Smartly Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

Smartly

  • Overview
  • Reviews (56)
  • Questions (41)
  • More Details

Smartly

4.6
56 reviews

USER RATINGS

User Experience

4.6

Ease of Sign up

4.9

Customer Support

4.4

Smartly

4.6
56 reviews

USER RATINGS

Read reviews

User Experience

4.6

Ease of Sign up

4.9

Customer Support

4.4

Smartly

0.5% to 1% p.a.
PRICING
None
MINIMUM INVESTMENT
Web only
PLATFORMS

    Smartly

    0.5% to 1% p.a.
    PRICING
    None
    MINIMUM INVESTMENT
    Web only
    PLATFORMS

Details

Operations

Collaboration with VCG Partners (external fund manager).

Methodology

Modern Portfolio Theory (MPT), a mix of equity and bond ETFs.

Read More about Smartly
Reviews (56)

4.6

56 Reviews

  • 5
    41
  • 4
    10
  • 3
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

user experience

customer support

investment portfolio

onboarding experience

mobile app

smartly stashaway

management fee

returns rate

risk profile

clean interface

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 27 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    Smartly

    I have experience using Autowealth, Smartly, Stashaway and Kristal.AI robo-advisors. Been with Smartly since the founders were still students of a local university and creating a start up. I was on waiting list before the company really got started. What's unique about Smartly: -Portfolio creation for growth till retirement [User Experience] -Consistent returns over long term +8.9% at 27th month [Returns Rate] [Waiting Time] -Simple and quick sign up and on-boarding [Onboarding Experience] [Customer Support] -Need not choose from a big basket of ETFs, and -Exposure beyond Singapore for diversification -Portfolio graph and statistics for quick analysis -Unlimited deposits and withdrawals for liquidity -No trading commissions, but -Simple and clear pricing at/under 1% for low cost investing -Regular rebalancing for portfolio optimization [Investment Method] -Local fintech start up (which made me want to support them) Cons: -Would love to engage F2F with the team at some events
    1 comment
    2
    satish

    22 Feb 2020

    Hi. i'm very new to this. may i ask even though there is no minimum amount for investment, what is the amount you would recommend?
  • Posted on 20 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Smartly

    Used this in their beginning years but officially got active only beginning this year. Their platform user experience was awesome, it was easy to get started and invest and even withdrawing was easy. Within just 2 days I sold and was returned my full sum. Would be great if there was a mobile app for this.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 19 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Smartly

    [Onboarding Experience] Onboarding was easy and fast! [User Experience] It's easy to navigate and the interface looks clean. It would be better if there is a mobile app. [Returns Rate] I started putting 1 time amount of $500 in May 2019 and doing a monthly contribution of $300. On the highest risk profile of 10/10 and returns are 2.8%. Wouldn't say the returns are fantastic but it's still positive so shall see how it goes.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 11 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Smartly

    Customer support is poor. Deposited some cash last Wednesday, but till date it has not been invested.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 06 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Smartly

    Been a user of Smartly since Feb 2018, upon chancing on them through Facebook. The overall UI experience is very intuitive. Onboarding process was simple, fast and straightforward which is important for users like me that do not like to go through hassles. Customer support was very helpful and replies were prompt, when I contact them for several queries regarding the portfolios. Most importantly to investors like us, the fees are very competitive with other robo-advisors. Recommended for investors looking for alternative investing devices!!
    0 comments
    1
Questions (41)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Investments

StashAway

Endowus

MoneyOwl

Smartly

Justin Tan
Justin Tan
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered 16h ago
Hi, We understand your concerns. To give a short introduction - MoneyOwl is more than just a roboadvisor. We are a bionic advisory firm in that we combine the precision of technology in the form of a roboadvisory platform with human wisdom from our team of salaried, conflict free advisers. For MoneyOwl, besides our insurance bionic advisory, digital will writing service and investment services, we also recently launched our comprehensive financial advisory service that incorporates CPF Planning. So in truth, we are a bionic comprehensive financial advisory firm. At MoneyOwl, we are confident to bring our services to our clients not just because we believe we have the right investment philosophy and process to deliver results to our clients, we have the right people and resources behind the technology. In the unlikely event that MoneyOwl ceases operations, your investment holdings will not be affected as it is held in a trust account under our custodian’s iFAST – client trust account. We also do not use fractional ETFs in our portfolios. MoneyOwl is licensed by MAS as a fund management company, we have to adhere to strict risk based capital adequacy requirements and are required to report this to our regulators on a quarterly basis. Our regulators also have in place a recovery and resolution plan to ensure that recovery and resolution actions are taken in a timely and orderly manner as and when the need arises. MoneyOwl in many ways is not a "pure start up". We are a JV between NTUC Enterprise as well as Providend. We have been around for decades. NTUC in particular is a trusted household Singapore brand. Providend has championed conflict-free advice for the last 2 decades. We would like to reassure you we are here to stay and committed to our clients.
👍 5

