DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card
4.1
22 reviews
Read more reviews of credit cards
Reviews (22)
4.1
Reviews (22)
4.1
  • 5
    9
  • 4
    10
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    1
  • 1
    1

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
  • A useful general spend card and one of my go-to card when booking air tickets and hotels to earn extra miles.
    0 comments
    0
  • Just got it recently also for the promotional sign up bonus :) Up to 38,000 miles for a signup. But honestly, the realistic miles for sign up is between 27k miles. How to get the 38,000 miles: - 10,000 miles: Sign up (only new to bank credit card customers) - 10,000 miles: Pay annual fee of $192 - 18,000 miles: This one is based on $6,000 spending on 3mpd (mile per dollar) > But this is only for online travel/hotel spending So realistically it is: 10k + 10k + 7.2k miles (based on $6k spend at 1.2mpd. If you already have a DBS Credit card, you can only get 5,000 miles for sign up. Still not bad for a sign up deal.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 24 Jul 2019
    DBS Altitude Visa Cardholders, Watch out !! S$1=4miles on DBS Market place has monthly cap of $5000. The DBS site does not mention it while it mentions monthly cap for S$1=3 miles on online flight & hotel transactions. IT does not mention it in the Terms and conditions in the section. I found out through the DBS help center. Very misleading on the website........ I asked them to correct it by adding the monthly cap in the section a few weeks ago, but it has not been done. Be aware.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 01 Jul 2019
    Miles that don't expire, up to 6 miles per dollar on Expedia, definitely a must have card for any rookie miles chaser. The complimentary lounge excess is an icing on the cake. You can choose to waive annual fees or pay it for 10,000 miles. Definitely not a bad deal especially if you are looking to redeem for business class and above. Miles are awarded in dbs points and you can use them to offset your transactions or redeem for other rewards if you have orphan miles.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 13 Jun 2019
    In the realm of miles card for credit cards, DBS altitude visa is not a very good option. For general spending, the UOB privi miles and Citibank cards are of a better option. and for overseas expenditure, again the UOB Privi Miles and citibank cards for (Airmiles) triumph over it. Even within DBS, DBS Women's card offer a better airmiles for spending ratio for travel expenditure such as online booking of Air flights and Hotel. Only positive of this card is that miles do not expire
    2 comments
    0
    Singchang Toh
    Singchang Toh

    21 May 2018

    Citibank cards? Which?
    Kenneth Lou
    Kenneth Lou

    01 Jun 2018

    Hey Singchang! I think he is referring to these cards: https://seedly.sg/reviews/credit-cards/citi-rewards
  • Updated on 14 May 2019
    Given the low entry level for this card, I would give it 5 stars. Use it for all airplane tickets and hotel bookings online to maximise the miles earn. DBS points earned also do not expire so slowly but surely (for frugal spenders) u would be able to earn and redeem that dream destination using just miles! And some tax payments, and some 25 dollars DBS charges for points conversion to krisflyer miles..
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 15 Oct 2018
    I find this an easy, fuss-free credit card to use. I also have a Multiplier account, so its natural I'd choose to use a DBS card instead of applying for a different bank card. It helps that I spend enough on it annually to qualify for a fee waiver and that reward points don't expire. This allows me to accumulate my points to redeem the miles over a longer period of time than a year. I have never used the complimentary global airport lounge access though.
    0 comments
    0
  • Very similar in benefits to citi's premiermiles card, right down to the miles conversion rate and annual priority pass. Gives 5000 points (equivalent to 10000 miles) if annual fee is paid and it doesn't expire. Great feature to accumulate miles for cheap alongside premiermiles
    0 comments
    0
Questions (22)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Credit Card

Lifestyle

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Aug)

Level 5. Genius
Answered 4w ago
The bank staff is correct. It depends on the payment gateway, which is hard to know, really. If a foreign company use a local bank to process our payments, it is a local spend, even though you seem to be paying in foreign currency. If they use a foreign bank to process the payment, then it is considered overseas spend. And as far as I know, they are not obliged to tell you. For me, I subscribe to the New York Times and it is confirmed that the payment is processed by a foreign bank as I received the points for overseas spent. My suggestion is to go ahead and try it out. DBS can only know if the payment gateway is overseas or local when your card is charged as they can trace the charge. Hope this helps!

