Syfe Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
 

Syfe

  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Questions (17)
  • More Details
Syfe
4.6
53 reviews

USER RATINGS

User Experience

4.6

Ease of Sign up

4.8

Customer Support

4.7
Syfe
4.6
53 reviews

USER RATINGS

Read reviews

User Experience

4.6

Ease of Sign up

4.8

Customer Support

4.7

Syfe

0.4% to 0.65% p.a.
PRICING
None
MINIMUM INVESTMENT
Web only
PLATFORMS

    Syfe

    0.4% to 0.65% p.a.
    PRICING
    None
    MINIMUM INVESTMENT
    Web only
    PLATFORMS

Details

Operations

Capital Markets Services Licence (CMS100837)

Methodology

Globally diversified ETF portfolios (from BlackRock, Vanguard and State Street) built based on investors’ risk profiles and continually risk-managed to keep portfolio risk in line with an investor’s chosen Downside Risk level.

Read More about Syfe
Reviews (53)

4.6

53 Reviews

  • 5
    36
  • 4
    15
  • 3
    2
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

user experience

mobile app

customer support

rate return

management fee

user interface

returns rate

customer service

fee lowest

onboarding experience

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated 1d ago

    Purchased

    Syfe

    Experience with Syfe: Was comparing between Endowus, Stashaway and Syfe but ended up going with Syfe in the end. I highly encourage everyone to read their paper on their ARI method. Sign-up Process was a breeze and customer support team was very helpful. Have been depositing money over a period of roughly 3 months now. Returns are okay, I'm in this for the long haul anyway. Just hope their mobile app will be released soon and they allow for a longer trajectory for projection purposes - instead of just 15 years. However, their web browser version is still extremely mobile friendly and I genuinely love Syfe's services, having used other roboadvisors before. Right now, I am only using Syfe.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 19 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Syfe

    Easy to use with excellent customer support! They answer my queries promptly with the CEO, Dhruv also jumped in on some of my emails. Love the low flat fees, no fuss, no fluff, and no hidden cost structure. Would love to see more aggressive portfolio though. What is missing is also the chart to show projected earnings for each portfolio and where are you now in terms of your goal and time horizon. Sometimes I do wonder if Syfe automatic rebalancing of its portfolio reduces our earning potentials in this passive investing strategy.
    3 comments
    2

    See all 3 comments

    Jer Jian
    Jer Jian

    19 Nov 2019

    Heyy Dhruv! Thank you so much for the response here too. It really helps and I'm delighted to know that my feedback is being heard and also really excited about the mobile app and the slew of features being planned for the pipeline.
    Jer Jian
    Jer Jian

    19 Nov 2019

    The statement below that you gave in your response also provided me with better clarity in terms of how the rebalancing works and whether it will affect the earning potentials. "When rebalancing is done, it is in response to a sustained period of market volatility that will push your portfolio risk past your risk level."
  • Updated on 09 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Syfe

    [Customer Support] The first thing I like about Syfe was the customer support. I had some issues in depositing currency and Dhruv was there to help in addition to the customer service officer. He was replying at crazy hours to get things sorted. Though they were not able to solve the particular issue, I appriciate the effort undertaken. [Investment Method] I was with another platform before and was not really happy with their investment method. Corporate bonds are risky and inorder to get a slightly higher rate of return I was not interested to take up credit risk. With Syfe, the bond ETF portfolio's are better risk adjusted as most of the ETFs are government bonds/total bond market index which significantly reduces risk. I am happy with the construction of the risk adjusted portfolio. [User Experience] Depositing currency was easy and had multiple options for setting up recurring deposits. No complaints on that. I believe they are working on a mobile app platform and requested customer feedback on that too. Getting customer opinion before setting up the platform is a welcome move. Gives them free testers and satisfied customers if they are open to constructive feedbacks :) [Others] I'm also happy that they have now introduced tiered structure for fee which I think is excellent. The transperancy on the transaction is fine and nothing to complain here. I would be happy if they introduce UK domiciled ETF's which have better withholding taxes on dividends than the US ones. But overall it is a good platform to use and happy investing everyone.
    0 comments
    1
  • Updated on 07 Nov 2019
    I have been using Syfe for a period of about 2 months now, and what I like about Syfe is that it gives you exposure to many different indexes, as well as its low management fee, compared to its closest competitors. It is definitely a very useful tool for people who are new to investing, and wish to park some of their funds in global assets, instead of leaving it at a bank. Syfe is generally easy-to-use, and has a nice user-interface. I would recommend Syfe to my friends.
    1 comment
    4
    Dhruv Arora
    Dhruv Arora

