Ohm Energy Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

Ohm Energy

  • Overview
  • Reviews (283)
  • Questions (22)
  • More Details

Plans (7)

Slide 1 of 7
  • Fixed Ohm 6m

    Fixed rate of 17.99c/kWh
    PLAN TYPE
    17.99
    RATE
    6m
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.
  • Fixed Ohm 12m

    Fixed rate of 17.49/kwh
    PLAN TYPE
    17.49
    RATE
    12m
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.
  • Fixed Ohm 24m

    Fixed rate of 18.95/kwh
    PLAN TYPE
    18.95
    RATE
    24m
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.
  • Simply Ohm (No lock in)

    Non Standard
    PLAN TYPE
    NA
    RATE
    No Contract
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.
  • Market Ohm

    Non Standard
    PLAN TYPE
    NA
    RATE
    No Contract
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.
  • Ohm Discount 6m

    18.0% off regulated tariff
    PLAN TYPE
    20.20
    RATE
    6m
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.
  • Ohm Discount 12m

    18.0% off regulated tariff
    PLAN TYPE
    20.20
    RATE
    12m
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

    Fixed Ohm 6m

    Fixed rate of 17.99c/kWh
    PLAN TYPE
    17.99
    RATE
    6m
    CONTRACT
    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

Details

About Ohm Energy

Ohm Energy is an electricity retailer founded in 2015 to offer low-cost, competitive energy prices in Singapore as part of the Open Energy Market (OEM) initiative by the Energy Market Authority (EMA).

Other than providing low cost and simplicity in plans, Ohm Energy is also Carbon Neutral. This means that as an alternative electricity retailer, Ohm takes extra steps to reduce their carbon footprint by recycling whenever they can and choosing to support initiatives that are carbon neutral to fulfil their business requirements.

Read More about Ohm Energy
Reviews (283)

4.9

283 Reviews

  • 5
    257
  • 4
    25
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

customer service

fuss free

switch ohm

sign ohm

sign easy

free sign

hassle free

hidden cost

fixed rate

month trial

Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated 1w ago

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 12m

    Sign up recently with Ohm due to working from home and the price plans are competitive. I was more concerned about the service rendered after the switch after hearing so many horrible reviews for different retailers. After looking around in Seedly for some time, I finally found a retailer with good customer service. It is important to get responses faster when I face with any issues and this is really quick and concise explainations from Ohm. There will always be a need to reach out to customer service at different point during the contract so it is important to look for a retailer to have that set out in place. If you need a referral code, just drop me a note.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated 4w ago

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 12m

    the service provided is prompt. it was a fuss free sign up. no hidden cost. the bills are still cheaper than before.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 04 May 2020

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 24m

    Great promotions and they have superb customer service via their fb messaging. Very responsive even after office hours! Update: Still on Ohm, no issues with their billing and customer service. Always accurate billing!
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 01 May 2020
    Still using ohm for my electricity. price is competitive and no hiccups. Will continue using ohm for year 2020 and update the review again. Fuss free application. Their customer service response is very efficient via Facebook messenger and email. They have rendered the appropriate help to resolve my issues.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 01 May 2020
    Been using Ohm since Jan 2019. So far so good. Been enjoying its lower rates and same billing on SP Group which makes it easier for me to track/make payments. To be honest I felt that this is one of the best electricity retailers as everything felt the same before and after the switch (other than the huge saving in the cheaper rates). Updates: Ohm have never disappointed me. For the past 1 year with Ohm, everything was good. Referral rewards, customer service, billing etc has never been an issue. However I decided to move on for better rates. Recently changed retailer to Tuas Power due to the lower rates and new sign up promotion. I believe those that are here are looking to save as much as possible. Thus I'll recommend you to check and keep yourself updated with the latest pricings. On side note, I feel that one should opt for a shorter contract duration if possible so that you can change retailer when the rates change. On top of that, you get better promotions and discounts as a new customer. I believe I'll be switching back to OHM after Tuas if the price is good!
    0 comments
    0
Questions (22)
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Ohm Energy

