facebookAMEX True Cashback Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly

Advertisement

Credit Cards/AMEX True Cashback Card
Credit Cards/AMEX True Cashback Card
Visit Site
claimed

Unclaimed

This product has not been claimed by the company yet.

Summary

Product Page Transparency

  • Pays to access additional features

Summary of American Express True Cashback Card Review 2022

The American Express True Cashback Card offers unlimited cash back with very little restrictions. Cash back can be earned from a wide variety of categories with no minimum spend high spenders especially can and should take advantage of the welcome bonus cash back rate of 3.0%.

Why you should apply for American Express True Cashback Card?

  • Unlimited Cashback: American Express True Cashback Card owners enjoy 1.5% Cashback on all eligible purchases with no cap and no minimum spend
  • New sign-ups can enjoy double the cashback at 3%, for their first 6 months. Limited to S$5,000
  • Enjoy Cashback across a wide category of purchases
  • Free travel insurance benefits of up to S$350,000 when you purchase your air ticket with American Express True Cashback Card
  • Earn an additional 1% cashback on Foreign Currency Purchases
  • Receive the cashback immediately in the same month's statement

Can you enjoy annual fee waiver for American Express True Cashback Card?

  • Yes, the annual fee for the American Express True Cashback Card of $171.20 (inclusive of GST) is waived for the first year

Who should apply for the American Express True Cashback Cards?

  • Big spenders that will usually hit the ceiling on most cash back credit card limits.
  • Fuss-free credit card users due to its Straight-forward, and simple cashback mechanics that does not require you to track any categories or remaining available cashback
  • Travellers who indulge indulge in overseas spending

What is the minimum income requirement for the American Express True Cashback Card?

  • Singapore/PR: Minimum Income of S$30,000
  • Non-Singaporean Minimum Income of S$60,000

Find out about the card's host of benefits, charges, promotions and eligibility criteria below.

...see more

American Express True Cashback Card

1.5% on all spend

CASHBACK

Unlimited

CASHBACK CAP

$0

MINIMUM SPEND

American Express True Cashback Card

1.5% on all spend

CASHBACK

Unlimited

CASHBACK CAP

$0

MINIMUM SPEND

Reviews (64)

4.2

64 Reviews

5
33
4
18
3
10
2
0
1
3

Service Rating

Speed of Approval

4.9

Ease of Fee Waiver

4.4

Customer Support

4.7
      Posted 06 Apr 2022

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      [Card Hacks] Use it to top up your Grab! after which, use your Grab to top up your CDC Card! [Customer Service] in-App customer service is amazing. I wrote them a question, and got a response within 5mins. [Cashback Card] Get 3% Cashback on your first $5k, which is pretty awesome frankly. Subsequently u get 1.5% for every eligible spend. I Can imagine this being my go-to card in the future.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 01 Apr 2022

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      [Fee Waivers] No fuss waivers if you use this often [Customer Service] The best customer service among all the card providers - hands down. The customer service staff are all empowered sufficiently to make decisions without the need to "let me check with my manager" as with most other providers. Easy to deal with. [Cashback Card] No fuss, straightforward cash back mechanism. Have been accurate in terms of cash back to date as well. I have another cash back card from another provider with the same cash back % but somehow, the calculations are not always correct every month, albeit by a little bit - too little to do anything about it but it makes me trust Amex more

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 22 Feb 2022

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      Good as a general (backup) spending card on almost everything that accepts AMEX. If the merchant does not accept AMEX, can be paired with GPMC to try payment via Paynow QR or Mastercard.

