OCBC FRANK Credit Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
Ā 

OCBC FRANK Credit Card

  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Questions (6)
  • More Details
Credit Cards/OCBC FRANK Credit Card

OCBC FRANK Card

6% on Online Spend
CASHBACK
$60
CASHBACK CAP
$300 on offline purchases
MINIMUM SPEND

    OCBC FRANK Card

    6% on Online Spend
    CASHBACK
    $60
    CASHBACK CAP
    $300 on offline purchases
    MINIMUM SPEND

Details

Highlights of OCBC Frank Card

  • 6% online cash rebates (shopping, travel bookings, movie tickets, Grab rides, etc.)
  • Up top 5% entertainment cash rebates (cinemas, KTV, clubs, selected cafes including Starbucks and Coffee Bean)
  • $60 in monthly rebates with minimum $400 in-store spend (excludes EZ-Link top-ups and Transit Link-related transactions)
  • 0.3% cash rebates on everything else

Read More about OCBC FRANK Credit Card
Reviews (25)

3.2

25 Reviews

  • 5
    2
  • 4
    5
  • 3
    14
  • 2
    3
  • 1
    1

Read Review About...

ocbc frank

credit card

frank card

card design

spend 400

card student

400 store

online purchases

rebates card

frank credit

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 04 Feb 2020

    Purchased

    OCBC FRANK Card

    [Cashback Card] Firstly, the cashback rate of this card stands at 6% for all online purchases including Grab. It also offers a cashback rate of up to 5% on entertainment purchases such as purchases from Starbucks. The rebates are capped at a maximum of $60. Do note however that you need to spend at least $400 in-store in order to be eligible for the cashback i.e. you need to spend a min. of $400 in-stores (meaning paying with your card physically present) in addition to your online spending. As a cashback card, I would say you could consider getting it if most of your spending is done online, and your in-store spend can easily reach $400 if you do groceries and eat out on a weekly basis. [Useful For...] I got this card when I was a student and chose it as opposed to the OCBC 365 card as my expenses don't typically exceed $800 (which is the minimum spend for the OCBC 365 credit card). Additionally, as I wanted to earn a higher interest rate on my OCBC 360 savings account, I opted for this card as well. So, it's a useful card if you spend most of your money on online purchases (especially if you ride around town on GRAB or live on Starbucks), and if your monthly expenses don't exceed $800.
    0 comments
    1
  • Posted on 24 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC FRANK Card

    Using this card for a long time, decent rebates and cash back. there are better card out there i believe
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 20 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC FRANK Card

    I have applied and use this Frank Credit Card for more than 5 years, though the rebates, cashbacks and perks have changed through these years, this card is still the best among other credit cards for modern lifestyle usage. [Useful For...] 6% online shopping rebate - this is the best of the best rebate. Nowadays, most of my purchases are from online, from groceries to apparel to electronics. My favourite online malls such as Qoo10, Lazada, Amazon, Zalora, Fairprice Online are all applicable for 6% cashback! 5% from Friday to Sunday, and 3% during the rest of the week for Entertainment & Cafe. Although I do not go to KTV or clubs, but I do go to cafes such as Starbucks and The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf weekly! Just topup the Starbucks card using the Frank Card for 6% cashback and earns Starbucks points for purchasing! [Cashback Card] Do note that do not spend more than S$1400 on this card as the rebates/cashback are capped at S$60 per month! [Promotions and Perks] Frank Card tied up with several online merchants which grant extra rebates such as as Zalora (15% off) , Lazada (12.1% off) and Expedia ($15 off) which I uses often! Do note that the total $60 cashback monthly capped still applies! [Hidden Terms] A minimum spend of S$400 on in-store transactions on the FRANK Credit Card is required to qualify for additional cash rebates on online purchases and entertainment. This S$400 excludes online transactions. A minimum spend of S$400 is quite a low amount and easy to hit the target, as compared to other bank's credit cards that need a minimum spend of at least S$600-800. I could easily spend at supermarket, restaurants and petrol. [Fee Waivers] Frank Credit Card has similar terms as with other OCBC credit cards. In order to waive of the annual fees, I will need a minimum spend of at least S$10,000 in one year. That is quite ridiculous and considerable amount! The other banks do not have such terms and gladly to waive off the credit card annual fees if you uses their card. Some banks even offered no credit card annual fee for life! [Card Hacks] Shh....there is still a hack to waive off the annual fee without the need of a minimum spend of at least S$10,000 in one year. Just have multiple products across OCBC Group, such as Savings Account, Term Deposits, Easi-Credit account, Home Loans, Unit Trust Account, Securities Account and GE Insurance. I have 5 different OCBC credit cards and their annual fees are all automatically waived annually! [Bill Payment] I paid through my OCBC Savings account or ibanking, so no worries of late payment.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 20 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC FRANK Card