Promo Codes

Electricity Retailers

Anyone has promotional/referral codes for Ohm Energy?
Shiyi Jyn
Shiyi Jyn
Level 3. Wonderkid
Updated on 09 Aug 2019
Good choice! Here’s mine: OHMREF5AC2EE 😊
👍 2

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

What are Ohm’s payment terms? Can I change my billing cycle for electricity? Where can I check my account balance? How can I settle my monthly bills?
Tay WenHao
Tay WenHao
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (May)

Level 7. Grand Master
Answered 1w ago
Just to add on, OHM bills are usually 1 month delay. Means your usage in Feb 2019, will be billed on 1 Apr 2019. Then Mar usage will be billed on May. It may be confusing because your SP bill includes water usage. So 1 March SP bill - 1st Jan to 31st Jan electricity - 1st Feb to 28th Feb Water Not sure if Ohm changes the way they billed but this was my experience last year till Jan 2020.
👍 1

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

I am moving premises. What are the steps/process required?
There are no costs or fee to porting your contract to your new residences but there are a few conditions to be fulfilled. Do note the following, there will be no early termination charges and you will be allowed to port your current contract over to your new premises. 1. The new SP account holder must be the same person as the current Ohm contract 2. There must not be any gaps (i.e. sell the house and in between there are no location to port the contract to. 3. You need to open a new SP account and close the current one in order to make a port via moving house tab in our customer portal. 4. There will be an electricity account closure fee of $10 before gst chargeable by SP group 5. There must more than two months balance in your current contract or the process with be a little different When you close your current SP account, an early termination will be triggered. Once you make the moving house switch via our customer portal, the fee will be withheld. Once the contract has automatically port over to your new address, the fee will automatically be waived. How does the moving process work? First, you’ll need to inform us at our Customer Care at 1800-835 6463, to put up an electricity termination request for your current premises. Do let us know at least 2 weeks in advance on your account closure date so that we can put up the electricity account closure request for you in time. SP Group requires at least 7 business days' notice to close your electricity account when you are with an electricity retailer. At the same time, you will have to open a new utilities account with SP Group for your new premises. You will be given a new SP Group utilities account number. Do note that you can close or open a SP utilities account up to one month in advance. After the electricity closure for your old premises has been confirmed, and you have obtained your new SP Group account number for your new premises, don’t forget to provide us with the details of your new premises by submitting the Moving Premises form via your Customer Portal before the electricity termination date of your current premises. If you fail to do so, we’ll proceed with the termination of your current Agreement and you may be charged an Early Termination Fee, if applicable. We’ll create a new Agreement with the details of your new premises, while keeping the terms of your previous Agreement. An email with the terms of your new Agreement will be sent to you. Will Ohm be transferring my GIRO arrangement to my new utilities account? Unfortunately, we’re unable to help you with this transfer. A new utilities account comes with a new SP Utilities Account Number. For security reasons, the bank will require a new set of written instructions for this new account to have GIRO set up. The estimated confirmation of your new GIRO setup depends on your bank and if everything is accurately filled out, it takes approximately 6-8 weeks. If the bank requires more details and time to process, the application may take longer than usual. During this period, you would need to make payments via any payment methods approved by SP Group.
👍 1

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

Do Ohm Require a Security Deposit (SD)? What happens to my security deposit when my Agreement with Ohm ends?
Does Ohm require a security deposit? Yes, your security deposit is collected and retained by SP Group on our behalf but this can be collected in two ways. If you were previously purchasing electricity from SP Group at the regulated Regulated Tariff or from a retailer that is using SP Group for billing services before you switched to Ohm, SP Group will allocate 65% of the security deposit that you have set aside with them as Ohm security deposit. So, technically, you don’t have to fork out any money, or do anything at all. The balance 35% of the security deposit will remain with SP Group for your water and gas SD. If you were purchasing from a retailer other than SP Group, or a retailer that is not using SP Group for billing services before you switched to Ohm, the initial security deposit will be equivalent to 65% of the security deposit as determined and published by SP Group for its residential premises utilities account. What happens to my security deposit when my Agreement with Ohm ends? If you were previously purchasing electricity from SP Group or from a retailer that is using SP Group for billing services before switching to Ohm, we will, unfortunately, not be able to refund your security deposit to you. It will remain with SP Group to settle future payment obligations for your other utilities. If you were previously purchasing electricity from a retailer other than SP Group or a retailer that is not using SP Group for billing services before your switch to Ohm, your security deposit less any deductions will be returned to you after you have paid all outstanding bills and satisfied any other obligations, if applicable. To make things easier for you, we may use your security deposit to settle your final bill.
👍 0

