OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
 

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

  • Overview
  • Reviews (13)
  • Questions (7)
  • More Details
Credit Cards/OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

OCBC 90°N Credit Card

1.2 mpd
LOCAL SPEND
4 mpd
FOREIGN SPEND
Up to 8 mpd on Accomodation and Flight
SELECTED SPEND

    OCBC 90°N Credit Card

    1.2 mpd
    LOCAL SPEND
    4 mpd
    FOREIGN SPEND
    Up to 8 mpd on Accomodation and Flight
    SELECTED SPEND

Details

Highlights of OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

  • For every S$1 spend on accommodation = 8 miles
  • For every S$1 spend on flight booking = 4 miles
  • For every S$1 spend on shopping and entertainment = 4 miles
  • Miles will not expire
  • Mastercard Airport Experiences

Find out about the card's host of benefits, charges, promotions and eligibility criteria below.

Read More about OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card
Reviews (13)

4.2

13 Reviews

  • 5
    4
  • 4
    7
  • 3
    2
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

card miles

feb 2020

spend miles

till feb

miles dollar

customer service

foreign currency

miles promotion

promotions perks

1000 miles

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Posted on 21 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC 90°N Credit Card

    4mpd for overseas spend, no miles conversion cost. Also, there is promotional 8mpd for certain hotel booking site. Very fast approval from myinfo as well
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 20 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC 90°N Credit Card

    [Customer Service] Applied for 90N using My info. Approval was received within the hour, and a digital card was e-mailed within the day. The card arrived in my mailbox in about a week. However, OCBC has been inconsistent in tracking Expedia transactions for me, despite people having followed the TNCs. CSOs can only be contacted through the phone (a somewhat long wait - up to 15 min) or through the secured inbox (an even longer wait - in days). [Miles Card] This is OCBC's first mass market general spending miles card. 1.2 miles/$ for local spend and 2.1 miles/$ for FCY spend with no miles expiry. This is comparable to other bank's general spending cards like Citibank/DBS. Unfortunately, the only transfer partner that OCBC has is SQ, but this is unlikely to be a big issue for beginner miles collectors. 90N also lacks priority pass visits, which is a feature in a number of general spending cards. Thankfully, there is no transfer fee (typically $25) to transfer points to SQ. Furthermore, OCBC only requires 1000 miles to transfer to SQ (typically 10000 miles). [Promotions and Perks] New to bank (no OCBC card in last 6 months) - $50 cash rebate in month 2 and 7000 miles for $5000 (within first three months). This adds 1.4 miles/$ to your first $5000 of spending. [Useful For...] Most importantly, 90N is giving off 4 miles/$ on FCY transactions till 29 Feb next year. With no minimum spend and no payment processor location restrictions, it is currently the best of its breed. 4 miles/$ is also being offered for Netflix, Spotify, SIA, AirAsia, Jetstar, and Scoot. An unusual feature is 8 miles/$ on Airbnb transactions, which is uncommon too.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 20 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC 90°N Credit Card

    OCBC 90n card is a great card for overseas spend especially when it has a current promotion for 4 miles per dollar spend till 29 Feb 2020. It will be great if it is a permanent feature of the card.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 17 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC 90°N Credit Card

    [Promotions and Perks] This was introduced to me by the bank through a phone call. For the initial launch stage, they're giving away 7k (I can't remember the exact number because it's quite low and really doesn't warrant trying to put in big spending to get it) miles if you spend 5k in the first 3 months you get the card. The reason why I'm using this card is because: 1. Generous miles rate for Airbnb and certain travel expenditure at 8 miles per dollar spent (until 29 Feb 2020). I happen to need to book my travel accommodation so why not? 2. No fees for conversion of miles, low hurdle of min 1000 miles for redemption- I'm not a miles collector but thought I can try my hands on collecting miles since there's no fees to convert and they don't expire 3. Stack rewards - OCBC has this stack rewards platform that is new, and I can aggregate my rewards across the OCBC cards Application was seamless for me coz they just sent the card to my house and I didn't need to apply. I love the paywave function (but many cards have it now anw). [Card Hacks] 1. Don't use this with Dash, because Dash's MCC code is 6300 (insurance) so you won't get rewards for it. Grab top ups seems to still work last I checked (which was a few weeks ago) 2. Would say this is useful for travel related expenses for now, but I would convert my miles out within the first year because of previous experience w OCBC, who refused to waive the annual fee and I had to cancel the card instead.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 16 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    OCBC 90°N Credit Card

