AutoWealth Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

AutoWealth

  • Overview
  • Reviews (134)
  • Questions (61)
  • More Details
Robo-Advisors/AutoWealth
Robo-Advisors/AutoWealth

AutoWealth

4.6
134 reviews

USER RATINGS

User Experience

4.6

Ease of Sign up

4.7

Customer Support

4.8
Robo-Advisors/AutoWealth

AutoWealth

4.6
134 reviews

USER RATINGS

Read reviews

User Experience

4.6

Ease of Sign up

4.7

Customer Support

4.8

AutoWealth

Flat 0.5% + USD18 platform fee p.a.
PRICING
$3,000
MINIMUM INVESTMENT
Web only
PLATFORMS

    AutoWealth

    Flat 0.5% + USD18 platform fee p.a.
    PRICING
    $3,000
    MINIMUM INVESTMENT
    Web only
    PLATFORMS

Details

Operations

MAS Financial Advisor Licence (FA100064-1)

Methodology

Diversification across major asset classes, geographical regions, and industries.

Read More about AutoWealth
Reviews (134)

4.6

134 Reviews

  • 5
    97
  • 4
    28
  • 3
    6
  • 2
    3
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

user experience

long term

return rate

customer support

open account

easy understand

onboarding experience

equity bond

risk level

saxo account

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 03 Feb 2020

    Purchased

    AutoWealth

    Started my journey with Autowealth in Oct 2017 with a Risk Level 2 portfolio, and opened another Risk 4 portfolio with them early this year. Did so because I wanted greater exposure to equities and opened a new portfolio with AW instead of another Roboadvisor because the $18 USD annual fee is independent of the number of portfolios you have with AW. The good: [User Experience] - Personal touch. Beginning my investment journey with AW required for me to meet with one of their co founders at that point which gave me a sense of the team handling the funds. They also checked on the motivations behind your investment and ensured the risk appetite of your choice was appropriate for your situation. If I'm not wrong, new sign-ups can be done online without having to meet someone from the team, with the option of speaking to a "wealth manager" through WhatsApp, but the fact that I had to meet with someone face to face (brought my father along as it was one of my first investment forays) showed the commitment the team has for their clients. - Security of funds! Your money is held in a custodian account.. but a personal one! So if anything happens, your money is still under your name:) - Convenience. This probably applies to other Robo Advisors as well but where else can you gain balanced exposure to international equities and bonds without the need to take periodic action of research, asset allocation/balancing, having to worry about timing the market, currency conversion woes.. Robo Advisors address these concerns, and makes use of disciplined algorithms avoiding biases which might otherwise form. And yes, you won't have to do any mind boggling research into USD and how to trade US equities whether it's through US/UK??, it's all done for you by more than their more than qualified team (headed by an ex-GIC banker! how more legit can you get!) [Returns Rate] - Comparatively low fees. Really low commission fees of 0.5%!! (on top of that there's a $18 USD annual platform fee but if you do the math it's pretty competitive compared to other Robo Advisors in SG). Ultimately, it depends on the sum you wish to invest as different Robo Advisors appeal to consumers with different investment strategies. But if you invest around 10k AW is the lowest. The bad: [User Experience] - Opening an account is pretty tedious, but of course it's for the greater good. They have gotta do checks to ensure you're suitable for this form of investment, as after all, all investments (especially international equities with more factors to consider) contain risk. Also, they'll open a personal custodian account under your name so that's another form to fill but I mean if it means greater peace of mind, why not? - No phone app:( Would be great if they had an app with fingerprint login for easier access! But honestly, I don't rly track the monies in my portfolios often so it doesn't rly matter. [Barrier to Entry] - High entry requirement. Minimum investment sum of $3000 so if you wanna playplay maybe can look elsewhere with no min sum haha, but the result of whatever you invest can be withdrawn anytime you wish [User Interface] - Website. It honestly can look much better and work much faster.. but I mean it shows the necessary information including the trend of your portfolio value since inception, and a detailed breakdown of all transactions (ie balancing/dividend crediting etc). You can now login through Singpass.. though it's pretty neutral as my phone autofilled the password in the past anyway.. [Conclusion] If I had another sum of money I wish to invest for international exposure, would I open another portfolio with AW? Probably not.. I'm kinda looking at DBS DigiPortfolio (opened a US centric portfolio with them weeks ago), and they've got a commission fee of 0.75% (no platform fee), with a team of investment gurus who previously serviced Premium Banking clients! Returns for Risk Level 2 since Oct 2017: 7% Returns for Risk Level 4 since Feb 2019: 9%
    0 comments
    3
  • Updated on 30 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    AutoWealth