Best Electricity

Keppel Electric

DBS Electricity

Diamond Electric

Ohm Energy

Senoko Energy

Geneco

Tuas Power

Electricity Retailers

SeedlyTV S1E08

Which electricity retailer are you using now and why?
Randy Chai
Randy Chai
Level 5. Genius
Updated on 25 Jun 2019
Hi there! If you've been following our community you would probably find that we've already covered the cheapest electricity retailer and the terms & conditions you should consider when it comes to choosing the ideal retailer. If you've yet to do so, do click on the respective links and read for your own good :) A couple of considerations beyond prices and promotions would be, services, usability and how environmentally friendly theses retailers are. So which electricity retailers are actually environmentally friendly? ! Carbon Neutral Electricity Retailers iSwitch - All of iSwitch's electricity plans are 100% green. They have this iSwitch2Green Carbon Credit Offset scheme that is applicable for both businesses and residential households. These carbon credits are issued with the aim of reducing the equivalent emission of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Households can use these credits to offset their use of electricity to become carbon neutral, helping you do your part for the environment! Do note that iSwitch has six electricity plans to choose from, 3 Fixed Price Plans and 3 Discount-Off-Tariff (DOT) Plan. Source: https://iswitch.com.sg/green-electricity-iswitch-online-price-plans/ Geneco - Geneco has a plan (Get It Green Plan) that produces zero carbon footprint for a one-year period. However, do note that all users can purchase carbon credits with Geneco at an additional cost of S$0.005 per kWh, which will be reflected on your monthly bill. Which represents that If your household consumes 500 kWh per month, and you have signed up with us for a 24-month fixed rate plan at S$0.1620 per kWh, your electricity bill would be S$81 per month. If you choose to purchase the carbon credits to offset your electricity consumption at a cost of S$0.005 per kWh, you would only be paying an additional S$2.50 per month. Which is not too steep of a price to pay to reduce your carbon footprint! Do note that Geneco has a total of seven electricity plans to choose from, 4 Fixed Price Plans, 1 Discount-Off-Tariff (DOT) Plan and 2 Non-Standard Fixed Price Plan. Source: https://www.geneco.sg/reduce-carbon-footprint/ Sembcorp Power - All Semcorp Power's regular plans provide carbon offset 50 kWh of electricity per month. P.S. For every successful contract sign-up with Sembcorp Power, they claim to pledge $5 to selected charities to offset their electricity bills. Wow! Solar Energy Plans/Retailers Geneco - 100% clean solar energy plan (Get Sunny) for 18 months. However, do note that your contract will be renewed under a standard 24 months Fixed Plan. View fact sheet here Sembcorp - Unique non-standard solar energy price plan (Sunshine Plan) that provides you with green energy from 7am to 7pm only and regular energy after this period. Do note that the prices vary as well. You will pay 21.40c/kWh from 7am to 7pm and 18.65c/kWh after. View fact sheet here Sunseap has three Fixed-Price Plans and three Discount off Tariff Plans that you can choose from which runs on 1%, 50% and 100% solar energy respectively View source: https://www.sunseap.com/residential/electricity-plans/ P.S. You can also check out and compare reviews of all 12 electricity retailers here: https://seedly.sg/reviews/electricity-market I hope this will help!
Answer image preview
👍 6