    Sign Up: Received this card via phone call from OCBC who immediately approved basis verbal confirmation and mailed the card within 4-5 days. Activation: Via SMS Fees: First year fee waiver, $192.60/year moving forward - there is a miles reward for paying the annual fee. Fee waiver can be requested via the IVR/online Purpose: Miles card similar to Citi Premier Miles/DBS Altitude/AMEX Krisflyer etc promising 1.2 miles/dollar spend. Earned in the form of Travel$ and 1 Travel$ = 1 mile. Miles do not expire. Transfer: No fees for transferring to Krisflyer. Min Blocks for transfer = 1000 Travel$ Promotional Period till 29 Feb 2020: Foreign currency spends S$1 = 4 miles on foreign currency spend S$1 = 2.1 miles (after promo) Customer Service: I have generally had positive experiences with OCBC customer service and found agents t o be helpful. However, recently there seems to be constant high volumes when calling in. Would love a chat option but not currently available.
    0 comments
    0
Questions (7)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Credit Card

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

Grab

Miles

MileLion

For OCBC 90°N card, you earn Travel$ for every dollar spent. Thereafter, you can use it to redeem for miles at 1 mile per Travel$ or to convert it to cashback at 1.2%. You may check the list of exclusions in the terms: https://www.ocbc.com/assets/pdf/cards/ocbc-90degree-n-card-programme.pdf Here is everything about me and what I do best.

MileLion

Miles

Credit Card

Cashback

SG Budget Babe

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

Citi PremierMiles Visa Card

Citi Cash Back Visa Card

If I have a bank account with a requirement to spend on credit card for bonus interest, I would use that first to meet minimum spend. After that, no specific card comes to mind, so just use a general spending card, regardless of cashback or miles. For cashback, try to use one with low requirements for the cashback criteria, and if you max out the cashback cap on that, then use a cashback card with unlimited cashback. For miles, (I may be wrong), one used to be able to pick up IKEA gift cards and use a card with 4mpd on online shopping to earn. Not quite sure if this is still possible though. Then use the IKEA gift cards to pay off your purchases. If this isn't possible, then it's back to a general spending card. However, is there a reason why you are frequently going to IKEA? Furniture is build to last years, unless you are going there to eat at their cafe?

MileLion

Credit Card

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

Wallace Chai
Wallace Chai
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Dec)

Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 12 Dec 2019
Great card! If you going to get it, make sure dont miss out the promotion period where you can get 4miles for every dollar spend in overseas until 29 feb 2020. Good to use for travelling during coming CNY overseas trip i think. Then spending on travel booking hotel website like agoda and expedia via OCBC link will give you 8miles per dollar spend with no cap! Booking for flight ticket SQ, SCoot, Silkair, aisasia also can give you 4miles per dollar spend before 29 feb 2020. What's more? Miles never expire so you can earn them for as long as you like. Drawback is no lounge benefits.

Miles

Citi PremierMiles Visa Card

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

MileLion

Bjorn Ng
Bjorn Ng
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Dec)

Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered 4w ago
Well, to keep it plain and simple, OCBC 90N has some promotion now that last till Feb 2020, so that would be my number 1. Next would be DBS Altitude as their promotions are quite good, and last would be Citipremier for the general spend.

Credit Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

Citi PremierMiles Visa Card

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

Hi anon, I find that Citi PM tends to have promotions that run only for existing cardholders, so you might want to hold on to the card. Also, Citi Miles has the largest range of transfer partners and hence are more valuable in my opinion. For Altitude and 90, they tend to be offering better deals for new-to-bank customers. Edit: PM and Altitude both have lounge access, while 90 does not, but has smaller conversion blocks when transferring miles. Altitude also has 3mpd on online airfare and I think hotels too. PM has good hotel promos (7/10mpd) with Agoda/Expedia/Kaligo, but you need to do your maths to see if it is worth it. Use this as a guideline as to decide which card would serve you best. The rest of the perks of the various cards won't make or break the deal for me.