      2

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 31 Jan 2022

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      Amex its simple, awesome and very interesting. The promotions and bonuses that they offer to us its simply fantastic.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 10 Nov 2021

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      Fee waiver process was much quicker than expected! I used the in-app chat function and the customer support was able to provide assistance and address my request really promptly. Great card for general spending.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 27 Oct 2021

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      The Amex True Cashback Card is a super low-effort gives you 1.5% cashback on anything. In the first 6 months of card membership, you receive 3% cashback. Worth the application!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 27 Oct 2021

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      Approval was very fast and cleared within 2 weeks. Customer Service called shortly a few days after, to clarify the ongoing promotions and clear any further quesries and doubts. Also gave me card hacks like using Amex to top up Grab Wallet to hit minimum spending and for bill payments, etc) Can't comment on fee waivers as it's only my first month, but I enjoyed using the cashback card so far and only regret not applying for it earlier.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 27 Oct 2021

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      [Cashback Card] [Promotions and Perks] New users get 3% cashback for the first 6 months, which is fantastic. Also, just learn from the reviewer below that you can top up your Grab wallet with the True Cashback Card and still enjoy cashback from Amex. Can't enjoy this perk with Citi Cards. I've also received S$365 worth of Bitcoin as a sign-up bonus. You can still get this deal if you sign up for Amex Cards through Seedly by 31 Oct 2021.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 22 Oct 2021

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      3% Cashback up to a total of S$5,000 and first 6 months, after which it becomes 1.5% cashback. One small tip is to use it for GrabPay top-ups, as it counts toward your cashback (not like other credit cards), so overall this card is not bad!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 19 Oct 2021

      Purchased

      American Express True Cashback Card

      [Customer Service] Arguably one of the best customer service I have received. Upon receiving the card, I have downloaded the mobile app to activate my card and set up the mobile app account, but failed to do it over the app and was informed to call their customer service hotline instead. Managed to get hold of a customer service lady very quickly, after verifying my identity she immediately gave me a temporary password and walked me through to set up and log into my online account, before guiding me to change to my preferred password. While most customer service tends to stop at this stage after my immediate issue of setting up my mobile app account is resolved, she went through the extra mile to navigate me on some of the key functions of their mobile app. After which she also told me the different methods to pay the monthly bill and almost instantly she sent me an email on this. When I told her that I prefer to do a monthly GIRO payment instead, she told me that she will mail over the GIRO application form as the bank requires to receive the physical copy. What surprises me was that she even asked when is my preferred date to start the billing cycle and she changed the billing date for me. Really went through the extra mile as my initial objective of the call is to set up my mobile app account.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

    Discussions (0)

      No Posts Found.

      Key Features and Benefits of AMEX True Cashback Card

      With the AMEX True Cashback, easily enjoy 1.5% cashback on all eligible purchases with no cap, and no minimum spend. For overseas transactions, earn an additional 1% cashback on Foreign Currency Purchases. You can receive the cashback immediately in the same month's billing statement. New sign-ups can enjoy double the cashback at 3%, for their first 6 months, with a limit of up to S$5,000. Travelers can also get free travel insurance benefits of up to S$350,000 when you purchase your air ticket with American Express True Cashback Card

      These are some highlights of the AMEX True Cashback Card and the Cashback benefits it has to offer:

      AMEX True Cashback Card Benefits

      What You'll Get

      Cashback

      1.5% Cashbacks on all your eligible purchases

      Foreign Currency

      Additional 1% Cashback on Foreign Currency purchases

      Spending Limit

      No minimum spend and no complicated requirements

      Cashback Cap

      No Cap on Cashback and immediately get your Cashback on the same month's statement

      Entertainment

      Offers by AMEX on retail, travel, dining and entertainment partners

      American Express Selects

      Exclusive dining privileges all around the world

      Insurance

      Travel inconvenience or travel insurance coverage provided. Up to $350,000 worth of claim

      World-Class Service

      24-hour Customer Care Professional

      Global Assistance

      For International use: +65 6295 0500

      Fraud Protection

      Remove any unrecognised purchase

      Supplementary Card

      Receive S$20 CapitaVoucher each, for the first two approved Supplementary Cards

      AMEX True Cashback Card Benefit

      Eligibility for AMEX True Cashback Card

      To be eligible for the AMEX True Cashback Card, you'll have to meet the following criteria:

      • 21 years old and above
      • Supplementary card application should be 18 years old and above
      • For Singaporeans and PRs: Minimum annual income of S$30,000
      • For Foreigners: Minimum annual income of S$60,000

      Fees and Charges for AMEX True Cashback Card

      • Annual Principle Fee: $171.20, waived for the first year
      • Annual Supplementary Card fee: First 2 Supplementary Cards fee permanently waived. S$85.60 (inclusive of GST) for each subsequent Supplementary Card.
      • Fee waiver: First-year annual fee waiver
      • Interest-Free Period: 22 days
      • Annual Interest Rate: At the prevailing effective interest rate of 25.90% p.a. subject to compounding; or 29.99% p.a. subject to compounding in the event that your account has three or more defaults~ and/or one default~ which remains unpaid for two or more consecutive months in the last 12 months.
      • Minimum monthly payment: The minimum payment amount due on a statement of account is 3% of the outstanding balance plus the total sum of any overdue minimum payment and late payment charges, and any amount exceeding your credit limit, or S$50. Whichever is greater.
      • Late payment charge: S$90 if the Minimum Payment specified in the Statement is not received by us by the Payment Date.
      • Cash advance fee: The fee for a cash advance is $5 or 3% of the transaction, whichever is greater

      AMEX True Cashback Card Promotions

      • Welcome bonus of 3% Cashback if you spend S$1,000 in your first 6 months (capped at S$5,000)
      • Welcome offer of up to S$60 CapitaLand Vouchers if Cardmembers spend S$1,000 within the first 30 days (promotion valid till 30 April 2020)

      The Best Cash Back Cards Review 2020: How does AMEX True Cashback Card Compare

      Pros:

      • No minimum spend and No maximum cap on the cash back you can earn
      • As with most American Express Card, there are membership benefits on multiple lifestyle genres through Amex Dining Privileges and Amex Selects.
      • A straight-forward, and simple cashback card without the fuss of tracking how much cash back you have left in god knows which category, or how much more you require to maximise your rewards.
      • Ideal for big spenders who will usually hit the ceiling on most cash back credit card limits
      • Enjoy world-class and renowned American Express service especially when you're in need of help overseas

      Cons:

      • 1.5% cash back on all areas of spend might not be suitable for thriftier spenders
      • Also not an ideal card for those with more specialised areas of transactions like Online Shopping, Dining, etc.

      Still unsure? Find out everything you need about credit cards - including what the best credit cards in Singapore are for miles and Cashback, factors to consider before getting one, fees to know, and why a good credit score matters.

      You can also pose questions (anonymously, if you'd prefer) on Seedly Community .

      Terms and Conditions of AMEX True Cashback Card

      • As a welcome bonus, you will earn Cashback at the rate of 3% on up to a total of S$5,000 of purchases of goods and services made on your account
      • (which shall include both spending by you and your Supplementary Card Members) in the first 6 months of your American Express True Cashback Card Membership, subject to the other Cashback Terms and Conditions and any promotional offer we make
      • When the Cashback rate of 3% applies to a purchase of goods or services during the welcome bonus period, the Cashback rate of 1.5% will not be applied in addition to the Cashback rate of 3% to the same purchase
      • Purchases of goods and services in excess of S$5,000 during the welcome bonus period will earn Cashback at the standard rate of 1.5%, subject to the other Cashback Terms and Conditions and any other promotional offer we make.
      • There is no cap on cashback
      • Cashback applies regardless if you make local purchases or overseas expenditures

      How to Apply for AMEX True Cashback Card

      • Apply Online or
      • Visit American Express

      About American Express

      Since 1850, American Express (AMEX) has remained committed to providing its customers with the best products and services. Some popular credit cards include AMEX CapitaCard, AMEX Platinum Credit Card, AMEX True Cashback Card, AMEX Personal Card and AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card.

      Advertisement