DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card
4.2
19 reviews
Read more reviews of credit cards
Reviews (19)
4.2
Reviews (19)
4.2
  • 5
    8
  • 4
    9
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    1

Most Helpful

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
  • Updated on 27 May 2018
    I replaced DBS Live Fresh Card with this as I wanted a reward card and this gives a pretty decent miles for possible categories that i will spend in. While I do agree that its counterpart- DBS Women's World Card is better in gaining miles, I am not an avid online shopper and I can never match the income eligibility - it requires S$80,000 and above per annum (OAO). The next option will be DBS Women's Card but it gives less miles for booking of airline and hotel tickets. 2miles per $1 compared to DBS Altitude's 3miles per $1. Other benefits: - Fuss free application (I got it around a week after I applied since I was current customer; I applied via Ibanking). - 10k complimentary miles for paying annual fee. Alternatively, you could spend just $25k per annum for a fee waiver. - Complimentary global airport lounge access - Rewards do not expire (very important!!!). Great for people who are not big spenders and plan to accumulate their rewards. When DBS Live Fresh Card was still a reward card and I was using them, I had to keep redeeming the points within three months as they will expire - No minimum spend - Good combination with DBS Multiplier Note: the travel insurance is definitely not worth mentioning as one of its benefits. - it requires you to charge the entire travel related expenses to this card and it only covers accidental death or permanent disability while travelling on the air, sea or land transport. So you will still have to buy your own travel insurance.
    0 comments
    1
  • Updated on 18 May 2018
    A must have card for those playing the miles game. For those who have an account with POSB/DBS, getting the card is a breeze with iBanking. Pros: Suitable for those starting out in the game and income not exceeding 50K per annum. Paying annual fee allows you to earn 10K miles 3mpd when paying for air fares and hotel booking Miles never expires! Which gives you flexibility and the ability to accumulate a lot of miles while not worrying too much about expiry dates. Cons: 1.2mpd for general spend. Not the best way to accumulate miles
    0 comments
    1
  • Miles that don't expire, up to 6 miles per dollar on Expedia, definitely a must have card for any rookie miles chaser. The complimentary lounge excess is an icing on the cake. You can choose to waive annual fees or pay it for 10,000 miles. Definitely not a bad deal especially if you are looking to redeem for business class and above. Miles are awarded in dbs points and you can use them to offset your transactions or redeem for other rewards if you have orphan miles.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 13 Jun 2019
    In the realm of miles card for credit cards, DBS altitude visa is not a very good option. For general spending, the UOB privi miles and Citibank cards are of a better option. and for overseas expenditure, again the UOB Privi Miles and citibank cards for (Airmiles) triumph over it. Even within DBS, DBS Women's card offer a better airmiles for spending ratio for travel expenditure such as online booking of Air flights and Hotel. Only positive of this card is that miles do not expire
    2 comments
    0
    Singchang Toh
    Singchang Toh

    21 May 2018

    Citibank cards? Which?
    Kenneth Lou
    Kenneth Lou

    01 Jun 2018

    Hey Singchang! I think he is referring to these cards: https://seedly.sg/reviews/credit-cards/citi-rewards
  • Updated on 14 May 2019
    Given the low entry level for this card, I would give it 5 stars. Use it for all airplane tickets and hotel bookings online to maximise the miles earn. DBS points earned also do not expire so slowly but surely (for frugal spenders) u would be able to earn and redeem that dream destination using just miles! And some tax payments, and some 25 dollars DBS charges for points conversion to krisflyer miles..
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 15 Oct 2018
    I find this an easy, fuss-free credit card to use. I also have a Multiplier account, so its natural I'd choose to use a DBS card instead of applying for a different bank card. It helps that I spend enough on it annually to qualify for a fee waiver and that reward points don't expire. This allows me to accumulate my points to redeem the miles over a longer period of time than a year. I have never used the complimentary global airport lounge access though.
    0 comments
    0
  • Very similar in benefits to citi's premiermiles card, right down to the miles conversion rate and annual priority pass. Gives 5000 points (equivalent to 10000 miles) if annual fee is paid and it doesn't expire. Great feature to accumulate miles for cheap alongside premiermiles
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 17 Sep 2018
    This card has to be one of the best card for a fresh grad who finds it hard to hit the minimum spending on other credit cards. Being a frugal person, I aim to spending only an X amount each month, which is lower than the minimum spending of most credit cards. The card needs no minimum spending, gives you free airport lounge access twice a year, and gives you miles for spending. Definitely one of the best cards for me!
    0 comments
    0
Questions (9)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending

Credit Card

DBS

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Miles

Elijah Lee
Elijah Lee
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Jun)

Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 16 Jun 2019
Certain DBS cards earn DBS points which do not expire. So if your card earns DBS points that do not expire, you can accumulate them till you have enough to get the award flight you want. If your card has an expiry date for DBS points, then they will expire one year from the quarterly period in which they were earned. Conversion wise both are the same. If your DBS points are about to expire, transferring them to Krisflyer or other frequent flyer programs will extend their lifespan by 3 years. You may consider saving up the points earned on Altitude for a big redemption. Altitude earns 3MPD on online flight and hotel transactions, so targeted spending on bonus categories like these can really bump up your point balance.

Credit Card

CITI PremierMiles Visa Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Elijah Lee
Elijah Lee
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Jun)

Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 16 Jun 2019
No cap that I know of. For DBS points, they must be transferred in blocks of 5000 points (10000 miles) and a $26.75 fee applies. 1-2 weeks for the transfer. For Citi PM, blocks of 10000 miles and a fee of $25.