    07 Nov 2019

    Hi Bo Lin, thanks for your kind comments. Appreciate you taking time to share your feedback.
  • Updated on 07 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Syfe

    I like Syfe's investment strategy which is to manage our risks before returns. The ETF portfolios created by Syfe are based on the downside risks you are willing to take rather than the returns. And the good thing is that the risk is adjustable anytime. I also like the interface provided by Syfe on the website. It allows me to see my risks, returns, fees, and transactions easily. However, Syfe is currently only accessible on the website, hence it would be better if there is a mobile application for us to access it. Overall, it is a good product to use
    1 comment
    4
    Dhruv Arora
    Dhruv Arora

    07 Nov 2019

    Hi Andy, thanks for your kind feedback. We hear you - we’re currently working on a mobile app and will launch it soon. Please stay tuned!
Questions (17)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Stocks Discussion

Investments

Robo-Advisors

OCBC RoboInvest

StashAway

AutoWealth

Smartly

Syfe

Endowus

Kristal.AI

DBS digiPortfolio

SquirrelSave

Phillip SMART Portfolio

UTRADE Robo

Hui Wai Kit
Hui Wai Kit
Level 5. Genius
Updated 3w ago
The returns will depend on the risk profile you set with the robo-advisor, more conservative portfolios will return lower but more consistent returns while higher risk portfolios will see higher returns (albeit potential higher standard deviation). Do go through the entire KYC process with the robo advisor before choosing the risk profile which suits you the best! Depending on the risk profile you choose, the robo will allocate/diversify the portfolio accordingly. eg. more conservative portfolios will see higher allocations in bonds vs stocks and vice versa for a more aggressive profile. As amanda mentioned, you can check out the reviews for the robos on Seedly and see if you can relate to any specific experience. You can also read this article which Seedly has covered regarding the available robo-advisors here as well: https://blog.seedly.sg/singapore-robo-advisor-investment-comparison/

Investments

Robo-Advisors

P2P Lending

OCBC RoboInvest

StashAway

AutoWealth

Funding Societies

SeedIn

ETF

MoneyOwl

Syfe

Heah Min An
Heah Min An
Level 5. Genius
Answered 3w ago
Do you feel happy, confident of your investment selections, able to sleep soundly at night? If you’re, then continue doing it. It’s decent. Investment results are good. Investment results achieved by amount of corresponding amount of risk taken needs to be the conversation in this community. The community can’t quantify risk as easily as investment returns thus it naturally leads to an over fixation on purely returns. Risk comes from not knowing what I’m investing. Thank you for taking your time to read.

Investments

Robo-Advisors

Savings

Syfe

Dhruv Arora
Dhruv Arora, Founder & Chief Executive Officer at Syfe
Level 6. Master
Answered on 21 Aug 2019
Hi there! We are currently running a limited time promotion to encourage more people to start investing. You will receive $10 cash bonus for every $1,000 you invest with Syfe, capped at $100 per customer. To get started, simply click this link to take our complimentary risk analysis and set up your account.

Investments

Robo-Advisors

Syfe

Stocks Discussion

Jonathan Ang
Jonathan Ang
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Dec)

Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 06 Dec 2019
You'll never know unless you know what exactly they are investing in.. So really, if you want to take the investing route, you have to do it yourself. Google warren buffett and read his annual shareholder letters and watch his videos. As what he says.. no one is more keen in your money than yourself.

Investments

Savings

Syfe

Robo-Advisors

Dhruv Arora
Dhruv Arora, Founder & Chief Executive Officer at Syfe
Level 6. Master
Answered on 06 Dec 2019
Hi anon, thanks for your interest in Syfe. Your Downside Risk represents your risk threshold. (Higher risk is associated with greater probability of higher return). With a portfolio in the 15% Downside Risk category, it means that there is a 97.5% (hence 39 out 40) chance your portfolio will not lose more than 15% of its value in a given year. This can impact your overall portfolio, which includes your lump sum as well. However, in the event where your portfolio threatens to exceed this potential 15% risk of loss - such as during a recession - your portfolio is automatically rebalanced to ensure your risk remains within your selected downside risk level. This is the unique value of Syfe’s methodology. We do this through our Automated Risk-managed Investments (ARI) methodology. During periods where higher market volatility has been forecasted, ARI will adjust your portfolio allocation and reduce your exposure to higher-risk asset classes. In other words, ARI reduces the likelihood that your portfolio will lose more than its downside risk to the very minimum, so you can sleep well at night knowing that your portfolio is being expertly managed by us.