Credit Card

DBS Multiplier

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

POSB Everyday Card

DBS Live Fresh Card

Fresh Graduates

Yong Kah Hwee
Yong Kah Hwee
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Feb)

Level 6. Master
Answered 4w ago
Most cashback cards require you have had minimum spending before you can get the cashback. As for the DBS Altitude, if you don't think you can hit that amount, then don't force yourself to. There's no need to take advantage of the promotion; the card benefits are good enough (in my opinion at least).

Credit Card

Savings

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

DBS

Expenses Tracking

Justin Kieran Ong
Justin Kieran Ong

()

Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 14 Aug 2019
As a fellow DBS CC user I feel your pain. What I'm currently doing is manually entering into the seedly app as I find it the most convenient (no need to remember and key in at home, can track immediately). I have reduced the SMS alert for my card to anything over a $1 transaction. This way I have a record of most of my CC spend on my SMS to double check. Lastly, I check the ibanking record every week as there are certain transactions that are not SMS to me (like recurring transaction for phone bills)

Bank Account

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

DBS

DBS Multiplier

OCBC 360

OCBC

Credit Card

Savings

Family

Expenses

XY
Xue Yi Hang

()

Level 2. Rookie
Answered on 13 Aug 2019
It won't affect your credit score. Personally I keep multiple bank accounts as it 1. Makes it easy to segregate my money so I only touch what is in my spending account 2. DBS ATMs often have long queues so I just draw money at OCBC ATMs which usually have nobody and then ibank money between my own accounts lol

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

DBS Multiplier

Credit Card

DBS

Justin Kieran Ong
Justin Kieran Ong

()

Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 13 Aug 2019
Any credit cards under your name can be seen on the ibanking portal home page as it's own "account". From there, you can see all the transactions much like a normal bank account (though it usually takes a few days for you to see the actual transaction) When the payment is due, you can choose to pay using funds from your multiplier account. Eligible transactions from any DBS / POSB credit card under your name will add towards your monthly transaction under the bank and earn tab. I hope this helps

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Starhub

Singtel

Miles

Credit Card

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Aug)

Level 5. Genius
Answered on 10 Aug 2019
For your question on DBS Altitude Card, yes. I am going to refer you to this article for other card recommendations, although I would suggest BOC Elite Miles for now. https://milelion.com/credit-cards/guide/ Hope it helps!

Miles

Credit Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Aug)

Level 5. Genius
Updated on 10 Aug 2019
Answer is yes. I am going to break up your questions into a few parts. For a merchant that offers miles via krispay, at a rate of 2mpd, you earn 3.2 mpd if you pay via cards that earns 1.2mpd, or 3.5mpd, if you pay via BOC Elite Miles. Basically, it is 2mpd + the base rate for whichever card you are using. The only difference is that 2mpd goes to your Krispay app, which you should transfer over to your Krisflyer account within 7 days from the transaction. Miles, once transferred over to Krisflyer, has a 3 years validity. The 1.2, or 1.5, or whatever the base rate is, goes to your credit card points/miles, which is then subjected to whatever expiry date the bank sets. Confusing? Let me use an example. The merchant, We Need a Hero, offers 2mpd when you use Krispay app to earn miles. Let say you spend $50 with them. So you pay via DBS Altitude Card and earn 60 miles (1.2X$50). These miles are kept in your DBS credit card account, which never expires. You then open up the Krispay app, enter the amount you paid, generate a QR code for the merchant to scan. After scanning, you earn 100 (2X$50) Krispay miles. Within 7 days, transfer these 100 Krispay miles at a 1:1 ratio to your Krisflyer account. The 100 miles that are transferred over will then be valid for 3 years. So in total, you earn 160 miles, of which 60 is in your DBS account, which nevers expire, and 100 is in your Krisflyer account, which expires in 3 years. And the mpd is 3.2 (160/50) Article for reference: https://milelion.com/2019/03/06/finally-krispay-allows-you-to-earn-krisflyer-miles-at-selected-merchants/ Hope this helps.

Fresh Graduates

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

DBS Multiplier

Credit Card

You can setup an automatic giro payment for credit card bills. For example, this is the steps for DBS/POSB https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/support/card-payment-giro-application.html For manual payment you can pay by ibanking which is the most convenient and fastest. The other way is by cheque payment, where you send it together with the paper statement you receive.

