StashAway

StashAway

4.5
(94)
Write Review
Ask Question

Ratings Breakdown (94)

4.5
  • 5
    66
  • 4
    19
  • 3
    5
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    2
OperationsMAS Capital Market Services Licence (CMS100604-1)
MethodologyEconomic Regime-based Asset Allocation (ERAA)
FeesBetween 0.8% to 0.2% of total invested per year
MinimumNo minimum to start
More about StashAway
Reviews (94)
Q&A (68)
Sort by:
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Upvote
  • Lowest to Highest
  • Highest to Lowest
  • Jordon Chiong
    Jordon Chiong
    3 Reviews, 2 Upvotes
    Reviewed 2w ago
    Been using StashAway since September 2018. I’ve gotta say their UI is 10/10. It is clean, simple and easy to use. Instructions on how to make transfers are clear and concise. Started off with 2 portfolios. 1st portfolio: Lump sum. 2nd portfolio: Initial lump sum with monthly $200 investment into the portfolio. Been a good 7 months. The first portfolio generated a return of 2.3% in SGD. While the second portfolio generated a return of 8.5% in SGD. IMHO, gold allocation is a little bit too high for slightly aggressive portfolios :(. If you do not have time to manage your investments and would like to try robo advisory out, I would recommend StashAway.
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Jan
    Jan
    6 Reviews, 9 Upvotes
    Updated on 12 Jan 2018
    By far the best out of the lot. Running 5 different investment profiles ranging from 15 to 26. Average yield slightly more than a year iss 10%. Initially started with lump sum but now doing monthly contributions. Other 2 accounts with the next 2 popular robo investors is at 3.4% and 1.2%
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • HC Tang
    HC Tang
    18 Reviews, 937 Upvotes
    Updated on 19 May 2018
    Pros: - min. investment at $100 so anyone can start investing with robot. - fractional shares: every single cent is being invested to make it all works for me. - good rebalancing tactic, done twice a year with email reminders if investor wish to let robo auto rebalance or user manually do the rebalancing! - actively engaging the public (talks and monthly cio updates article) - excellent customer support - nice and clean ui even more features now on the mobile apps - monthly statement now available via apps (like telco apps) - cheaper fee for a hassle free investment service that provides diversification (as compared to unit trusts/mutual funds) cons: - more than 4 months where returns stagnated and dropped due to currency risk (as stashaway invests in usd rather than sgd) - no choice. - asked cio personally that even with the most aggressive portfolio, they still allocate quite a significant portion to us treasury bonds as safety against any real bear market. - they invest mostly in etf, basically follow the idea of warren buffet to bet in indexes rather than individual funds since no fund managers in the past 10 to 20 years has beaten the indexes, so even with the most aggressive portfolio, you're still quite safe. however, if you prefer higher returns, it is best to diy using value investing methods. - higher fees than the rest of robo. interested to join can use my referral code for up to $10,000 sgd managed for free for 6 months! https://www.stashaway.sg/referrals/hangchot2kwj
    Comments (4)
    7
    0
    Share this
    View 2 more comments
    • HC Tang
      26 May 2018
    • HK Guo
      HK Guo
      Regarding the point on rebalancing. Done twice a year with email reminders if investor wish to let robo auto rebalance or user manually do the rebalancing! Actually, you might have misunderstood. Rebalancing is always performed automatically. Below is an extract of StashAway reply to me:- Just to provide clarity, StashAway rebalances and reoptimizes your portfolio. Rebalancing aims to keep your portfolio(s) at the optimal composition (each ETF has a target composition based on your chosen risk level and time horizon) by buying/ selling ETFs when its actual weightage exceeds the rebalancing band. It can happen daily, weekly or monthly. It is done automatically by our technology that monitors your portfolio in real time. Re-optimization, on the other hand, change the asset allocation by recommending new ETFs for the portfolio(s), due to change in economic regimes. This means your portfolio(s) may now contain existing ETFs with a different weightage and new ETFs. Therefore, rebalancing is done automatically while you have the option to opt out of auto re-optimization.
      09 Sep 2018
  • Su Zar Li Maung
    Su Zar Li Maung
    1 Reviews, 2 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 25 Feb 2019
    Deposited $200 2 weeks back. Up 5% now. Seems pretty good. I have stock investment about $140K stock & 80K unit trust from CPF. If Stashaway is available to invest from OA, I may shift all investment there
    Comments (0)
    2
    0
    Share this
  • Arushi Datta
    Arushi Datta
    1 Reviews, 2 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 28 Dec 2018