Credit Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Miles

Elijah Lee
Elijah Lee
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Jun)

Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 15 Jun 2019
1. The Altitude Visa, other than lounge access via priority pass, also allows you to earn miles via SimplyGo! when you take public transport. You also get access to various other Visa exclusive privileges. 2. You will be awarded 3 DBS points for every $5 spent, rounded down to the nearest number. The points will be converted to miles when you transfer them to a partner airline. 3. Once the miles are credited to the frequent flyer program, the clock starts ticking. If they are still in the form of DBS points, they do not expire. Think of the 2.2% fee as buying miles for 2.2 cents per mile. Your valuation of a mile will determine for you if that is worth. Personally, my upper threshold is 2 cents, so I would not pay the 2.2%.

Credit Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

CITI PremierMiles Visa Card

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Level 5. Genius
Answered on 21 Apr 2019
Personal opinion, keep both. Both allows you to "buy" miles when you pay the annual fee and the miles don't expire, so you can slowly accmulate towards your dream redemption. Besides, if you only have these 2 cards, DBS Altitude Card allows you to earn 3mpd when you buy air tickets and book hotels online, so that helps to boost your miles earning rate.

SCB Unlimited Cashback Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

HSBC Revolution Card

DBS Live Fresh Card

Credit Card

Shopping

Dominic Chang
Dominic Chang
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 07 Jun 2018
Depends. You can look into BOC Family card. 10% on Dining, 5% on online shopping. However minimum spend is $700 so you will be putting everything onto your card expense.

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Credit Card

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Level 5. Genius
Answered on 21 Apr 2019
Short answer, yes. The card recognise it as a transaction that will gives you 1.2 miles per dollar. If you use Grab Pay a lot, consider getting the AMEX Krisflyer card (blue one). That one earns you 3.1 mpd.

SeedlyTV EP02

Credit Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Aaron Wong
Aaron Wong, Founder at The Milelion
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 10 Apr 2019
You can...but the rates aren't great and there's a ton of fuel surcharges. That said it's probably your best bet for redeeming miles for EK F in Singapore (since we can't earn JAL miles) https://milelion.com/2019/04/03/dbs-adds-qantas-frequent-flyer-as-a-points-transfer-partner/

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Credit Card

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Level 5. Genius
Answered on 30 May 2018
Quite a few questions here. Let me break it down. 1) Yes, you can cancel the card after 1 year and re-apply. But you won't get any sign up bonus from your 2nd application onwards and your future application might be rejected. Banks have records and they are free to approve or reject your subsequent applications. 2) Credit score is affected by a lot of factors but in short, it won't affect much as long as you have no outstanding payments. 3) $193 for 10k miles means different thing for different people. To me, I would gladly pay the annual fee. It is not everyday you get to purchase 10k miles at 2 cents per mile, which if you redeem the miles for premium cabin travel, presents a very good value. I am not sure if you are a miles chaser but this 10k miles for $193 every year should form part of your miles strategy. 10k miles don't sounds a lot but in the grand scheme of things, 10k miles is something good to have.

Travel

DBS

HSBC Revolution Card

CITI Rewards Card

DBS Multiplier

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Credit Card

Bang Hong
Bang Hong
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 20 Jul 2018
If your spending on CC is huge, converting to miles is typically what people do if they have intention of getting a biz flight or first class. You can refer to other articles write up on the calculation. For economy class the ratio is not that worthwhile comparing to biz/1st class. In summary, yes, converting CC points to miles is good only: 1) High spending on CC ($xxxx per month) 2) Redeeming Biz or First class. my 2 cents.
About DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card
Card NameDBS Altitude Visa Signature Card
Local Miles RateS$1 = 1.2 Miles
Special Miles RateOverseas: S$1 = 2 Miles Selected Online: S$1 = 3 Miles
HighlightsDaily spending

Fees and Charges for DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $192.60
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: $96.30
  • Fee waiver: 1 year
  • Interest-Free Period: 20 days  
  • Annual Interest Rate: 25.90%
  • Minimum monthly payment: 3% or $50, whichever is higher
  • Late payment charge: $100
  • Cash advance fee: 6% or $15, whichever is higher
  • Overlimit fee $40
  • Foreign currency transaction fee: 2.8%

Eligibility for DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • Ages 21 and above
  • Singaporeans and PR; Minimum annual income of $30,000
  • Foreigners; Minimum annual income of $45,000

Key features of DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • $1 = 3 miles on online flight & hotel transactions (capped at $5,000 per month)
  • $1 = 2 miles on overseas spend in foreign currency
  • $1 = 1.2 miles on local spend
  • Miles never expire (awarded in the form of DBS points, frequent flyer programs such as KrisFlyer and AsiaMiles)
  • 1 DBS point = 2 miles
  • Complimentary Global Airport Lounge Access
  • Visa Digital Concierge; An app that allows card users to access a whole range of privileges

Terms and conditions of DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

  • Annual fee waiver will be automatically implemented if user’s past 12 months spend is $25,000 or more. However, the card user will not be eligible for the 10,000 bonus miles.
  • 5,000 DBS points (10,000 miles) will be credited to the Principal Card account 3 months after the annual fee is charged.
  • The annual DBS Frequent Flyer Programme (FFP) fee of $42.80 (including GST) is applicable and non-waivable. Enrolment in FFP is needed to convert your DBS Points to air miles.
  • Principle and Supplementary card spendings will be consolidated for the calculation of Qualifying Spending.

For more information, you can visit DBS Altitude Card’s page here.