    I opened an account with AutoWealth and it was in-force since 24 August 2017 . [Customer Support] - Every client is assigned with a licensed wealth manager for support and queries, and they are just a WhatsApp away. Even if the wealth manager has left the company, the client will be assigned another one with no action required on the client side. [Others] - Depending on the portfolio breakdown, if the portfolio goes up to a certain amount, the total dividends earned is more than enough to cover the fees and may even have excess funds to re-invest shares of ETFs. For example, a 60%-stocks-and-40%-bonds portfolio with at least USD12,000 is likely enough to achieve that. - Unlike most other robo-advisors, each client's cash and shares ownership is legally segregated in respective custodian accounts of their own. Hence it is easier to have legal claims on own assets in the event AutoWealth closes down. - Competitive fee structure as compared to most other robo-advisors. It's the only robo-advisor I know of that has a flat USD18 per annum as a platform fee regardless of portfolio amount. Other robo-advisors' fees are just percentages of it. Hence the higher the portfolio amount, the lower the total fees as a percentage of it. - Requires minimum SGD3,000 to open an account. Personally, this is a minor issue because, AutoWealth does not support fractional shares ownership. Hence mathematically at least SGD3,000 is required to buy whole shares enough to build a portfolio as a start. Overall a great experience investing in stocks and government bonds ETFs via AutoWealth!
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 22 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    AutoWealth

    [Onboarding Experience] Disjoint onboarding experience. No confirmation email or status update, just waiting in the dark for account to be opened. [Customer Support] But the customer support is prompt and helpful.
    1 comment
    0
    Michael
    Michael

    06 Feb 2020

    Hi Matt, we have, besides the usual digital onboarding process, the option of meeting up with a licensed wealth manager. it’s unfortunate that you have encountered such a unique experience. Would you like to share on what exactly happened? You may contact me at [email protected] Your feedback will be valuable to us.
  • Posted on 03 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    AutoWealth

    I started with autowealth in sep 2016. So far the return is 9.6%( time weighted cumulative). Pretty happy with that. The sign up is fast and easy. They rebalance your portfolio if required. Michael has been very helpful.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 28 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    AutoWealth

    I have been using AW for the last 18mths and happy with the returns (7% on annualised basis). I chose AW because the investment strategy and portfolio allocation is transparent and proven (constructed based on public market indices) contrary to some other robo-Advisors where there is still some active/discretionary management or tactical allocation. As a Long term investor, I prefer 100% passive investment on a well diversified portfolio. Also, funds are segregated and held on a personal Saxo account and not commingled with other users which is safer.
    0 comments
    0
Questions (61)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Syfe

StashAway

AutoWealth

Eliezer
Eliezer, Community Lead at Syfe
Level 5. Genius
Answered 3d ago
At Syfe, our portfolios are constructed to shield investors from significant losses, preserve the strength of their portfolios, and position them to capture the upside as the market makes its eventual recovery. Despite the volatility, our portfolios have remained resilient, with smaller dips in value as compared to the benchmarks and broader market: https://www.syfe.com/magazine/coronavirus-pandemic-how-syfe-builds-resilience-into-portfolios/ Simply put, our automated risk managed investing (ARI) algorithm had rebalanced portfolios to bring portfolio risk back in line with our investors' chosen risk level. For our 15% Downside Risk portfolios, our timely adjustment to increase the share of lower-risk bonds resulted in a significantly smaller dip of 10%, compared to our benchmark's loss of 21%. Our risk-based investing strategy ultimately delivers better risk-adjusted returns over the long term, and better peace of mind for our clients during this tumultuous period.
👍 3