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

How do I transfer from another retailer? What is the process? How much notice should I give?
Ohm Energy
Ohm Energy, Representative at Ohm Energy Pte Ltd
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 01 Apr 2020
In order for you to transfer from one retailer to another retailer, you would need to make sure that your contract is not going to incur an early termination fee (Check with your existing retailer about this. Ask them about any notice period) For a new retailer to transfer you, the new retailer have to initiate this process. If you are transferring to Ohm and because our systems are all automated, once you application is completed online - it takes at least 5 business days to transfer your contract over to us. We are unable to advise for other retailer as these are solely based on their requirements or their operational process to do so. In our experience, it may sometimes take 1 - 2 months. Once the transfer request is successful, we will send you an email notification stating your final supply date. For Ohm, during the last month of your contract, there will not be any early termination fees. We also are not able to advise on behalf of other retailers. From what we have experienced before. It has to be exactly the next day after your supply end date so do check and refer back to them when necessary. Lastly, no retailer should liase directly to another retailer as information may potentially be passed around. You would need to work directly with the respective retailers to keep your own personal information safe and security.
👍 0

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

Why is there an auto-renewal clause for Ohm Energy?
Ohm Energy
Ohm Energy, Representative at Ohm Energy Pte Ltd
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 24 Mar 2020
Auto renewal clause All of our contract price plans have an auto renewal clause when you originally sign up with us. However, one month before your contract expiry, we will send you a reminder email. After receiving the renewal reminder, If you wish to continue with the same Price Plan and contract duration, simply do nothing and we will automatically renew your Agreement. The contract will be auto renewed on the same plan with the prevailing rate(rate of same price plan at point of renewal). The reason why we have to autorenew you is because at any point in time, you need to have a retailer billing your electricity account. Our renewal contracts are extremely flexible. One month before your contract expiry and the first 30 days after renewing your contract, you can still choose to change a price plan, switch back to SP Group or to another supplier if you choose to do so without incurring a fee. However do take note that your new supplier may take up to a month to transfer you over. When you sign up online or manually renew your contract, do take note of the terms and conditions of the contract on your factsheet, early termination fees, renewal rates and duration. All these are built in to the sign-up or manual renewal process for you to agree and acknowledge. As our philosophy at Ohm is to be fair and tranparent to all our customers so the details are not in fine prints but mentioned explicitly during the sign up process. As required by regulation, standard price plans and non-standard price plans includes the key information required. The contract factsheet has detailed information such as: - Prices - Supply start date - Supply end date - Contract duration - Contract type - Late payment fees - Early Termination fees - Account closure fees - Security Deposit It is not compulsory for you to switch to a private electricity supplier so do go through these information to decide if any particular price plan work well for you. If the terms are acceptable to you, then the contract factsheet binds the terms that is applicable to you over the contractual period. Any deviation would then incur fees while you are in a contract unless it is an exceptional situation such as but not limited to: - Deceased accounts - Expatriate account - Special arrangements In such cases, we require official documentation for us to proceed your application timely. Do let us know of your situation so that we can work together to enhance your customer experience.
👍 0

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

Why is there an early termination fee if I break my contract in advance with Ohm Energy?
Ohm Energy
Ohm Energy, Representative at Ohm Energy Pte Ltd
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 24 Mar 2020
We cannot emphasize enough on the reason why we have early termination penalty on our contract plans. For every contract that our customers sign up with us, we have to purchase electricity futures for to hedge against the fluctuating wholesale electricity prices. For contracts that are terminated early, there are costs incurred to unwind the electricity futures contract. This is why there is an early termination fee clause in our contract-term plans. This is also the reason why do you not need to have generation plant in order to supply electricity to households. By having generation, that does not guarantee that your electricity price remains low. In Singapore, all generation has to be supplied and plugged to the grid. The grid is managed by SP Powerassets hence your electricity supply remains the same. By regulation, it is also not possible any retailer to buy directly from generation. All retailers buy direct from the wholesale market (USEP) from Energy Market Company (EMC). For more details, you can find the half-hourly USEP rates on www.emcsg.com
👍 0

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

What happens if I need a gap before continuing my contract? Are there any alternatives?
Ohm Energy
Ohm Energy, Representative at Ohm Energy Pte Ltd
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 23 Mar 2020
If you need to break your contract temporarily you may do so. There are a couple of alternatives. 1. We will have to charge you an early termination fee for this. Once you setup and switch your new premises over to Ohm, drop us a note and we will refund you the amount of early termination fee that we have charged you originally. 2. If you know the dates that you need to do so, you can choose to change the price plan to a no-contract price plan during your renewal period so that you are not locked into a new contract again. In order for us to offer you a Fixed price or Fixed Discount contract, there are costs involved for us to perform hedging using financial instruments for the duration of the contract. For every contract that our customers sign up with us, we have to purchase electricity futures for to hedge against the fluctuating wholesale electricity prices. For contracts that are terminated early, there are costs incurred to unwind the electricity futures contract. This is why there is an early termination fee clause in our contract-term plans and this is also stated in the Electricity Supply Agreement during the sign up process with us.
👍 0

