Ohm Energy Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
 

Ohm Energy

  • Overview
  • Reviews (255)
  • Questions (8)
  • More Details

Plans (7)

Slide 1 of 7

Details

About Ohm Energy

Ohm Energy is an electricity retailer founded in 2015 to offer low-cost, competitive energy prices in Singapore as part of the Open Energy Market (OEM) initiative by the Energy Market Authority (EMA).

Other than providing low cost and simplicity in plans, Ohm Energy is also Carbon Neutral. This means that as an alternative electricity retailer, Ohm takes extra steps to reduce their carbon footprint by recycling whenever they can and choosing to support initiatives that are carbon neutral to fulfil their business requirements.

Read More about Ohm Energy
Reviews (255)

4.9

255 Reviews

  • 5
    230
  • 4
    24
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

customer service

fuss free

switch ohm

sign ohm

hassle free

free sign

sign easy

fixed rate

hidden cost

month trial

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated 2w ago

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 24m

    From switching, to account set-up , to billing and termination ---- it was a smooth and seamless experience for us. Response time to our queries was a matter of hours rather than days (when compared to other service providers including telcos). Thanks !
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated 2w ago

    Purchased

    Ohm Discount 6m

    It is easy to sign up and pay. Payment is based on my existing giro with SP Group. No changes and just enjoy the discount. On average, it is $25 monthly
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 24 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 24m

    very easy to port over. just fill up a form and they will process for you. the plus point is that the bill is integrated with the SP bill, so there is no need for another bill.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 24 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    Fixed Ohm 24m

    Easy to sign up and set up my account in minutes. Cheaper than SP power and provide various plans to suit different needs.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 09 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    Ohm Discount 6m

    The best retailer that I've chosen - fuss free, prompt and impeccable customer service. It has helped me to save really a lot with my electrical bill and the referral amount helped to offset quite a fair bit too!
    0 comments
    0
Questions (8)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Electricity Market

Ohm Energy

Yes, I will wish to find out how different retailers determine the percentage of discount to give to consumers. This is especially because there are different variations despite being in a similar range. Maybe. The regulated tariff is dependent on the prevailing electricity tariff which may move up or down each quarter. If the prevailing tariff goes down, it is likely that the regulated tariff will be lower as well. The same goes when the prevailing tariff is up. The rest of the explanation can be found here: https://www.blog.pzl.sg/open-electricity-market-in-singapore/ Here is everything about me and what I do best.

Ohm Energy

Geneco

Keppel Electric

Best Electricity

Electricity Market

Senoko Energy

Huang Shuxian
Huang Shuxian
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 08 Jul 2019
It is easy to indentify, under the fact sheet there is a column stating ->Direct Billing . If it states yes then it will be seperate billing and if it states no then SP will bill you instead .

Ohm Energy

iSwitch

Geneco

Keppel Electric

SeedlyTV EP08

Money FM 89.3 Show

Yixiong Chang
Yixiong Chang
Level 7. Grand Master
Updated on 06 Aug 2019
Imagine they are our different telco. M1, Starhub, Singtel etc. Or our Banks (DBS, UOB, OCBC, Standchart etc) offering mortgage loan. There are offering the same thing, but just different pricing terms. In short, the plans can be summarised into 2 main type. One is fixed price (imagine fixed interest rate loan), and another is variable (imagine floating rate interest based on sibor). The variable will be usually a discount( x %) off the regulated tarrif (sibor) rate that the rest of singaporeans are paying now. For actual plan comparision, see the official site. https://compare.openelectricitymarket.sg/#/home

Ohm Energy

Electricity Market

Ohm Energy
Ohm Energy, Representative at Ohm Energy Pte Ltd
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered 2w ago
Hi there! A Carbon Tax is a charge levied on greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, with the ultimate aim of reducing the volume of emissions produced. The Singapore Carbon Pricing Act of 2018 is a regulation that will come into effect in 2019, requiring certain business activities that generate Carbon Dioxide equivalent GHGs of more than 25,000 tonnes to be liable for a Carbon Tax. Electricity Generation facilities will in all likelihood be liable for the Carbon Tax. This will be a cost that will be factored and passed through into the wholesale price of electricity also known as the Uniform Singapore Energy Price (USEP). Consumers will not be directly liable for any additional carbon taxes on their electricity consumption. Ohm is not directly liable for any Carbon Taxes and does not include the Carbon Tax as a separate line item in our charges. By regulation, retailers are not to pass on carbon tax to residential households. On a side note, there are confusion around what is the carbon offset (CO2) on Ohm's website. Carbon Credits are different from Carbon Taxes. Carbon offset is 100% optional and voluntary. If you would like to go green, you can choose that option - The CO2 credits used in Ohm’s voluntary CO2 Offset Add-on are UN certified and represent one ton of carbon production (or equivalent GHG) decreased through a UN certified project. It costs approximately $0.0054 per kWh inclusive of GST as at today. Let us know if you have any questions. You can write to us at [email protected] or via our Facebook messenger. We will be happy to assist. #TeamOhm

Ohm Energy

Ohm Energy
Ohm Energy, Representative at Ohm Energy Pte Ltd
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered 2w ago
Hi Johnny, Fixed Ohm is similar to a fixed priced contract - This also means that you will be in a contract. Fixed rate means that the price per kWh remains the same throughout the contract period. The revision of the Regulated Tariff will not affect your rate when you are within the contract period. However most household consumption varies so take that monthly consumption multiply by the rate. That gives you your monthly electricity bill. (Consumption in kWh $X) For Market Ohm - Essentially we pass on the energy component and all third party charges to you without any markup. Market Ohm is a no contract price plan so we charge a small monthly fee for the flexibility of the contract. (Market Ohm is Wholesale Market Energy prices + all third party charges + monthly fee) Wholesale rates is also known as the Uniform Singapore Energy Prices (USEP), this is calculated every half-hourly and you can find our more about this at www.emcsg.com 3rd party charges consists of Transmission Licensee's Charges, Market Operating charges and Market Support Service Charges. We do offer a price-cap Option as going on wholesale prices means that you are subjected to price hike. This monthly cap that we offer is optional and can be added to your Market Ohm Price Plan. For less than a cent per kWh, you will never pay more for your electricity than you would have paid on regulated tariff (Energy component only) Let us know if you have more questions. You can reach out to us via our customer care email at [email protected] or via our facebook messenger. #TeamOhm

