DBS Live Fresh Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
DBS Live Fresh Card
2.8
19 reviews
Read more reviews of credit cards
Reviews (19)
2.8
Reviews (19)
2.8
  • 5
    2
  • 4
    5
  • 3
    4
  • 2
    4
  • 1
    4

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
  • I am not getting accurate cashback amount. On alternate months I only receive very little, like $0.19 or $0.34 for my Visa Paywave/ Online expenses when I definitely hit a few hundreds per category. When I do receive the monthly cashback it's usually maxed out at $20 for each category. I spend about $1000 every month on this card, so there's definitely an error there. Will send an email to DBS team and will update here again later.
    1 comment
    1
    Pat
    Pat

    2w ago

    Would love for an update about whether you managed to fix the errors!
  • Updated on 13 Jun 2019
    History: Used to use this as the clubbing card, then get lessor use. It used to be the grey traditional card face that you see here on the top left, more than 6 months ago it tries to copy OCBC Frank CC to modernize the looks and tries to be the lifestyle card for party goers. Only Cons: 1) Min $600 spend and It used to be 10% cash back, now only 5% cashback on Online Shopping & Visa payWave purchases (Apple Pay, Samsung Pay and Google Pay) .. BAD! 2) With effect from 1 June 2018, the monthly cashback earned on DBS Live Fresh Card will be capped at S$20 on eligible Online spend, S$20 on eligible Visa payWave spend and S$20 on all other spend. Question is , how many of your transaction can be onn apple / samsung / visa paywave other than retails ! => Hence render it useless if you compare to BOC Family card.
    2 comments
    3
    Tee-Ming Chew
    Tee-Ming Chew

    21 May 2018

    Thanks for the mentioning the terms after 1 June 2018! Didn't know this was coming! Might need to rethink my credit card strategy now!
    HC Tang
    HC Tang

    21 May 2018

    Oh.. you're most welcome. I've also applied wanting to use it for big items, then realize this change of CB T&C, haiz.. now kinda render it useless liao .. have to find other cards with higher cash back for big items. For CC Strategy, this review platform will be a good honest review since it is all from user own experience. Be sure to read up the fine prints T&C no matter how nice the promo / website says so. Hope you get the best few cards or one best card too :)
  • Updated on 10 Jan 2019
    My first credit card I signed. The cashback was great and the min spend for higher cashback is reasonable. Slight turn off when they revised the cash back condition by setting limit to each category. However, still a credit card to use to hit the spending category for DBS multiplier.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 10 Jul 2018
    I don't spend very much so it's hard for me to meet the minimum spend to maximise my cashback on this card. But it's currently the best card for me since I'm using the DBS Multiplier account and I get extra interest when I spend on DBS credit cards. Quite a useful card to use especially when you are about to go on holiday > book Airbnb / Agoda + Flights , make payment online, usually you'll hit the minimum $600 to maximise your cashback.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 10 Jul 2018
    Love the cashback from this card. However, ever since they have amended their t&c, obtaining the full cashback is much more difficult.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 16 Jun 2018
    Sign-up promo of 10% cashback is good. However, one downside is that it have to hit the minimum spends of 600 dollars, which is quite high.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 28 May 2018
    The 5+5 % cashback, accompanied by $50 sign up promo enticed me to sign this card up. As a young working adult, the minimum spend is a bit high and limiting as it only works for contactless payment and online. Nevertheless, the 10% is still enticing. But may stop using it as theyjust changed the terms and condition from 1st June onwards
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 27 May 2018
    When I first applied for this card, it was initially a points card where I could use the rewards points to redeem cheap thrills like movie tickets and restaurant vouchers. And it used to have a very long waiver period (think it was three or five years). It was changed to a cashback card around a year or two ago. As I could never match the spending requirement of $600, its cashback was only sufficient to cover my card charges (because i exceeded the waiver period). The waiver period got much shorter (1 year only). Its visa debit is a better alternative for paywave. Possible benefits? It's fuss-free to apply. DBS is likely to waive your annual credit charges if you are a current user of DBS services. Otherwise, there is better option out there. I have cancelled this card to apply for other DBS credit card.
    0 comments
    0
Questions (10)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending

Credit Card

DBS Multiplier

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

POSB Everyday Card

DBS Live Fresh Card

Fresh Graduates

Yong Kah Hwee
Yong Kah Hwee
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Feb)

Level 6. Master
Answered 4w ago
Most cashback cards require you have had minimum spending before you can get the cashback. As for the DBS Altitude, if you don't think you can hit that amount, then don't force yourself to. There's no need to take advantage of the promotion; the card benefits are good enough (in my opinion at least).

