facebookamaze by Instarem Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Multi Currency Cards/amaze by Instarem
Multi Currency Cards/amaze by Instarem
3.5
26 reviews
claimed

Claimed

This product is managed by Instarem.

Summary

Product Page Transparency

  • Claimed in September 2021
  • Pays to access additional features

amaze by Instarem Review

The amaze card is a multi-currency card by the popular digital remittance service Instarem. On top of what the remittance service already offers, the amaze card also allows linking up to 5 cards conveniently. It allows users to earn InstaPoints on FX spends and redeem them as cashback or discounts on overseas money transfers. It has both a virtual and physical card.

...see more

amaze by Instarem

Mastercard

TYPE

Free

CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES

N/A

MONTHLY FEES

N/A

OVERSEAS ATM WITHDRAWAL FEES

150+

SUPPORTED FIAT CURRENCIES

amaze by Instarem

Mastercard

TYPE

Free

CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES

N/A

MONTHLY FEES

N/A

OVERSEAS ATM WITHDRAWAL FEES

150+

SUPPORTED FIAT CURRENCIES

Reviews (26)

3.5

26 Reviews

5
13
4
1
3
4
2
3
1
5

Service Rating

Application Process

4.2

User Experience

3.6

Customer Support

3.4
      Posted 05 May 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      Similar to the previous review, I like certain features like the ability to link multiple cards to Amaze and not having to prefund like Youtrip. Yet I have some gripes about it: - I SOMETIMES see markups on foreign currency transactions; not sure why it happens, but it is frustrating when the markup is on top of the markup that Mastercard itself has done to their exchange rate - Support is slow and frankly not very useful - Cashback is a bonus so I won't complain about the 0.5% or the 3 month timeframe, but it is incredibly difficult to spend the cashback in exact figures which means some amount will have to sit inside the Amaze card, unable to spend until new cashback is in. It would be better if there was an option to select an alternative card to cover the remaining amount if the cashback amount is insufficient to cover the entire purchase.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 24 Apr 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      Here is my love-hate relationship with Instarem. Do you feel the same? [Features] I think the features of the Amaze card are brilliant! The card links with my Citi Rewards Mastercard to give me 4 MPD on all spend—up to S$1,000 every month. It’s just awesome! Plus, the Mastercard interchange rate on foreign currency spend—effectively no conversion fee! Plus again!!! 1% cash back on foreign currency spend!!! Plus one more thing!!! 0.2% credit card fee when transferring money cross-border!!! I have never enjoyed a card so much. However, there's so much Instarem needs to fix. They're adding a travel insurance plan (Revolut-esque) for some monthly fee. This is a mistake. The company actually needs to stop and focus on the core customer experience—because right now, it sucks. Work on the stuff below. 
 The Amaze card is remarkable. The customer experience must be too! [UI] [Customer Support] [Tips] Here’s what sucks. See if you agree. - No Apple Pay support! - The app is slow, clunky and ugly. Think of how extraordinary the Revolut app is. Instarem could learn a lot. The app really should be overhauled. - Live Chat literally locks up your phone—and you can’t leave the app because there are no push notifications. - You get an email for every. single. transaction. And you can’t turn it off. It’s just dumb! Push notifications exist—use those! - Once you start transferring you realise you earn 1-4 InstaPoints per transfer (well I do)—which is InstaPointless. The entire system could be dumped. - International transfers to Australia aren’t fast. Wise is instant. I often find myself paying more and using Wise. - You can’t give yourself a nickname in the app. Minor, I know. But I hate seeing my long name plastered around the app. It’s even in forced caps on the Profile tab for some reason. - If you’re overseas and your Amaze card is stolen, you cannot get a replacement! Yes, you read that right. Instarem refuses to ship a replacement card outside of Singapore. Yikes! - You can’t see or generate a statement for your Amaze transactions. You cannot view your monthly spend. - You cannot view your 1% (or 0.5%) cash back in real-time. I mean, let’s be modern, here Instarem! There’s no need to wait for a total every three months. You see, it really is a love-hate relationship. I'm so passionate about the brand. I want them to excel. I want them to lead the way alongside Revolut and Wise. Instarem, go back to basics and build a brilliant customer experience.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 22 Apr 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      Very good! I got my cashback and it is so easy to swap the cards using the app!! Customer support is helpful when I had an issue logging in!

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Richy

      Richy

      24 Apr 2022

      Level 5·Marketing at Agency

      I love the cash back too! 🤑

      Posted 29 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      [Customer Support] I am one of the initial applicants when the product was still in the works. Took around 1.5 years since application to receiving the card. There was a lack of proactive updates from the company during that time regarding the progress to rolling out the product - I had to initiate contact myself which was a bit frustrating. Fortunately customer service was quite responsive, however replies were pretty vague that time with template answers. [Features] Best for use for foreign currency payments above $5,000 which is my pain point for other prepaid foreign currency cards e.g. Revolut, YouTrip, Transferwise due to Singapore MAS regulations. Paypal has exorbitant currency exchange rates. Downside so far is only accepts MasterCards for pairing (Visa and AMEX not accepted) which is quite restricting since most of my cards are Visa. 1% cashback for most purchases on top of credit card base benefits [UI] Quite easy to use, dark mode. allows fingerprint authentication and login

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Richy

      Richy

      24 Apr 2022

      Level 5·Marketing at Agency

      Wow. Nice to meet an early-adopter! 😃

      I agree re: customer support being vague and templatey. It's still the same today!