    Stashaway is totally overpromising and underdelivering. The only good thing is the app which has great UX. I have been consistently losing money over the past year, despite using recommended settings. Don't believe there is a real solid algorithm behind this product.
    Comments (1)
    2
    1
    Share this
    • Amanda Ong
      Amanda Ong
      Hi Arushi, thank you for your review. We do understand your disappointment with your portfolio’s returns. Our portfolios are designed for medium to long term investment, which is an investment timeline of at least 3-5 years. We recommend our client to adopt a long-term perspective to investing and avoid being alarmed by short term volatility/noise in the market. Just to share, if our investment team does see a fundamental change in economic conditions, we will re-optimize your portfolios for you. What these means is that, for example, if the economy were to go from “good times” to a “recession”, we will recommend a re-optimization that will reduce equity exposure and concentrate it in protective sectors (e.g., consumer staples), and increase allocations to asset classes such as government bonds, particularly for long maturity dates and gold. Our investment framework (ERAA) is risk-centric: the goal is to maintain your risk exposure constant across market and economic cycles while optimizing returns. The reason we have not re-optimized as yet, is that leading economic indicators still indicate that the U.S economy is doing relatively well. One of our favourite leading indicators with a long-dated track record is the Conference Board Leading Economic Index (LEI). A few things we recommend in 2019: 1) Do not be hasty and overreact to sensational news headlines! Unlike fast and intense market corrections, it takes a lot longer for a bear market to develop. 2) Stay focused on economic data. Both actual and leading indicators suggest that the economy is strong! 3) Maintain diversified portfolios, continue to buy growth-oriented assets that are priced fairly, and buy undervalued protective assets when they show a change in momentum. If you have a dollar-cost-averaging strategy, stay true to it. 4) Market corrections are common occurrences in any growth cycle. They are simply a way for the market to ‘detox’ so that it can move forward more healthily Once again, thank you for your feedback, Arushi. If you’d like, we would be more than happy to arrange a call to discuss your portfolio with you further. Please feel free to drop us an email at [email protected] or call us at +65 6248 0889 (9am - 6pm, Monday - Friday, excluding SG public holidays).
      28 Jan 2019
  • Stefano Ganassi
    Stefano Ganassi
    1 Reviews, 1 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 19 Dec 2018
    I use stashaway since February 2018. Average 15k SGD and so far the interests I had for a stashaway reccomanded risk profile are close to zero if not negative. If I left the same money in my bank I would have spent less in commissions and got more interests. Waste of expectations. Not reccomanded.
    Comments (1)
    1
    1
    Share this
    • Amanda Ong
      Amanda Ong
      Hi Stefano, thank you for your feedback. We fully understand your disappointment with your returns: it’s a sentiment which echoes that of many invested in the markets since the start of 2018. 2018 has been a tough year for investors, with 2 market corrections wiping out YTD gains for investors: the S&P 500, a common benchmark index used to track the US market, posted an annualised loss of -6.69%. Our CIO, Freddy, released an article discussing the current market outlook. You can read the article at the link below. https://www.stashaway.sg/r/reviewing-2018-and-anticipating-2019 We promise it will be informative! Our portfolios are designed for medium to long term investment, which is generally a timeline of at least 3-5 years. We do maintain our recommendation for customers to adopt a long-term perspective to investing and avoid being alarmed by short term fluctuations in the market. If you’d like, we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your portfolio’s returns. Once again, thank you for your feedback, Stefano, and if you would like to discuss further on any of these points, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] or call us at +65 6248 0889 (9am - 6pm, Monday - Friday, excluding SG public holidays).
      28 Jan 2019
See more reviews

Write a review

About StashAway

StashAway started in the year 2016 by ex ZALORA Group CEO, Michele Ferrario and ex Nomura MD, Freddy Lim.

It is Singapore’s intelligent, automated digital wealth manager that personalises, rebalances, and optimises your portfolio so you can reach your goals.

Method of investing for StashAway

StashAway adopts an Economic Regime-based Asset Allocation™ method.

It is an investment strategy that harnesses economic trends to maximise your returns at the risk level that feels right to you.

Minimum investment and fees for StashAway

StashAway has no minimum balance required. This means that any amount of investment is welcomed.

StashAway charges a management fee ranging from 0.2% to 0.8%.