Investments

Stocks Discussion

Syfe

I prefer annualized standard deviation as a measure to understand historical volatility. 3 standard deviations from the mean would give you the 99.7% confidence of volatility over any one year period. If you have all the data points which would probably be the daily price of the funds in a portfolio, you could use excel but again this is very leceh to do manually. Analytical sites like FE Analytics would do it for you. High volatility isn't bad and low volatility isn't always good either. It's just a reflection of risk. You want the high returns, expect the risk. And it's especially handy when deciding to do DCA over a lumpsum and can help regular investments plans work better than usual.

Robo-Advisors

Investments

StashAway

Syfe

Stocks Discussion

Hi, Please refer to Syfe Sample Portfolio allocation here: https://www.syfe.com/sample-portfolio (15% Downside Risk - Syfe is claiming in the next 39/40 years, this portfolio won't lose more than 15% of its value - don't be tricked by the wording. This doesn't gaurantee anything) Most of your investment will be in developed countries. With a rough 72% allocation to the US market. Check out Stashaway fund selection here: https://www.stashaway.sg/r/stashaways-etf-selection Do note that Stashaway also invest in a heavily in the US market. (About 50% for a 36% Risk Level and about 23% to US bonds ) Do your own due dillegence: Determine if these ETFs and their allocation is what you want to invest in. A just for fun comparison has been done before: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/roboadvisor-stashaway-vs-syfe-6092311.html

Savings

Investments

StashAway

Syfe

Paridhi Jhunjhunwala
Paridhi Jhunjhunwala, Associate at Kristal.AI
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 14 Nov 2019
Hi! Looking at your portfolio, I see that there is an average return of about 2%, which is pretty low. You can take on some additional risk and get a higher return on the same investment amount. After having a liquid fund kept aside as an emergency fund, you can use the rest to investment in ETFs, REITs etc. which may provide better return. You can also make use of a robo-advisor, which will generate an optimal portfolio for you based on your financial objectives and risk appetite. I work at Kristal.AI, and it's my passion to evaluate various upcoming investment opportunities.

Robo-Advisors

Investments

ETF

Syfe

StashAway

Hi, I believe this question was previously answered here: https://seedly.sg/questions/may-someone-kindly-explain-the-difference-between-syfe-and-stashaway-in-layman-terms?aid=19536 Do take a look!

Robo-Advisors

Investments

Syfe

StashAway

Angeline Teo
Angeline Teo
Level 5. Genius
Answered on 15 Sep 2019
I would say each Robo-advisors is already diversified.... don't over diversify by spreading to too many Robo-advisors too. Overspreading wastes your time in looking at so many different advisors and then thinking hard whether to switch when 1 is doing better than another. (and then after you switch, the other does better and you wonder again....) Stick to the 2 you chose and spend the time enjoying life ;)
Load more questions

About Syfe

Our Investment Strategy

Syfe’s investment philosophy is defined by our proprietary Automated Risk-managed Investments strategy (ARI). If the team’s combined finance and investment experience of over 100 years has taught us one thing, it is that returns cannot be accurately predicted, but the risk can be managed. Based on your risk assessment, ARI builds you a personalised investment portfolio, allocating assets which have shown the best return for your risk profile. By maintaining your desired risk level across all market conditions, ARI helps you achieve better returns at a lower risk.

  • During periods where higher market volatility has been forecasted, ARI will rebalance your portfolio allocation and reduce your exposure to higher-risk asset classes. This ensures your portfolio risk stays aligned to your desired risk level.
  • During periods of market calm, ARI will adjust your portfolio allocation to allocate more to higher-risk assets. Your overall portfolio risk is still kept in line with your desired risk exposure, but you capture the market upside as well. To find out more, please download our investment white paper here.

How To Get Started

Investor Risk Profiling

  • Complete a risk questionnaire to understand your ideal risk level
  • Go with our recommended risk level or select your own
  • Confirm your portfolio and set up your Syfe account
  • Submit your identity documents for verification by uploading them online or through MyInfo for faster approval Portfolio Activation
  • To fund your portfolio, you may transfer funds through FAST / PayNow
  • For transfers in USD, you may do so through Telegraphic Transfers or using platforms such as Transferwise.
  • Your funds will be invested in your portfolio within 1 - 2 business days
  • You can transfer funds to your Syfe account and withdraw anytime at no extra charge

Good To Know

  • The minimum age to open an account with Syfe is 18 years old
  • Your Syfe account can be funded in both SGD and USD
  • Syfe does not charge you brokerage fees. There are no entry or exit fees and no hidden charges.

For more information, please visit Syfe’s FAQ page here.

Contact Syfe

  • General line: +65 3138 1215
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Address: 10th Floor, UIC Building, 5 Shenton Way, Singapore 068808