      A bit off-putting isn't it?

      Posted 29 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      As the name implies, this card is Amazing! You can get a digital version on your phone instantly and start using it right away. You can use it Singapore and Overseas. Since it's linked to your credit card, you never need to top it up like other travel cards. A couple of things to note though is that 1% cashback is credited quarterly and capped at $100 per quarter

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 28 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      Definitely helps save big on foreign spend, hands down. The app always takes a long time to login though, which is not great if I need to change linked cards on the spot. I'm also very curious to know the breakdown for the cashback which I just received a few days back. I definitely, without a doubt, spent much more than just $1000+ in the quarter.

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Richy

      Richy

      24 Apr 2022

      Level 5·Marketing at Agency

      Great point—I too would appreciate a breakdown of the cashback. Details matter!

      Posted 28 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      Super easy to use. Great benefits like the 1% cashback, and you can send money easily to other countries. Recommended!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 28 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      [Features] Decent exchange rate compare to credit card as no foreign transaction fee. BUT beware when use it to pay for merchants charge in foreign currency. So far had tried more than 10 transactions in 3 oversea merchants and ALL being double charged! Amaze NEVER inform you that you had been double charged and the transaction happen in different date. Example: you make $1000 oversea purchase on 1/1, amaze immediately charge you $1000 on 1/1, it will “silently” charge you again on 1/5, not even inform you. Imagine you are frequent user, and need to keep track which transaction and when you had been double charge, whether it had been refunded or not… pure nightmare! It’s even worse if the amount is huge because your credit card bill will just double.. although so far looks like it will be refunded eventually (Amaze mentioned it takes up to 14 working days!), but you still need to use your own money to pay your credit card bill first! Then left a huge amount of extra credit in the next month credit card bill… nightmare to manage the credit points because you just UNABLE to plan your spending, randomly new duplicate charge, randomly refund timing… I had complaint but amaze response is NO ACTION to be taken, this is HOW IT WORKS. I NEVER experience similar incident when charged it directly to my credit card. ONLY in this AMAZE… at the end, it’s not Amaze anymore… What’s the point when the ONLY good feature is their decent exchange rate (no foreign transaction fee) YET the are UNABLE to solve the double charge issue.. Heard Razor Pay had similar bad customer experience, and now it’s gone… not sure how far this Amaze could go if they continue this double charge policy. [Customer Support] No phone number to call customer service, have to email / chat.. we are dealing with transaction, $ in $ out… every second is important… yet no phone call feature…

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Richy

      Richy

      24 Apr 2022

      Level 5·Marketing at Agency

      What a horrible experience! I can't imagine how distressing that would've been.

      Great point about the lack of a phone number. Every second counts and Live Chat is not yet up to the challenge!

      Posted 28 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      Been using the card in my recent oversea trip and had no issue at all. Exchange rate is good if compare to credit card. Also got quarterly reward credit. Would be even better if it can link to Visa card so I can accumulate flight point

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 28 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      amaze by Instarem

      Good to earn extra cashback on top of bank offers. Paired with wmmc to get 4mpd and extra 1% cashback

      1

      What are your thoughts?

      Richy

      Richy

      24 Apr 2022

      Level 5·Marketing at Agency

      Yes! I too love the 4 MPD. It's like my favourite Amaze feature. 😊

    Discussions (0)

      No Posts Found.

      Benefits and Features of amaze by Instarem

      • No top-ups required
      • 1% cashback for transactions processed in any foreign currency (i.e. non-SGD) and 0.5% cashback for SGD transactions made on your amaze card on top of other card rewards
      • Link up to five Mastercard credit or debit cards
      • Competitive FX rates
      • No annual fee or admin fee involved in using the amaze card
      • Physical and virtual cards are available
      • For a more in-depth review, read our full blog review on the amaze by Instarem Card

      How to apply for amaze Card

      You can apply for an amaze card via the Instarem app. You'll need to have a registered and approved Instarem account to get the amaze card.

      How to activate the physical amaze Card?

      Once you have received your physical card via mail, you can activate it through the amaze app.

      1. Access the amaze page either via the card symbol on the bottom right or via the dashboard.
      2. Tap on Activate Card.
      3. Set your Card Pin.
      4. Note that you can begin online transactions even before your physical card arrives.

      Contact Instarem

      • Contact number: +65 6950 1132
      • Address: NIUM, #20-05, Hong Leong Building, ​16, Raffles Quay​, Singapore 048581​

      Contact us at [email protected] should you require any assistance or spot any inaccuracies.