of a price to pay to reduce your carbon footprint! Do note that Geneco has a total of seven electricity plans to choose from, 4 Fixed Price Plans, 1 Discount-Off-Tariff (DOT) Plan and 2 Non-Standard Fixed Price Plan. Source: https://www.geneco.sg/reduce-carbon-footprint/ Sembcorp Power - All Semcorp Power's regular plans provide carbon offset 50 kWh of electricity per month. P.S. For every successful contract sign-up with Sembcorp Power, they claim to pledge $5 to selected charities to offset their electricity bills. Wow! Solar Energy Plans/Retailers Geneco - 100% clean solar energy plan (Get Sunny) for 18 months. However, do note that your contract will be renewed under a standard 24 months Fixed Plan. View fact sheet here Sembcorp - Unique non-standard solar energy price plan (Sunshine Plan) that provides you with green energy from 7am to 7pm only and regular energy after this period. Do note that the prices vary as well. You will pay 21.40c/kWh from 7am to 7pm and 18.65c/kWh after. View fact sheet here Sunseap has three Fixed-Price Plans and three Discount off Tariff Plans that you can choose from which runs on 1%, 50% and 100% solar energy respectively View source: https://www.sunseap.com/residential/electricity-plans/ P.S. You can also check out and compare reviews of all 12 electricity retailers here: https://seedly.sg/reviews/electricity-market I hope this will help!
Answer image preview

Geneco

Electricity Market

Gabriel Lee
Gabriel Lee
Level 6. Master
Answered 3w ago
Yes, you are allowed to set up a recurring bill payment via GIRO or credit/debit card. Just log in to your account via the Geneco portal and select Recurring Payment on the left! !
About Geneco
OperationsGeneco is a leading electric provider powered by Seraya Energy.
Types of plans availableGet It Fixed 24/36 (2 or 3 year): 17.78 cents per kWh Give Us A Try: 17.63 cents per kWh Get It Less 24 (2 year): 22% off regulated tariff Get Free Sunday: 22.50 cents per kWh (Mon - Sat, but Free on Sun) Get It Green: 20.33 cents per kWh
Contract lengthVaries

About Geneco

Geneco is a leading electric provider powered by Seraya Energy. Priding itself upon 48 years of experience, 18 years of award-winning customer service in electricity retailing since 2001 and 19 plus years of energy expertise, the UK based company is determined to help Singaporeans find the best ways of buying electricity.

Geneco largely believes in providing sustainable energy to your homes. And thus also sustainable initiatives.

Geneco's Price Match Guarantee

Geneco also offers price match guarantee, if one were to see a lower price than Geneco’s within 7 working days of sign up, Geneco will refund you the difference for that contract period. Terms and conditions apply.

FAQs

How to switch?

Choose a plan on Geneco's website, enter your details and wait for a Geneco representative to get in touch with you. Don't worry! Switching of retailers will not cause disruptions to your electricity supply.

Do I have to switch from an analogue to a AMI meter for the Get Free Sundays plan?

It is not compulsory. If an AMI meter is installed, one will be able to measure their actual consumption on a half-hourly basis, allowing actual Sundays off. If you use an analogue meter, you will be given Sunday’s off based on the daily load profile that the Energy Market Authority has developed.

How long does it take for me to switch over?

After sign up and submission of verification, Geneco will begin the verification process. The transfer process will take approximately 2 to 4 weeks upon submission of NRIC/FIN.

Are there fees for early contract termination?

Yes, there will be an early termination fee charged based on your dwelling type. Please refer to your contract for the exact amount.

Save More With Geneco Promo Codes

Want to save more on your electricity bill? Be sure to check out these Geneco Promo Codes.

Contact Geneco

Email: [email protected]

Phone: 63190422

Operation Hours: Mon to Fri, 9am - 5.30pm

Fax: 63636600