Smartly

Robo-Advisors

Investments

Gabriel Tham
Gabriel Tham, Tag Team Member at Kenichi Tag Team
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered 1w ago
Just received an email from Smartly: Thank you for investing with Smartly. We are writing to inform you that we have taken the difficult decision to cease Smartly’s operations in Singapore. As you may know, competition in the digital investment advisory space is intense and maintaining a high service standard on the platform has been challenging. Despite initially contemplating core platform improvements, strategic corporate considerations by our parent company, VinaCapital Group Ltd, ultimately guided our decision. Smartly is a brand of VCG Partners Pte. Ltd. (“VCG”), which is regulated by the Monetary Authority of Singapore (“MAS”). Accordingly, VCG has notified MAS of its decision to cease Smartly’s operations. Please note that no action is required on your part, although do note that you will no longer be able to log in to your Smartly account from 18th April 2020 onwards, which also coincides with the official date of your account closure. Should you desire to receive digital advice from another service provider, we have reached an agreement with Asia Wealth Platform Pte Ltd (AWP); which has kindly agreed to offer Smartly customers a 50% management fee discount for the first 6 months, up to the first SGD50,000 invested for new customers on its StashAway platform. Please click on this link if you are interested in opening an account to be entitled to this offer, which is valid until the end of April 2020. Please note in relation to the above special promotion with AWP, VCG is not permitted to give advice on the suitability of any related investment product or market any collective investment scheme as an introducer and AWP is the party giving advice on its Stashaway Platform. VCG may be remunerated by AWP for each referred customer that proceeds to invest on the StashAway Platform. VCG will disclose the amount of the referral remuneration it receives from AWP in respect of your referral if requested by you. If you have questions about any of the above or another matter(s) relating to your account, please contact us at [email protected](mailto:[email protected]) or via telephone at +65 6332 9081 / +65 6332 9084. Once again, we appreciate the trust you placed in Smartly and wish you continued success as you invest for your future. Yours sincerely, Richard Martin, Head of Operations VCG Partners Pte. Ltd.
👍 4

Smartly

Robo-Advisors

Investments

Stocks Discussion

WeiLun Moy
WeiLun Moy
Level 2. Rookie
Updated 1w ago
No one will know what will happen within the next 1 month. For other robo investing platform, they could continue to employ DCA method to buy when the market is low (currently). But due to the closure of smartly, I am afraid that you can't explore that option. Hence, it is your decision to make whether to cut lost now, or withdraw in 1 month time (hoping that the value will increase).
👍 1

Investments

Smartly

N
Ninja
Level 6. Master
Answered 2w ago
Not sure but i have friends who cannot get their deposits back when they stop it and they cannot sell their current portfolio now too. Not sure for the rest or if it’s true but this two friends told me that.
👍 0

Stocks Discussion

Investments

Robo-Advisors

OCBC RoboInvest

StashAway

AutoWealth

Smartly

Syfe

Endowus

Kristal.AI

DBS digiPortfolio

SquirrelSave

Phillip SMART Portfolio

UTRADE Robo

CJ
Cynthia Jasmin
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Mar)

Level 6. Master
Answered 2w ago
Hi There, you can alco check the review on Kristal.AI here https://seedly.sg/reviews/robo-advisors/kristal-ai Kristal aso provides you with investment advice via its propietary algorithm within minuets to create a personilized investment portfolio. Which is designed sepicifically to meet your investment requirements and investor profile. You can be advised as much as you need. There's also ZERO fees for your first $50,000 investment. Hope this helps, Cynthia
👍 3

Investments

Smartly

ETF

Stocks Discussion

Hi Anon, Investments are for the long term, markets will fluctunate, but in time they will recover and your investments along with it. It would be wiser to stay invested, and you will see returns in the long run
👍 0