StashAway

AutoWealth

Robo-Advisors

Investments

Stocks Discussion

Hi anon, Welcome to the market. Don't worry, you are not the only one who is down during this peroid. Stick with your game plan and continue. Your losses are only on paper, and when the markets rebound (if they don't, everyone will have a far bigger problem on their hands) you will reap the benefits. I'd say there isn't a need to reduce your monthly contribution either, unless your cashflow is tight. I actually see many clients increasing their monthly contribution instead, to take advantage of opportunities available now (but take note, this may not be for you) Don't try to time the market. No one captures the bottom, nor sells at the top. Just stick to your game plan.
👍 3

Stocks Discussion

Investments

Robo-Advisors

OCBC RoboInvest

StashAway

AutoWealth

Smartly

Syfe

Endowus

Kristal.AI

DBS digiPortfolio

SquirrelSave

Phillip SMART Portfolio

UTRADE Robo

CJ
Cynthia Jasmin
Level 6. Master
Answered 2w ago
Hi There, you can alco check the review on Kristal.AI here https://seedly.sg/reviews/robo-advisors/kristal-ai Kristal aso provides you with investment advice via its propietary algorithm within minuets to create a personilized investment portfolio. Which is designed sepicifically to meet your investment requirements and investor profile. You can be advised as much as you need. There's also ZERO fees for your first $50,000 investment. Hope this helps, Cynthia
👍 3

AMA SG Young Investment

Savings

Investments

StashAway

AutoWealth

Robo-Advisors

Junus Eu
Junus Eu
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Updated on 30 May 2019
Gosh, I have saved that amount a few years back, but still don't feel like stopping work. But that's probably because I don't want to stop working for as long as I can, to keep the mind and body active. But I reckon you already have things you plan to do with your time! That said, the easiest most straight forward way to do this (not taking into account any kind of returns, and inflation) is to save S$3k a month. But we all know we have to factor in inflation in 10 years time, and for that reason, should look at investments. I would still look at getting income from the 3-room flat, and also put my money to work right from the start in equities and bonds. And with the free time, still pursue something you have always wanted to do! It's easier to do when you have 'F.U.' money.
👍 1

SeedlyTV EP04

Investments

Robo-Advisors

Smartly

MoneyOwl

StashAway

AutoWealth

Endowus

Samuel Rhee
Samuel Rhee, Chief Investment Officer at Endowus
Level 4. Prodigy
Updated on 24 May 2019
Dear Anonymous, This is a great question and Endowus has reviewed the pros and cons of accessing various products and we believe that the most efficient way to access certain asset classes or funds is through a third option - Irish UCITS Funds(Unit trusts). I have seen many comparisons but nobody has really delved into the key issues in detail. Because they normally compare the US ETFs vs Irish UCITS ETFs or UCITS ETFs vs UCITS funds. I will review the pros and cons of the respective fund vehicles below; 1. US ETFs on the surface look good as they have lower fees and have narrow bid-ask spreads but this is more than offset by the huge witholding tax that it is subject to (For example, if dividends are 3% then you will be charged 1% which dwarfs any benefits of lower fees/narrow bid ask spreads). Recouping taxes is notoriously difficult as the money is co-mingled (meaning the dollar invested is not in your name and the tax refund is not specific to you) - you only get partial refund and you have to wait a long time after the money has been deducted to get a refund and God forbid you take your money out from the platform before the refund comes through as you may never get it back. 2. Irish UCITS ETFs simply solves the tax issue but on the other hand you have less choice in terms of ETFs, the bid-ask spread is quite wide as liquidity is poor, and finally the fees are higher as they tend to be smaller in scale and scale vs cost is directly and inversely correlated. However, you can bypass the bid-ask spread issue by accessing them through market makers at a small fee at NAV (this is the actual price/value of the fund = and please remember ETFs are funds as well but they are just listed to provide intraday liquidity and readily tradeable. This is a key point I elaborate on later). 3. UCITS Funds. Apart from the fact that these funds are tax-efficient like the UCITS ETFs, they also have no bid-ask spread. NONE AT ALL. This is because you can buy/sell it at the actual NAV. Even US ETFs have bid-ask spreads and some US ETFs are very wide at times. The whole point of ETFs and the reason they have bid-ask spreads is because it is exchange traded. If we trade US or UCITS ETFs from Singapore then we normally trade only once a day so it defeats the whole purpose of using ETFs which is supposed to provide live intraday liquidity. They trade once a day and provide liquidity once a day. So there is no benefit to ETFs other than the other factors focused on cost, which on balance including tax and FX risk, they lose out on. We are not taking advantage of the most important aspect of why ETFs exist. Furthermore, for UCITS funds, because you are buying at NAV at daily liquidity there is no additional cost of transaction and no need to inefficiently fractionalize shares(llike ETFs) as you can invest to the cent at NAV price. Finally, these funds have a broader choice than UCITS ETFs and they tend to be at scale much cheaper in terms of total costs. There is also another important factor that many people don't discuss as much as taxes, and that is the impact of FX on risk and returns. We pursposefully build and access UCITS funds denominated in SGD or Singapore dollar hedged products in the case of fixed income products. Whereas you are taking FX risk with US or other ETFs, which involves additional costs. This is a big additional benefit to accessing the products through Irish UCITS fund structures. So if you combine all of that, UCITS Funds from the likes of PIMCO and Dimensional that Endowus uses, are in fact the most cost-efficient, tax-efficient vehicles and removes completely any FX risk. Thereby allowing you to invest your Singapore dollar savings as a Singapore based investors with peace of mind. Thank you! Yours Sincerely, Sam
👍 6

