facebookYouTrip Card

YouTrip Card

  • Key Features
  • Reviews (1126)
  • Discussions (0)
  • More Details
YouTrip Card Logo
4.5
1126 reviews
claimed
Claimed

This product is managed by YouTrip.

Summary

YouTrip Card Review 2024

YouTrip is Singapore's first multi-currency travel wallet with a linked Mastercard. It allows travelers to pay in over 150 currencies worldwide with no transaction fees! And you get to store up to 10 currencies in your YouTrip wallet, allowing you to cop the best currency rates anytime before your intended trip.

Product Page Transparency

  • Claimed in October 2020

Card Features & Details

1) Currency Exchange

  • No. of supported currencies: 10 in-app currencies (SGD, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, HKD, AUD, NZD, CHF, SEK)
  • Currency exchange rate: Whole Exchange Rates 

2) Fees & Charges

  • Card issuance fee: S$0
  • Card replacement fee: S$10
  • Currency conversion fee: 0%
  • Overseas transaction fees: 0%
  • Overseas withdrawal fee: S$5 flat per withdrawal
  • Card top-up fee:
    - Credit/Debit Card: S$0
    - Visa Credit Cards: 1.5% service fee
    - PayNow: S$0

3) Card Type:

  • Card payment type: Mastercard
  • No. of currencies: Transact cashless in more than 150 currencies

4) Card Top-Up Methods

  • Cards supported: Mastercard or Visa credit/debit card up to a wallet limit of S$5,000
  • Others: PayNow

5) Other Features 

  • Remittance: Not supported
...see more

Popular Products

Crypto.com Visa Card

4.8

304 Reviews

Revolut Card

4.2

350 Reviews

Wirex Card

4.6

204 Reviews

GrabPay Card

3.7

66 Reviews

Summary

YouTrip Card Review 2024

YouTrip is Singapore's first multi-currency travel wallet with a linked Mastercard. It allows travelers to pay in over 150 currencies worldwide with no transaction fees! And you get to store up to 10 currencies in your YouTrip wallet, allowing you to cop the best currency rates anytime before your intended trip.

Product Page Transparency

  • Claimed in October 2020

Card Features & Details

1) Currency Exchange

  • No. of supported currencies: 10 in-app currencies (SGD, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, HKD, AUD, NZD, CHF, SEK)
  • Currency exchange rate: Whole Exchange Rates 

2) Fees & Charges

  • Card issuance fee: S$0
  • Card replacement fee: S$10
  • Currency conversion fee: 0%
  • Overseas transaction fees: 0%
  • Overseas withdrawal fee: S$5 flat per withdrawal
  • Card top-up fee:
    - Credit/Debit Card: S$0
    - Visa Credit Cards: 1.5% service fee
    - PayNow: S$0

3) Card Type:

  • Card payment type: Mastercard
  • No. of currencies: Transact cashless in more than 150 currencies

4) Card Top-Up Methods

  • Cards supported: Mastercard or Visa credit/debit card up to a wallet limit of S$5,000
  • Others: PayNow

5) Other Features 

  • Remittance: Not supported
...see more

YouTrip

Mastercard
TYPE
Free
CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES
N/A
MONTHLY FEES
$5/transaction
OVERSEAS ATM WITHDRAWAL FEES
150+
SUPPORTED FIAT CURRENCIES

YouTrip

Mastercard

TYPE

Free

CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES

N/A

MONTHLY FEES

$5/transaction

OVERSEAS ATM WITHDRAWAL FEES

150+

SUPPORTED FIAT CURRENCIES

Reviews (1126)

4.5

1126 Reviews

5
885
4
121
3
41
2
11
1
68

Service Rating

Application Process

4.7

User Experience

4.5

Customer Support

4.4

      Posted 15d ago

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      Thought I found a good deal on TikTok but it turned out to be a scam. Fortunate that YouTrip swiftly intercepted the transactions and reached out to me without delay. Thank you for the rapid response and security.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 21d ago

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      Have been getting very good JPY rates with Youtrip through the notifications when the yen rate went down. The roadshow people are also very helpful in answering my questions when I set up my account. Hope to see more features in the app. Keep up the good work.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 23d ago

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      I encountered some suspected fraudulent transactions on my trip overseas and contacted Youtrip immediately. They managed to block my account and assisted me with my issue and advised me to lock my card when not in use. I felt more reassured after and will definitely be more careful using my card in the future. Thanks Youtrip team!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 24 Jan 2024

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      Super fuss free . Suitable for anyone of any age . Great outreach and marketing team. Just need to have more stored currency

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 09 Jan 2024

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      Have tried Youtrip on my past trips to Malaysia, Japan, Taiwan and many more! Hassle-free and saves me the trouble of bringing cash around.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 04 Jan 2024

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      The card is easy to use. The exchange rate is great and it also allow us to withdraw cash from local ATMs. I've tried withdrawing at Thailand and it works perfectly!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 22 Dec 2023

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      [Features] Useful product, simple to use. Just top up and tap it like your usual debit card. Great for travelling especially

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 21 Nov 2023

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      [Features] Received the card quite quickly, just in time for my year end trip. Easy to set up to Apply Pay and top up. Manage to get good JPY rates. Recommended my friends as well.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 19 Nov 2023

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      I signed up for YouTrip for my trip to the US. I like how it is super easy to top up money into your account, and convert the currency in the app. The use of the YouTrip card in my US trip was smooth. No issues there. I'll be travelling to Malaysia and Turkey soon so I look forward to using YouTrip there.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 03 Nov 2023

      Purchased

      YouTrip

      Finally got my youtrip card and it is a breeze to set up and use. Linked it straight to apple pay before I went on my trip and it work as intended. Going to use it again in Japan during dec.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

    Discussions (0)

      No Posts Found.