SeedlyTV EP04

Investments

Robo-Advisors

Smartly

MoneyOwl

StashAway

AutoWealth

Endowus

Samuel Rhee
Samuel Rhee, Chief Investment Officer at Endowus
Level 4. Prodigy
Updated on 24 May 2019
Dear Anonymous, This is a great question and Endowus has reviewed the pros and cons of accessing various products and we believe that the most efficient way to access certain asset classes or funds is through a third option - Irish UCITS Funds(Unit trusts). I have seen many comparisons but nobody has really delved into the key issues in detail. Because they normally compare the US ETFs vs Irish UCITS ETFs or UCITS ETFs vs UCITS funds. I will review the pros and cons of the respective fund vehicles below; 1. US ETFs on the surface look good as they have lower fees and have narrow bid-ask spreads but this is more than offset by the huge witholding tax that it is subject to (For example, if dividends are 3% then you will be charged 1% which dwarfs any benefits of lower fees/narrow bid ask spreads). Recouping taxes is notoriously difficult as the money is co-mingled (meaning the dollar invested is not in your name and the tax refund is not specific to you) - you only get partial refund and you have to wait a long time after the money has been deducted to get a refund and God forbid you take your money out from the platform before the refund comes through as you may never get it back. 2. Irish UCITS ETFs simply solves the tax issue but on the other hand you have less choice in terms of ETFs, the bid-ask spread is quite wide as liquidity is poor, and finally the fees are higher as they tend to be smaller in scale and scale vs cost is directly and inversely correlated. However, you can bypass the bid-ask spread issue by accessing them through market makers at a small fee at NAV (this is the actual price/value of the fund = and please remember ETFs are funds as well but they are just listed to provide intraday liquidity and readily tradeable. This is a key point I elaborate on later). 3. UCITS Funds. Apart from the fact that these funds are tax-efficient like the UCITS ETFs, they also have no bid-ask spread. NONE AT ALL. This is because you can buy/sell it at the actual NAV. Even US ETFs have bid-ask spreads and some US ETFs are very wide at times. The whole point of ETFs and the reason they have bid-ask spreads is because it is exchange traded. If we trade US or UCITS ETFs from Singapore then we normally trade only once a day so it defeats the whole purpose of using ETFs which is supposed to provide live intraday liquidity. They trade once a day and provide liquidity once a day. So there is no benefit to ETFs other than the other factors focused on cost, which on balance including tax and FX risk, they lose out on. We are not taking advantage of the most important aspect of why ETFs exist. Furthermore, for UCITS funds, because you are buying at NAV at daily liquidity there is no additional cost of transaction and no need to inefficiently fractionalize shares(llike ETFs) as you can invest to the cent at NAV price. Finally, these funds have a broader choice than UCITS ETFs and they tend to be at scale much cheaper in terms of total costs. There is also another important factor that many people don't discuss as much as taxes, and that is the impact of FX on risk and returns. We pursposefully build and access UCITS funds denominated in SGD or Singapore dollar hedged products in the case of fixed income products. Whereas you are taking FX risk with US or other ETFs, which involves additional costs. This is a big additional benefit to accessing the products through Irish UCITS fund structures. So if you combine all of that, UCITS Funds from the likes of PIMCO and Dimensional that Endowus uses, are in fact the most cost-efficient, tax-efficient vehicles and removes completely any FX risk. Thereby allowing you to invest your Singapore dollar savings as a Singapore based investors with peace of mind. Thank you! Yours Sincerely, Sam
👍 6

DBS digiPortfolio

Robo-Advisors

StashAway

Smartly

Investments

Stocks Discussion

Alex Chua
Alex Chua, Freshmore (Engineering System Design) at SUTD
Level 6. Master
Answered on 25 Feb 2020
It seems that you are planning to be a passive investor rather than an active trader. Then robo advisory is a good choice. Robo advisory is a passive investment. In investment, there is no best time to buy. Under the situation of a recession and a long term investment, I will DCA my dbs my dbs digi portfolio. From the question, it seems that you just started to know the concept of investment. So, what should you do? 1. Understand the various financial tools such as robo advisors (read them from Seedly) 2. Understand your assets, liability, equities and cash flow 3. Your risk profile and your investment goal so u can project your returns After learning the above, what do u to your DBS digi portfolio? If dbs digi portfolio meets your investment goals, continue putting in for a long term If dbs digi portfolio does not meet your investment goal, let it grow until you have better way to use the money / situation is better
👍 0

Robo-Advisors

STI ETF

Smartly

Investments

CIMB FastSaver Account

Frankie Aufhauser-Rappaport
Frankie Aufhauser-Rappaport
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Mar)

Level 8. Wizard
Updated on 16 Feb 2020
Yes, congratulations. The STI lagged f.ex. the U.S. S&P 500 (U.S. market = leading market in the world) importantly, you may consider to diversify Your equity allocation to more countries, particularly the U.S., or how about an MSCI World ETF (f.ex. large & cheap ticker: VT)? See STI versus SP500 10 year performance: ! More on my thinking here (though some strategies risky, so think for yourself ...): https://seedly.sg/questions/what-is-your-general-investing-philosophy-strategy
Answer image preview
👍 0

Phillip SMART Portfolio

Robo-Advisors

Smartly

StashAway

Amanda
Amanda
Level 5. Genius
Updated on 24 Dec 2019
Hello! There are 2 SeedlyReviews on Phillip SMART Portfolio, and more reviews for other Robo-Advisors that you can find them here: https://seedly.sg/reviews/robo-advisors They are a little dated, so perhaps you could drop a comment below their review to get a conversation started to find out more! (:
👍 2
Load more questions

About Smartly

Smartly started in the year 2015 by ex start-up professional, Keir Veskivali and investment analyst, Artur Luhaar. It is a service in collaboration with VCG Partners Pte ltd.

Method of investing for Smartly

Smartly adopts a Modern Portfolio Theory (MPT) consisting of ETFs.

This allows their portfolio to capture the global stock markets. Investing in Smartly also gives investor an exposure to bonds and real estate.

Minimum investment and fees for Smartly

Smartly allows investors to open an account with an investment of just S$50 per month.

They also charge investors a fee of 0.5% to 1% per year, on top of the underlying ETF fees incurred by the ETF providers. The underlying fees by these providers is about 0.1% to 0.25% per year.

  • For investments less than S$10,000, there is a fee of 1% per year.
  • For investments over S$10,000, the fee is at 0.7% per year.
  • For investments above S$100,000, the fee is at 0.5% per year.