Ohm Energy

Electricity Retailers

What is the renewal process and agreement? When can I renew my agreement?
Ohm Energy
Ohm Energy, Representative at Ohm Energy Pte Ltd
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 17 Mar 2020
When can I renew my Agreement? You should renew your Agreement one month before it’s stipulated to end. You can visit your Customer Portal to check if your Agreement is up for renewal. We’ll also send you an email to remind you when your Agreement is about to come to an end. Agreement renewals only apply to Price Plans with a fixed Supply Term, like Fixed Ohm. Can I choose a new Price Plan once my current Agreement expires? Yes, of course. Simply log into your Customer Portal, start the renewal process and choose the Price Plan you want for your new Agreement. If you have forgotten your password, you may request to for a reset via our Customer Portal. A simple guide for you on the renewal process: 1. Log-in to your Ohm Customer Portal. 2. Select "Electricity Price Tab". You will be able to see if you will be able to change a price plan. 3. Select Change my Price Plan and will be re-direct to leave the current page to our website. 4. Choose the Price Plan and the contract period. 5. Click on "Change Ohm Now" and your information will be auto populated. 6. Proceed to the required steps to Verify and Confirm. You would be on your way to a new Price Plan. 7. If you need to refresh, click on your account name at the top right hand corner to repeat the steps. Can I switch to another electricity retailer or back to SP Group after my Agreement expires? Sure. Just get in contact with us and submit a transfer request via your Customer Portal. Please note that a transfer to a retailer other than SP Group has to be initiated by your new retailer. What if there is a gap between the transfer date to my new retailer and the Supply End Date with Ohm? We’ll automatically renew your current Agreement for this intermediate period. Details of this temporary renewal will be sent to you in a separate email. This temporary renewal will not affect your transfer to your new retailer. What should I do if I want to stay with Ohm, but I forgot to renew my Agreement? Your Agreement will automatically be renewed if we do not hear from you or another retailer. We will renew your Agreement using the same Price Plan and Supply Term as your current Agreement, and at our prevailing rate. If your current Price Plan is no longer available, your Agreement will be renewed using a similar Price Plan. Your new Agreement will start the day after your current Agreement ends, and we’ll send all the details of your new Agreement to you in an email.
👍 0
Load more questions

FAQs

1. How to switch to Ohm Energy?

Simply enter your electricity usage into their online price reader, choose a Supply Start Date and a plan of your choice.

2. Will my electricity supply be cut off when I switch to Ohm Energy?

As Ohm Energy is a partner of SP Group, your electricity will not be cut off as you switch retailers.

3. Do I Need To Replace My Meter?

Meters are not required to be replaced if you decide to switch to Ohm Energy. Smart readers will be available upon request during the signup process or through their Customer Portal. There is a one time fee of $42.80 (inclusive of GST) for installation of the Smart Meter.

4. Who to contact if there is a blackout?

If your electricity lines are damaged or are experiencing a blackout you can contact SP Power Grid’s 24-Hour Electricity Service Centre at 1800-778 8888.

5. Do I need to pay a Security Deposit?

Security deposits are required with Ohm Energy.

Ohm Energy Promo Code

By sharing your referral code, you and a friend can receive $20 off your electricity bill, if your friend signs up.

Ohm Energy offers a 3-month trial for their fixed supply plans (Fixed Ohm, Ohm Discount). If you’re unsatisfied with their plans within that 3-month period, there will be no termination charge, as long as Ohm Energy is informed in advance.

No-contract plans can be terminated anytime with no termination fees.

Contact Ohm Energy

Email: [email protected].

Ohm Energy’s Customer Care Line: 1800-835-6463

For more information, you can visit Ohm Energy’s FAQ page.