Credit Card

OCBC

Miles

Shopping

Lifestyle

MileLion

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 28 Aug 2019
Yes, it is worth it in my opinion. Let's put it into cents to make it simpler. You are willing to pay 1.8 cents to buy a mile. The 90°N allows you to buy a mile at 0.75 cents. In this case, it is less than your limit so, why not? You can refer to the articles below for reference: 1) https://milelion.com/2019/08/28/2019-edition-best-cards-for-overseas-spending/ 2) https://mainlymiles.com/2019/08/26/credit-card-review-ocbc-90n-mastercard/ (go straight to the comments. much better explanation)

OCBC

Miles

Credit Card

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

It's pretty decent for overseas spend, at least till the end of the promotion period. After which, I would revert to BOC Elite Miles card if I am able to generate sufficient spending to redeem my miles regularly. If not, you can consider holding on if you would prefer to earn miles that do not expire. For local spending, on par with other entry levels $30K cards (CitiPM, DBS Altitude), but no lounge access. On the other hand, 1000 miles transfer blocks and no transfer fee will make this a good card to top up your miles balance in small increments.

The OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

New to credit cards? Here's your complete guide to cashback credit cards.

Eligibility for OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

To be eligible for the OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card, you'll have to meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • For Singaporeans and PRs: Minimum annual income of $30,000
  • For foreigners: Minimum annual income of $45,000

Fees and Charges for OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $192.60 (First year waived, second year you get 10,000 miles when you pay the annual fees)
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: $96.30 (First year waived)
  • Interest-Free Period: 23 days
  • Annual Interest Rate: 26.88%
  • Minimum monthly payment: 3% or $50, whichever is higher
  • Late payment charge: $100
  • Cash advance fee: 6% or $15, whichever is higher
  • Interest on Cash Advance: 28.92% per annum (minimum charge of S$2.50)
  • Lost / Stolen Card Liability: S$100

Key Features and Benefits of OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

These are some highlights of the OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card and the cashback benefits to offer.

Benefits of OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

What You'll Get

Accomodation

Earn 8 miles on your accommodation:

  • Agoda
  • AirBnb
  • Expedia
  • Millenium
  • Smith

Flight

Earn 4 miles on your flight booking:

  • SilkAir
  • Singapore Airlines
  • Air Asia
  • Jetstar
  • Scoot

Shopping and Entertainment

Earn 4 miles on shopping and entertainment:

  • Spotify
  • Netflix
  • Duty Free Store

Miles

Every S$1 = Travel$

Every 1 Travel$ = 1 Mile

Mastercard Airport Expereinces

LoungeKey:

enjoy offers for spas, retail stores and dining. You can excess these through the Mastercard Airport Experiences mobile app

OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card - Benefits

Travel$

  • S$1 = 4 miles on foreign currency (till 29 February 2020)
  • S$1 = 2.1 miles on foreign currency (from 1 March 2020)
  • S$1 = 1.2 miles on local spend
  • Cashback of 1.2% from your earned Travel$
  • Miles will not expire

Terms and Conditions of OCBC 90 Degrees N Credit Card

  • Local spend is defined as transactions in Singapore dollars and overseas spend is defined as transactions in foreign currency
  • There is no cap on the amount of Travel$ you can earn each month
  • Travel$ will be credited to your account as soon as the transactions are posted
  • Travel$ is used to redeem miles, rebates and other rewards
  • Travel$ can only be converted to KrisFlyer miles
  • Travel$ to KrisFlyer miles is at the rate of 1:1 with no conversion fees
  • You can enjoy airport lounges through the Mastercard Airport Experience App

About OCBC

The Overseas-Chinese Banking Corporation, Limited - or OCBC Bank - is headquartered in Singapore. Its inception in 1932 was the result of a merger of three local banks. As the second-largest bank in Southeast Asia, the multinational banking and financial services has assets of close to $468 billion. It has an Aa1 rating from Moody's, and an AA-rating from Standard & Poor's.

At present, the bank has over 570 branches across 18 countries and regions. Its services range from commercial banking and specialist financial and wealth management to asset management, stockbroking, insurance and treasury services.

Still unsure? Find out everything you need about credit cards - including what the best credit cards in Singapore are for miles and cashback, factors to consider before getting one, fees to know, and why a good credit score matters.

You can also pose questions (anonymously, if you'd prefer) on the Seedly Q&A platform.