Credit Card

Bank Account

DBS

DBS Multiplier

DBS Live Fresh Card

POSB Everyday Card

Hi there, if you are opening a DBS multiplier account, you really should pair it with a credit card to earn the bonus interest. Between those two cards, it doesn't matter too much, but be aware that the cash backs are subjected to various limits and criteria, and the annual fee is also payable (although you should be able to waive it). An alternative is to consider a miles card like DBS Altitude where you can earn miles on your first dollar with no restriction and save them up for aspirational travel. Annual fee payment on a miles card will also earn you additional miles.

Credit Card

DBS Live Fresh Card

Pat
Pat

()

Level 4. Prodigy
Updated on 01 Jul 2019
If you top up your grabpay wallet, it doesn’t count. If you pay for grab rides using your live fresh card, it counts.

Credit Card

DBS Live Fresh Card

Cheryl Teng Sze Hui
Cheryl Teng Sze Hui

()

Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 25 Jun 2019
Same! I think the breakdown is so not clear, especially for my VISA contactless expenses.

SCB Unlimited Cashback Card

DBS Altitude Visa Signature Card

HSBC Revolution Card

DBS Live Fresh Card

Credit Card

Shopping

Dominic Chang
Dominic Chang

()

Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 07 Jun 2018
Depends. You can look into BOC Family card. 10% on Dining, 5% on online shopping. However minimum spend is $700 so you will be putting everything onto your card expense.

YouTrip

DBS Live Fresh Card

Credit Card

Yes it does. See: https://www.dbs.com.sg/iwov-resources/media/pdf/cards/dbs-lf-acqui-offer-q4-2018-tnc.pdf it's not in the list of exclusions then it's quite safe. You'll get also 10% cash back. Youtrip only good for travel to pay for items / trips / stuff overseas.

DBS Live Fresh Card

YouTrip

Lifestyle

Credit Card

Bang Hong
Bang Hong

()

Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 18 Nov 2018
Please read the t&cs, any prepaid card topup are not eligible. Example ez link card, flashpay, youtrip.

DBS Live Fresh Card

Citibank SMRT EZ-LINK Card

Bank Account

Credit Card

Lok Yang Teng
Lok Yang Teng
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Jan)

Level 6. Master
Updated on 04 Nov 2018
Citibank SMRT Card - Up to 5% savings on Groceries. 2.7% + 2% (for transactions above $50) + 0.3% (if monthly card spend is at least $300) - Up to 5% savings on Fast Food, Movies & Coffee. 4.7% + 0.3% (if monthly card spend is at least $300) - Up to 3% savings on Online Shopping. 2.7% + 0.3% (if monthly card spend is at least $300) - Up to 2% EZ-Reload Auto Top-up. 0.3% + 1.7% (If top-up more than $30. If $30 or less, 0.7% awarded instead) - Savings awarded in SMRT$. SMRT$ can be redeemed for cash rebate or vouchers - 2 years fee waiver for Principal and two (2) Supplementary cards DBS Live Fresh Card - 5% cashback on online shopping and when you pay using Visa payWave, Apple Pay, Samsung Pay or Google Pay through your Card - Get 0.3% cashback on everything else with no cap on rebates - Auto EZ-Reload - 1-year annual fee waiver Not sure which DBS Visa you were referring to.