General

StashAway

AutoWealth

Robo-Advisors

Only invest if you're investing for the long run. At least 5 years. Remember that time in the market is better than timing the market. If you're investing for the long term, anytime is a good time to invest. Start with DCA-ing.
👍 4

Investments

AutoWealth

SAXO Capital Markets

Difference is AW will do all the work for you including reinvesting your dividends, portfolio rebalancing, settling WHT etc. while if you DIY you have to do them yourself. If you don't consider these hassles, then paying AW to do them for you is a natural.
👍 0

SG Budget Babe

Investments

StashAway

AutoWealth

Robo-Advisors

Davin
Davin
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 24 Feb 2020
There is nothing wrong to have 2 robo advisor, but you have to see if they are buying into same ETF. Although they have different algorithm when come to rebalancing, I don't expect much different in terms of performance if the underlying ETF are about the same. I have Stashaway and Syfe but thats is for different purpose, one for equities and one for REITS.
👍 1

Investments

Stocks Discussion

Robo-Advisors

AutoWealth

Davin
Davin
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 24 Feb 2020
If you are worry about current situation, best is to go for DCA. By doing DCA, you have better peace of mind and avoid emotion decision like sell off during downturn.
👍 0

Investments

Robo-Advisors

Promo Codes

AutoWealth

Lau YongLe
Lau YongLe
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Feb)

Level 5. Genius
Answered on 20 Feb 2020
Use guideSG to enjoy an S$20 top-up bonus when you fund your AutoWealth account upon registration. Do note that a minimum deposit of S$3000 is required for any promo code to be successfully utilised. And remember, your capital is always at risk!
👍 5
Load more questions

About AutoWealth

AutoWealth started in the year 2015 by Investment Manager, Ow Tai Zhi and ex Management Consultant, Noel Lee.

Investment Strategy for AutoWealth

An easy-to-understand market tracking strategy which places a strong emphasis on diversification across major asset classes, geographical regions, and industries.

Tech Platform Augmented by human Wealth Manager

Robo-advisor with a human touch. All clients have a dedicated MAS-licensed Wealth Manager assigned to their account, providing personalised advice/ support.

Personal Segregated Account

All clients’ assets are held in legally segregated accounts under their own personal name for their sole beneficial ownership through Saxo Capital Markets, providing utmost assurance on the safeguard of their assets.

Minimum investment and fees for AutoWealth

The minimum investment is S$3,000. Management fee at 0.5% p.a. on total investment amount + USD18 platform fee per year. Fees are prorated and deducted on a quarterly basis, with no other additional fees.