      Popular Products

      Crypto.com Visa Card

      4.8

      304 Reviews

      Revolut Card

      4.2

      350 Reviews

      Wirex Card

      4.6

      204 Reviews

      GrabPay Card

      3.7

      66 Reviews

      How Does YouTrip Work?

      • Top up your YouTrip wallet on your mobile phone with any SGD credit or debit card for up to S$3,000.
      • Monitor and exchange currencies at your preferred rateas at any time. An alternative would be to utilise YouTrip’s SmartExchange technology, which allows automation in the exchange of current rates as you spend overseas.
      • Enjoy no transaction fees when used for cashless payments in-store and online worldwide.

      YouTrip Review 2021: All You Need To Know About the YouTrip Card & its 0% Transaction Fee

      YouTrip Multi Currency Account Wallet Reviews

      The YouTrip card launched in August 2018 by EZ-Link, You Technologies and Mastercard. This supposedly magical card enables users to pay in more than 150 currencies without currency conversion or transaction fees.

      Since I have some travel plans coming up, I decided to give this MCA a shot and applied for it. To my surprise, the card arrived within the same week.

      Set-up was pretty simple:

      1. Sign up online
      2. Card will be delivered to you
      3. Download the app
      4. Register and activate your card
      5. Link bank account to YouTrip account
      6. Top up your card
      7. Use for online/overseas purchases/bus & train fares

      Payments and In-App Exchange

      YouTrip prides themselves as enabling users to

      • make purchases using your YouTrip card in 150 currencies worldwide
      • no fees no markups at highly competitive wholesale exchange rates.

      The card basically replaces your trip to the money changer with the in-app currency exchange for 10 currencies which lets you store and lock down a good rate for currencies SGD, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, HKD, AUD, NZD, CHF, and SEK.

      For a list of the best money changers (both online and offline), you’re gonna want to read this guide here.

      Apart from USD and AUD, the rates seem to be more favourable via the YouTrip card.

      Is the YouTrip card a credit card?

      No, the YouTrip card works like a prepaid card. This is great as it

      • helps you keep to a travel budget
      • is a safer choice for travel in case of lost or stolen card incidents
      • locks in up to 10 different currencies any time via the YouTrip in-app currency exchange function.

      Benefits of using the YouTrip card:

      • Free sign up, no card fees and no minimum account balance to keep (as at 1 Dec 18)
      • Works like a MasterCard worldwide i.e. make purchases overseas and in SG
      • Spend in overseas local currency from the wallet at no extra cost (similar to UOB/DBS)
      • Spend SGD overseas with 0% transaction fee. This is good because:
        – MasterCard usually charges a 1% fee for Singapore cards
        – Banks usually charge an additional fee on top of this
        – YouTrip claims to use ‘wholesale exchange rate’, but so does every other bank when making foreign purchases
        – MasterCard Cirrus/Maestro rates are usually better than that of Plus! Visa
      • Top up via debit/credit card
      • If there is insufficient local currency in your account, the system will deduct the shortfall from other currencies in your wallet in this order: SGD, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, HKD, AUD, NZD, CHF, SEK

      For example: If you are travelling to Hong Kong (HKD) for holidays next year and the HKD is now low compared to the Singapore dollar, you can store HKD in the wallet for use later.

      An accompanying app on your phone also lets you monitor exchange rates and transactions on the go.

      This is a cashless alternative to going to the money changer and keeping cash at home.

      Some drawbacks of using YouTrip:

      • ATM withdrawal fee (overseas local currency from any ATM): S$5 (declared upfront)
        – DBS and UOB have regional partners that do not charge a fee
      • The minimum top-up amount is SGD$20 and maximum storage limit is SGD$3,000.
      • Daily spending limit of S$6000
      • Inactivity after 12 months (a reminder is sent at 9 months): $5 fee
      • Even with foreign currencies in account wallet, you may be subject to Dynamic Currency Conversion(DCC) by foreign merchants/retailers
      • One-way wallet. Can only empty it by using it up fully at a merchant.
      • Unable to get money back even with termination of card, so deplete remaining money before terminating
      • To avoid “losing” money, pay for your bus and MRT train rides in Singapore with whatever remaining money in the account
      • No termination fee imposed, but user will not be able to sign up for YouTrip again after termination

      What other options are there in the field of MCAs?

      Multi-currency accounts (MCA): UOB MightyFX, DBS MCA, Revolut
      No txn fee ATM cards: CIMB ATM card, Revolut ATM card (coming soon!)

      Verdict:

      Full disclosure, I feel like I have not yet fully exploited the benefits of the YouTrip, but it does look promising so far. YouTrip’s main page is pretty open and states their terms in black and white, which is important to convince people to park their funds in the wallet.

      This YouTrip card is great for frequent travellers, people who love a life-hacking app, and people who believe in carrying no cash but just a card on the go.

      Despite the inability to withdraw your money from the MCA, I like the idea that you can simply deplete the money in the account by paying for train or bus rides.

      Can't decide between Revolut or Youtrip? Read our comparison here: Youtrip vs Revolut - Multi-Currency Cards Comparison

      About YouTrip

      YouTrip is Singapore’s first multi-currency mobile wallet which comes in the form of a prepaid Mastercard. Specially designed for travellers to pay overseas with no fees in over 150 currencies, YouTrip’s app allows you to exchange and store up to 10 currencies in-app so you can conveniently lock-down competitive rates before your trip.

      Contact YouTrip

      • Contact number: +65 6904 9334
      • Address: 80 Robinsons Road, #02-00, Singapore 068898

      Contact us at [email protected] should you require any assistance or spot any inaccuracies.