DBS Live Fresh Card

DBS Multiplier

DBS

Savings

Credit Card

Possible but not worth doing so. It's not about the $1 spending on credit card but rather salary credit is too low. Use the calculator at their website to calculate the interest you can earn: https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/landing/dbs-multiplier/ ! If you credit the full 1.5k in and spend $1 on credit card, you'll get on 0.05% interest. The better choice would be go to CIMB fastsaver hassle free 1% no conditions that earns you more interest. You can still apply the DBS live fresh and use as you wish. Check out also Seedly savings a/c calculator see which is the best choices of savings a/c for you: https://seedly.sg/tools/savings-account-calculator
Answer image preview

POSB Everyday Card

M1

DBS Live Fresh Card

DBS Multiplier

Bank Account

Credit Card

Instead of the above, I suggest you go with this hack contributed by Seedly community members, get more cash back of couple hundreds a year. See the links below: https://blog.seedly.sg/cashback-hack-interest-posb-bonus-cashback-cimb-fastsaver-dbs-multiplier/ Summary: Ops for POSB Cash back bonus saver + CIMB fast saver 1% p.a 1) Use POSB cash back bonus saver by: (a) credit your salary ini (b) spend at least $1 on any POSB / DBS credit card (c) Buy investment such as POSB Invest savers using Nikkoa AM STI ETC etc. 2) Put your savings into CIMB fast saver 1% p.a and earn easy interest Next, my personal though is that: 3) With your spending of $300-600 on groceries, food, entertainment, EZ-Link and M1 bills) - If you can spend another $100 on something to make it $700, then apply BOC family visa card and get cash back on all the category: ! => By spending on BOC family visa, you can get cash back of another $20 to $50 every month! More $$$ back for your bang!! The BOC Family card cash back details and T&C: http://pic.bankofchina.com/bocappd/singapore/201803/P020180327710875490784.pdf
Answer image preview
About DBS Live Fresh Card
Card NameDBS Live Fresh Card
Age Eligibility 21 years old and above
Cashback Rate2-5%
Monthly Cashback Cap$60 per month
Monthly Min Spend $600
Highlights Online shopping including GRAB rides

Fees and Charges for DBS Live Fresh Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $128.40
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: S$64.20 for each supplementary card.
  • Fee waiver: First year annual fee waiver
  • Interest Free Period: 20 days
  • Annual Interest Rate: At the prevailing effective interest rate of 25.90% p.a. subject to compounding; or 29.99% p.a. subject to compounding in the event that your account has three or more defaults~ and/or one default~ which remains unpaid for two or more consecutive months in the last 12 months.
  • Minimum monthly payment: The minimum payment amount due on a statement of account is 3% of the outstanding balance plus the total sum of any overdue minimum payment and late payment charges, and any amount exceeding your credit limit, or S$50. Whichever is greater.
  • Late payment charge: S$90 if the Minimum Payment specified in the Statement is not received by us by the Payment Date.
  • Cash advance fee: The fee for a cash advance is $5 or 3% of the transaction, whichever is greater

Eligibility for DBS Live Fresh Card

  • 21 years old and above
  • Income of S$30,000 and above per annum for Singaporeans and PR
    Income of S$45,000 and above per annum for foreigner

Key features of DBS Live Fresh Card

  • 5% Cashback on Online Shopping and Visa payWave purchases (Apple Pay, Samsung Pay and Google Pay)
  • 0.3% for all other spendings and expenses
  • Receive up to S$200 cashback for new customers

Terms and conditions of DBS Live Fresh Card

Cashback will not be awarded for the following:

  • payments made via AXS and SAM
  • payments to educational institutions
  • payments to government institutions and services (court cases, fines, bail and bonds, tax payment, postal services, parking lots and garages, intra-government purchases and any other government services not classified here)
  • payments to insurance companies (sales, underwriting and premiums)
  • payments to financial institutions (including banks and brokerages)
  • payments to non-profit organizations
  • payment or top-up of funds to payment service providers, prepaid accounts and any pre-paid accounts (e.g. EZ-Link, NETS FlashPay, Transit Link, Singtel Dash)
  • interest, finance charges, cash withdrawal, Cash Advance, balance transfer, smart card, bill payments via internet banking and all fees charged by DBS. ix. payments made via telephone or mail order
  • payments made via online banking
  • payments to hospitals, professional service providers and payment for parking lots
  • utility bill payments
  • payments made to CardUp
  • transactions related to betting (including casino levy payment, lottery tickets, casino gaming chips, offtrack betting, and wagers at race tracks)
  • transactions related to crypto currencies (effective 1 July 2018)
  • any other transactions determined by DBS from time to time.