Ohm Energy Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

Ohm Energy

  • Overview
  • Reviews (313)
  • Questions (0)
  • More Details
4.9
313 reviews
Visit Site
claimed

Claimed

This product is managed by Ohm Energy.

USER RATINGS

Customer Support

4.9

Ease of signup

5.0

Online Portal

4.9
Use our comparison tool to choose the best plan for you
Go

Plans (7)

Slide 1 of 7
  • Fixed Ohm 6m

    Fixed rate of 17.90c/kWh

    PLAN TYPE

    17.90

    RATE

    6m

    CONTRACT

    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

  • Fixed Ohm 12m

    Fixed rate of 18.99/kwh

    PLAN TYPE

    18.99

    RATE

    12m

    CONTRACT

    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with exclusive promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

  • Fixed Ohm 24m

    Fixed rate of 19.30/kwh

    PLAN TYPE

    19.30

    RATE

    24m

    CONTRACT

    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

  • Simply Ohm (No lock in)

    Non Standard

    PLAN TYPE

    NA

    RATE

    No Contract

    CONTRACT

    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

  • Market Ohm

    Non Standard

    PLAN TYPE

    NA

    RATE

    No Contract

    CONTRACT

    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

  • Ohm Discount 6m

    22.0% off regulated tariff

    PLAN TYPE

    17.89

    RATE

    6m

    CONTRACT

    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

  • Ohm Discount 12m

    22.0% off regulated tariff

    PLAN TYPE

    17.89

    RATE

    12m

    CONTRACT

    [EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

Fixed Ohm 6m

Fixed rate of 17.90c/kWh

PLAN TYPE

17.90

RATE

6m

CONTRACT

[EXCLUSIVE] One-time $25 off bill with promo code 'OHMSEEDLY25'.

Details

Ohm Energy Review 2021

Ohm Energy is an electricity retailer, founded in 2015, which aims to offer power at a low cost through simple subscription plans.

They've also partnered with SP Group — the OG power provider in Singapore — to deliver the same, reliable power supply and bundled bill payment options. This way, everything is pretty straightforward. You'll continue to enjoy the same power and service that you're used to, at a fair(er) price and without any unnecessary complications.

If you enjoy your experience with Ohm Energy, you can even refer a friend and you'll both get to save on your electricity bill! Just share your referral code with a friend, and get them to use your code when they sign up as a new user with Ohm Energy. This way both of you will get $20 off your electricity bill. Free money, leh... why not right?

Read More about Ohm Energy
Reviews (313)

4.9

313 Reviews

  • 5
    286
  • 4
    25
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    1
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
    Updated on 09 Dec 2020

    Purchased

    Simply Ohm (No lock in)

    Received an email with my login details. I received the email in December, but the link was only valid until 20th of November. I had to request a new password which the first time also did not work. I hope the SP Group will bill me correctly. Signup was also annoying, First- and Lastname were switched (I used myInfo) and the site gave some crashes. Online portal did not show the current status of my application.

    1

    Ohm

    Ohm

    profile

    4w ago

    Dear Mr Gucci, Thank you for your review and also for taking time to review us. Please do write to us at [email protected] so that we can assist you with your issues. It takes 5 business days to transfer your contract from SP Group to Ohm.
    Post
    Updated on 30 Nov 2020

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 6m

    Great service and good plans. Felt assured that replies are detailed and help is rendered when required. Glad to have chosen a good retailer

    1

    Ohm

    Ohm

    profile

    30 Nov 2020

    Dear Ryan, Thank you for taking time to review us. Welcome to Ohm.
    Post
    Updated on 30 Nov 2020

    Purchased

    Simply Ohm (No lock in)

    Easy transfer and sign up. I have signed up for almost a year and no hiccups with the electricity provided. Friendly customer service when I needed help with my giro sign up :)

    1

    Ohm

    Ohm

    profile

    30 Nov 2020

    Hi Ling Ling, Thanky ou for taking time to review us. We hope you will enjoy your stay with us!
    Post
    Updated on 27 Nov 2020

    Purchased

    Simply Ohm (No lock in)

    Reponses to queries is fast and accurate. The details are also in all replies. For my consumption, a no contract price plan fits in well.

    1

    Ohm

    Ohm

    profile

    27 Nov 2020

    HI Andrea, Thank you for taking time to sign up with us. Welcome to Ohm!
    Post
    Updated on 24 Nov 2020

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 12m

    Really like the response time and service level rendered. Turnaround is exceptional and able to help me with my enquiries. Signup is easy and via online. Same consolidated bill, convenient and no need to make separate payment arrangements

    2

    Ohm

    Ohm

    profile

    25 Nov 2020

    Dear Brea, Thank you for taking time to review us. Welcome to Ohm!
    Emily Ng

    Emily Ng

    25 Nov 2020

    Hi, I would like to sign up too, can you share your referral code to me?
    Post
Questions (0)
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrendingEditoral

No Question Found.

Should I Switch to Ohm Energy?