    Owned this card since I was a student, and would recommend especially for the younger folks. Promotions and perks are be quite appealing at times, so do keep a lookout for them when available!
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 20 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC FRANK Card

    I have been using OCBC Frank credit card for many years. Initially I used it to earn higher interest for my 360 account. After the initial few years, the spending interest was dropped from 1% to only 0.3%. As such now I switch my main credit card to UOB One Card. I am still keeping and using the OCBC Frank credit card though as the $500 spending criteria is more relax than the other banks !
    0 comments
    0
Questions (6)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

OCBC Best Denki Credit Card

OCBC

OCBC FRANK Credit Card

OCBC 365 Credit Card

OCBC 360 Account

Rebates

OCBC Titanium Rewards Card

Payments

Savings

Credit Cards

Kathlyn Laiu
Kathlyn Laiu, Community Associate at Seedly
Level 6. Master
Answered 3w ago
The STACK rewards programme is a multi platform loyalty platform that brings all your rewards points together on a single platofrm so you can track and exchange points. STACK allows you to combine points from multiple rewards systems. STACK has a feature called STACK marketplace where you get to access a catalogue of deals and rewards listed. As long as you are a member of at least 2 of the participating members, you can use STACK. Partners of OCBC are: Robinsons, Millennium Hotels and Resorts, UPGREAT, AsiaMalls
šŸ‘ 2

Investments

Blue Chips

OCBC FRANK Credit Card

Stocks Discussion

Bjorn Ng
Bjorn Ng
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 16 Dec 2019
Before you even invest, you are already losing 5%/month. By the end of 1 year, you would have lost 60/1000 = 6% nett, which is not feasible considering that STI ETF gives about 3% pa and REITs (the safer ones per say) gives about 4-5% pa. You are literally losing $ every single year. 2 options, is of course to invest more every month, or you can take a look at POSB InvestSaver. If I am not wrong, the sales fee is only 0.82% for POSB. That is way more feasible even at $100/month investment. You can read more about it here: https://www.posb.com.sg/personal/investments/other-investments/invest-saver
šŸ‘ 7

Savings

POSB

OCBC FRANK Credit Card

Savings Accounts

Junus Eu
Junus Eu
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Updated on 27 Sep 2019
Having that initiative to take that step is already a good start! But moving on: 1. YES! Definitely get that savings account that gives you higher interest with salary crediting. 2. Since you are just starting and have 0 savings, maybe not the best time to do the minimum spend game if you need to spend extra to spend that minimum spend to hit the higher interest tier. Now on to 3: 3. Start looking up the various investment options - get educated and look to build up your emergency fund, then investment capital. Bank accounts can only get you so far, but yes, it's on the tail end of the risk-reward spectrum. 4. Of course, another way to increase savings is to increase income. As you are just starting, learn as much as you can and grow as an individual.
šŸ‘ 4

OCBC FRANK Credit Card

OCBC 360 Account

Savings Accounts

Kenneth Lou
Kenneth Lou, Co-founder at Seedly
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 13 Sep 2019
Definitely OCBC 360! On the bank side, they are focusing on the interest tiers to be on this account. FRANK was more for a student or undergraduate segment. The war is always between OCBC360 vs DBS Multiplier vs UOB ONE which caters towards the working adult segment.
šŸ‘ 2

OCBC

OCBC FRANK Credit Card

Savings Accounts

Jay Liu
Jay Liu, Diploma in Accountancy at KHEA
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 19 Sep 2018
Cimb fastsaver need a min 1k in the account for the 1% interest btw. Since you might have accumulated a sum of money in the SAYE, why not put it in SSB or FD if you have sufficient enough for placements?
šŸ‘ 1

OCBC

CIMB

OCBC FRANK Credit Card

CIMB FastSaver Account

OCBC 360 Account

Savings Accounts

Tan YB
Tan YB
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 10 Jun 2018
If there is salary going in, suggest ocbc 360. And to use cimb only if you reach the ocbc $70k limit for bonus interest / if you don't Wana put more than $50k in one bank. Can use ocbc 360 for monthly bills as well to earn higher bonus interest
šŸ‘ 1

The OCBC Frank Card

The OCBC Frank Card is an option worth considering if you're looking at student credit cards in Singapore. We take a closer look at the pros and cons of this popular card.