Credit Card

Fresh Graduates

AMEX Singapore KrisFlyer Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Miles

Travel

Hi anon! I’m sure many fresh grads are planning which credit cards they should get and you’ve arrived at the right place! :) Here at Seedly, we’re all about making smarter financial decisions together and that’s what this summary of the top 5 most common miles credit card will do. ! TL;DR: The miles credit card that’s best for: - Grab expenditure: AMEX KrisFlyer - Travelling & overseas miles rate: DBS Altitude - Local miles rate: UOB KrisFlyer - Miles rate with partners: UOB PRIVI - Additional mile rewards: Citi PremierMiles Here’s a summarised table on the 5 miles credit cards (open in a new tab/zoom in to read the details!): ! Now let’s break down your expenditure: - Transport: If most of your transportation expenditure is on Grab then the AMEX KrisFlyer Card would be ideal for you given the 3.3 miles rate. However, if you are likely to spend beyond S$200 each month on Grab then the cap imposed by AMEX KrisFlyer might not make it the best. The UOB KrisFlyer would be better in this case! If most of your transport expenditure is on public transport rides, then the UOB KrisFlyer Card would be ideal for you. The DBS Altitude’s 4 miles rate seems really attractive but bear in mind that it only lasts through the promotional period. Beyond that, these 2 cards would provide better rates. - Dining & online shopping: The UOB KrisFlyer provides the best rates for your meals outside and online shopping. In a nutshell, the UOB KrisFlyer Card seems to be the best based on your monthly expenditure. The AMEX KrisFlyer Card would come to a close second place if majority of your transportation expenditure is on Grab. Of course, if the additional mile rewards is important to you then the Citi PremierMiles Card would come to a close second place too. But based on the fact that the majority of your expenditure is on local spend, the UOB KrisFlyer Card should be your choice. However, do note that the UOB KrisFlyer's 3 miles (local rate) is comprised of 1.2 mpd base rate + bonus 1.8 mpd. This bonus will only be credited 2 months after the card membership year which is quite a bit of a wait. So do take note about this point if you're considering the card despite its pretty good miles rate! At the end of the day, please do your due diligence in researching about the cards and its features before getting one, especially if this is your first card as a fresh grad! Ensure the T&Cs are reasonable to you and matches your spending behaviour. I hope this was helpful for you! :-)
Answer image preview

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Credit Card

Jovin Shen
Jovin Shen

()

Level 3. Wonderkid
Updated on 04 Aug 2019
DBS Altitude 3mpd for online flight/hotel is capped at $5k per calendar month.
Load more questions
About DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card
Card NameDBS Altitude Visa Signature Card
Local Miles RateS$1 = 1.2 Miles
Special Miles RateOverseas: S$1 = 2 Miles Selected Online: S$1 = 3 Miles
HighlightsDaily spending

Fees and Charges for DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $192.60
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: $96.30
  • Fee waiver: 1 year
  • Interest-Free Period: 20 days  
  • Annual Interest Rate: 25.90%
  • Minimum monthly payment: 3% or $50, whichever is higher
  • Late payment charge: $100
  • Cash advance fee: 6% or $15, whichever is higher
  • Overlimit fee $40
  • Foreign currency transaction fee: 2.8%

Eligibility for DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • Ages 21 and above
  • Singaporeans and PR; Minimum annual income of $30,000
  • Foreigners; Minimum annual income of $45,000

Key features of DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • $1 = 3 miles on online flight & hotel transactions (capped at $5,000 per month)
  • $1 = 2 miles on overseas spend in foreign currency
  • $1 = 1.2 miles on local spend
  • Miles never expire (awarded in the form of DBS points, frequent flyer programs such as KrisFlyer and AsiaMiles)
  • 1 DBS point = 2 miles
  • Complimentary Global Airport Lounge Access
  • Visa Digital Concierge; An app that allows card users to access a whole range of privileges

Terms and conditions of DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • Annual fee waiver will be automatically implemented if user’s past 12 months spend is $25,000 or more. However, the card user will not be eligible for the 10,000 bonus miles.
  • 5,000 DBS points (10,000 miles) will be credited to the Principal Card account 3 months after the annual fee is charged.
  • The annual DBS Frequent Flyer Programme (FFP) fee of $42.80 (including GST) is applicable and non-waivable. Enrolment in FFP is needed to convert your DBS Points to air miles.
  • Principle and Supplementary card spendings will be consolidated for the calculation of Qualifying Spending.

For more information, you can visit DBS Altitude Card’s page here.