If you're considering switching to Ohm Energy, here are some benefits of switching:

  • Simple, no-frills plans which are affordable
  • Flexibility to choose the duration of your plan (6, 12 or 24 months) so you can even try them out for a while to see how it goes
  • Various pricing options to choose from: fixed rate, discount off regulated tariff, wholesale, and a no-contract option with a variable rate
  • Partnered with SP Group, so the way you receive your bills, make bill payments and your current power arrangements are pretty much the same — albeit at lower rates with Ohm Energy. Basically, you don't have to pay a security deposit and you pay your bills exactly the same way as you've always been doing.

Ohm Energy's Electricity Plans Comparison

Ohm Energy has 4 different types of electricity plans to choose from.

The Fixed Ohm (fixed price structure) and Ohm Discount (discount off regulated tariff) are the standard electricity plans which you can find with the other electricity retailers.

Simply Ohm is a no-contract plan which charges a rate that fluctuates from time to time and comes with a small monthly fee.

The Market Ohm is a no-contract option which charges wholesale rates. It also comes with a small monthly fee and third-party charges.

Ohm Electricity Plan

Cost per kWh

Duration

Fixed Ohm
  • 6 months - 16.85 ¢/ kWh
  • 12 months - 18.49 ¢/ kWh
  • 24 months - 18.73 ¢/ kWh

6, 12 or 24 months

Ohm Discount
  • 6 months - 22%
  • 12 months - 22%

6 or 12 months

Simply Ohm

From 17.34 ¢/ kWh + $10.70 monthly fee
Rates will be adjusted from time to time, based on market supply & demand

No contract

Market Ohm

Wholesale rate + $10.70 monthly fee + third-party charges

No contract

Need help choosing electricity providers? Compare Singapore's Best Electricity Retailers with Seedly's Open Electricity Market Comparison Tool

Ohm Energy Review: What Should I Look Out For?

Besides the different types of electricity plans to choose from, there are some charges and fees that you might want to take note of.

Wholesale Rates

With the Market Ohm plan, you'll be paying wholesale rates (aka Uniform Singapore Energy Price) which promises to be even lower than any fixed rate or DORT plans offered.

However, it's kinda hard to get a sense of what the actual rates are because SP Group doesn't publish them readily anywhere.

You could request for a report from SP, but it takes a while for that report to be generated and sent to you.

Oh, and by the way, the rates fluctuate every 30 minutes so good luck trying to figure out when is the best time to buy electricity...

Third Party Charges

If you choose to go with the Market Ohm (wholesale rates) plan, you'll have to deal with a little something called Third Party Charges. These are charges which cover the costs of Ohm Energy operating and delivering electricity to you.

FYI: these rates are regulated and approved by the Energy Market Authority, so it's not something which Ohm Energy decided to anyhow charge you.

Here's an overview of some of the Third Party Charges you'll have to take note of:

  • Transmission charge (peak): 5.68 ¢/ kWh
  • Transmission charge (off-peak): 4.27 ¢/ kWh
  • Meter reading and data management: $2.33 per meter
  • EMC and PSO fees: variable
  • Allocated Regulation Price: variable

All of these Third Party Charges are paid to either SP Group or EMC.

Monthly Fee

If you went with Simply Ohm or Market Ohm, you'll have to pay a monthly fee ($10.70) which changes from time to time.

Early Termination Fee

For contract plans like Fixed Ohm and Ohm Discount, an early termination will incur a fee of $42.80 (inclusive of GST).

Non contract plans are not subjected to this.

Smart Meter Installation Fee

If you want to get an accurate meter reading, you could get a Smart Meter installed for a one-time fee of $42.80 (inclusive of GST). The Smart Meter measures electricity consumption every half-hourly for a more accurate daily reading.

Ohm Energy FAQs

1. How to switch to Ohm Energy?

Simply enter your electricity usage into their online price reader, choose a Supply Start Date and a plan of your choice.

2. Will my electricity supply be cut off when I switch to Ohm Energy?

As Ohm Energy is a partner of SP Group, your electricity will not be cut off as you switch retailers.

3. Do I Need To Replace My Meter?

Meters are not required to be replaced if you decide to switch to Ohm Energy. Smart readers will be available upon request during the signup process or through their Customer Portal. There is a one time fee of $42.80 (inclusive of GST) for installation of the Smart Meter.

4. Who to contact if there is a blackout?

If your electricity lines are damaged or are experiencing a blackout you can contact SP Power Grid’s 24-Hour Electricity Service Centre at 1800-778 8888.

5. Do I need to pay a Security Deposit?

Security deposits are required BUT they are collected and retained by SP Group on Ohm Energy's behalf.

6. How will I get my bill?

Ohm will bill you monthly for the electricity you’ve used during the last billing period. Your electricity charges will appear on the utilities bill you get from SP Group.

SP Group acts as the billing agent for Ohm. This means that all your utility charges are consolidated into one bill – making life much simpler for you.

Contact Ohm Energy

  • Email: [email protected]
  • Ohm Energy’s Customer Care Line: 1800-835-6463
  • For more information, you can visit Ohm Energy’s FAQ page

Still unsure? Compare Open Electricity Market Providers with Seedly's OEM Comparison Tool!