New to credit cards?Ā Here's your complete guide to cashback credit cards.

Eligibility for OCBC Frank Card

To be eligible for the Citi SMRT card, you'll have to meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • For Singaporeans and PRs:Ā Minimum annual income of $30,000
  • For foreigners:Ā Minimum annual income of $45,000

Fees and Charges for OCBC Frank Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $80 (waived for first two years)
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: $40
  • Annual Fee Waiver: To enjoy a two-year waiver on annual fees, spend a minimum of $10,000 in one year (starting from the month your card was issued)
  • Interest-Free Period: 23 days
  • Annual Interest Rate: 26.88%
  • Minimum Monthly Payment: 3% or $50, whichever is higher
  • Late Payment Charge: $100
  • Cash Advance Fee: 6% or $15, whichever is greater
  • Lost/Stolen Card Liability: $100
  • Card Replacement Fee: Waived for up to two replacements within the first 12-month period. A $30 card replacement fee applies from the third card onwards.

Key Features and Benefits of OCBC Frank Card

These are some highlights of the OCBC Frank Card and the cashback benefits to offer.

OCBC Frank Card Benefits

What You'll Get

Online Shopping

  • Reebonz: 6.6% cashback
  • PUMA: 6.6% cashback
  • Sephora: 6.6% cashback
  • iHerb: 5.5% cashback
  • Under Armour: 6.6% cashback
  • Lazada: 12.1% cashback
  • Zalora: 15% off

Public Transport

Grab: 6% cashback

Food

  • Deliveroo: $4 off first three orders for new customers

Entertainment

  • 3% to 5% rebate at selected cafes and all cinemas, bars, nightclubs and discotheques in Singapore.
  • Qualifying cafes for the rebate include Starbucks, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, The Connoisseur Concerto (tcc), Dimbulah Coffee and O'Coffee Club - as well as all cinemas and in Singapore
  • Weekday rebates (Mon through Thurs, 11:59pm): 3%
  • Weekend rebates (Fri to Sun, 11:59pm): 5%

Travel

  • Expedia: 6% or $15 off, whichever is greater

Other Details

  • Additional 0.3% rebate on all retail transactions, online shopping and entertainment spend at bars, KTVs, clubs and cafes
  • To qualify for the additional 0.3% rebate, a minimum spend of $400 (excludes online transactions) is required. Monthly rebates are capped at $60 per calendar month.
  • All retail transactions made with the card physically present will be counted.

OCBC Frank Card Benefits

OCBC Frank Card Promotions

  • Earn 10% cashback (capped at $50) with minimum $500 charged to card in non-SGD currencies.
  • To register for the promotion, SMS FRANKFX <space> Last 6 digits of your FRANK Credit Card to 76062 during the promotional period.

OCBC Contact Info

  • OCBC 24-hour hotline: 1800 363 3333 (SG); +65 363 3333 (overseas)

Terms and Conditions of OCBC Frank Card

  • Transactions not eligible for cash rebate include: prepaid accounts and payment service providers (e.g. EZ-Link), charitable/religious organisation donations, cleaning, maintenance and janitorial services, real estate agents and bank fees. For the full list and specific conditions, please refer to Frank by OCBCā€™s T&Cs.
  • To be eligible for cash rebates, cardmembers must spend a minimum of $400 worth of Visa offline transactions on the card in a calendar month.
  • Monthly cash rebates are capped at $60.
  • The bank determines the eligibility of cash rebates per customer by identifying online transactions and their categories with the help of Visa. These are not decided by the bank but rather the merchants and their acquiring banks. If your merchant classifies themselves under a category that fall in our list of excluded transactions, it will not be eligible for online rebates. All other retail transactions processed as an online transaction will be eligible for 6% cash rebates.

About OCBC

The Overseas-Chinese Banking Corporation, Limited - or OCBC Bank - is headquartered in Singapore. Its inception in 1932 was the result of a merger of three local banks. As the second-largest bank in Southeast Asia, the multinational banking and financial services has assets of close to $468 billion. It has an Aa1 rating from Moody's, and an AA-rating from Standard & Poor's.

At present, the bank has over 570 branches across 18 countries and regions. Its services range from commercial banking and specialist financial and wealth management to asset management, stockbroking, insurance and treasury services.

Still unsure?Ā Find out everything you need about credit cardsĀ - including whatĀ the best credit cards in SingaporeĀ are for miles and cashback, factors to consider before getting one, fees to know, and why a good credit score matters.

You can also pose questions (anonymously, if you'd prefer) on theĀ Seedly Q&A platform.