Ohm Energy

Pei Ying Chua
Pei Ying Chua
Level 2. Rookie
Updated on 09 Sep 2019
Just apply on their website ohm.sg Takes less than 10 min

Electricity Market

Ohm Energy

Promo Codes

Shiyi Jyn
Shiyi Jyn
Level 3. Wonderkid
Updated on 09 Aug 2019
Good choice! Here’s mine: OHMREF5AC2EE 😊

Electricity Market

Best Electricity

Keppel Electric

DBS Electricity

Diamond Electric

Ohm Energy

Senoko Energy

Geneco

SeedlyTV EP08

Tuas Power

Randy Chai
Randy Chai
Level 5. Genius
Updated on 25 Jun 2019
Hi there! If you've been following our community you would probably find that we've already covered the cheapest electricity retailer and the terms & conditions you should consider when it comes to choosing the ideal retailer. If you've yet to do so, do click on the respective links and read for your own good :) A couple of considerations beyond prices and promotions would be, services, usability and how environmentally friendly theses retailers are. So which electricity retailers are actually environmentally friendly? ! Carbon Neutral Electricity Retailers iSwitch - All of iSwitch's electricity plans are 100% green. They have this iSwitch2Green Carbon Credit Offset scheme that is applicable for both businesses and residential households. These carbon credits are issued with the aim of reducing the equivalent emission of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Households can use these credits to offset their use of electricity to become carbon neutral, helping you do your part for the environment! Do note that iSwitch has six electricity plans to choose from, 3 Fixed Price Plans and 3 Discount-Off-Tariff (DOT) Plan. Source: https://iswitch.com.sg/green-electricity-iswitch-online-price-plans/ Geneco - Geneco has a plan (Get It Green Plan) that produces zero carbon footprint for a one-year period. However, do note that all users can purchase carbon credits with Geneco at an additional cost of S$0.005 per kWh, which will be reflected on your monthly bill. Which represents that If your household consumes 500 kWh per month, and you have signed up with us for a 24-month fixed rate plan at S$0.1620 per kWh, your electricity bill would be S$81 per month. If you choose to purchase the carbon credits to offset your electricity consumption at a cost of S$0.005 per kWh, you would only be paying an additional S$2.50 per month. Which is not too steep of a price to pay to reduce your carbon footprint! Do note that Geneco has a total of seven electricity plans to choose from, 4 Fixed Price Plans, 1 Discount-Off-Tariff (DOT) Plan and 2 Non-Standard Fixed Price Plan. Source: https://www.geneco.sg/reduce-carbon-footprint/ Sembcorp Power - All Semcorp Power's regular plans provide carbon offset 50 kWh of electricity per month. P.S. For every successful contract sign-up with Sembcorp Power, they claim to pledge $5 to selected charities to offset their electricity bills. Wow! Solar Energy Plans/Retailers Geneco - 100% clean solar energy plan (Get Sunny) for 18 months. However, do note that your contract will be renewed under a standard 24 months Fixed Plan. View fact sheet here Sembcorp - Unique non-standard solar energy price plan (Sunshine Plan) that provides you with green energy from 7am to 7pm only and regular energy after this period. Do note that the prices vary as well. You will pay 21.40c/kWh from 7am to 7pm and 18.65c/kWh after. View fact sheet here Sunseap has three Fixed-Price Plans and three Discount off Tariff Plans that you can choose from which runs on 1%, 50% and 100% solar energy respectively View source: https://www.sunseap.com/residential/electricity-plans/ P.S. You can also check out and compare reviews of all 12 electricity retailers here: https://seedly.sg/reviews/electricity-market I hope this will help!
Answer image preview

FAQs

1. How to switch to Ohm Energy?

Simply enter your electricity usage into their online price reader, choose a Supply Start Date and a plan of your choice.

2. Will my electricity supply be cut off when I switch to Ohm Energy?

As Ohm Energy is a partner of SP Group, your electricity will not be cut off as you switch retailers.

3. Do I Need To Replace My Meter?

Meters are not required to be replaced if you decide to switch to Ohm Energy. Smart readers will be available upon request during the signup process or through their Customer Portal. There is a one time fee of $42.80 (inclusive of GST) for installation of the Smart Meter.

4. Who to contact if there is a blackout?

If your electricity lines are damaged or are experiencing a blackout you can contact SP Power Grid’s 24-Hour Electricity Service Centre at 1800-778 8888.

5. Do I need to pay a Security Deposit?

Security deposits are required with Ohm Energy.

Ohm Energy Promo Code

By sharing your referral code, you and a friend can receive $20 off your electricity bill, if your friend signs up.

Ohm Energy offers a 3-month trial for their fixed supply plans (Fixed Ohm, Ohm Discount). If you’re unsatisfied with their plans within that 3-month period, there will be no termination charge, as long as Ohm Energy is informed in advance.

No-contract plans can be terminated anytime with no termination fees.

Contact Ohm Energy

Email: [email protected].

Ohm Energy’s Customer Care Line: 1800-835-6463

For more information, you can visit Ohm Energy’s FAQ page.