AMEX True Cashback Card

AMEX True Cashback Card

3.5
(24)
Write Review
Ask Question

Ratings Breakdown (24)

3.5
  • 5
    5
  • 4
    10
  • 3
    6
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    3
Card NameAMEX True Cashback Card
Cashback Rate1.50%
Monthly Cashback CapNone
Monthly Min SpendNone
HighlightsFuss-free Unlimited cashback
More about AMEX True Cashback Card
Reviews (24)
Q&A (1)
Sort by:
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Upvote
  • Lowest to Highest
  • Highest to Lowest
  • Alvin Lim
    Alvin Lim
    4 Reviews, 4 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 10 Jan 2019
    I use this card only for the 3% Cashback for the first $5,000 spend. Otherwise, the 1.5% unlimited Cashback does not differ from the SCB Unlimited Cashback card. Makes no sense for me to hold 2 AMEX cards
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Steph Yeo
    Steph Yeo
    11 Reviews, 152 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 10 Jan 2019
    Amex recommended me to convert my Capitamall Amex to this, because i wasnt meeting their mysterious minimum spending to qualify for annual fee waiver. But all's good since 1st 5k spending in 6 months was entitled to 3% cashback instead of the usual 1.5%. Just nice for me since i was spending on wedding and house.
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Sodt Derek
    Sodt Derek
    2 Reviews, 2 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 20 Oct 2018
    The welcome gift of AMEX true cashback is (3% of the first 5k spending, for the first 6 months). This is especially good for big purchases (wedding/photoshoot,BTO home appliances). To add on, apply via Singsaver to get $150 an additional bonus cashback. For each sub cards applied, you will get $20 capitaland voucher. You can apply a maximum of 2 subs card (means $40 capitaland voucher). No spending required. Anyone has any idea if AMEX counts you as a new customer again after closing the card for a certain period of time?
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Bryan Chong
    Bryan Chong
    12 Reviews, 22 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 15 Aug 2018
    Amazing card, with Low joining fee and unlimited cash back with minimum purchase? Seriously, not to forget the “swag” level when you flash the AMEX card inftont of your peers ;) Lastly, with the addition of being able to be used on the smart phones, it makes it convenient when pumping petrol or just popping by a 7-11 for a simple drink. Cheers to Amex
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Aik Kai
    Aik Kai
    5 Reviews, 67 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 06 Aug 2018
    Used to have the card, though I cancelled it since cashback is not what I am aiming for anymore. Pros: Fuss free. 1.5% cashback with no minimum spend, which is especially cool when you have low spending for that particular month. AMEX occasionally have good promo so quite a good deal to take advantage of Cons: Not widely accepted Hard to get waiver
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Melody Yap
    Melody Yap
    2 Reviews, 3 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 10 Jul 2018
    1.5% cashback for all transactions. Most achievable flat cashback with no minimum spending. Very good rates without meeting any criteria
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Helen Loh
    Helen Loh
    3 Reviews, 4 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 10 Jul 2018
    I use this card for all my putchases for the 1.5% cashback. Best is no minimum spend & no other conditions. Simple & cashback every month. Just love it !
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Jessica Chuah
    Jessica Chuah
    5 Reviews, 15 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 10 Jul 2018
    Pros: - Product is good for the 1st 6 months when cashback % is at its highest - Customer service is the best among all financial institutions - Immediate cashback received within the month to offset monthly bills Cons: - Not all vendors accept AMEX - 1.5% cashback after 1st 6 months makes the card less attractive as compared to other cards
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Lim Zhenghong
    Lim Zhenghong
    3 Reviews, 5 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 31 May 2018
    1.5% cashback on all purchase. The pro is that there is no other condition required for the cashback. the cons is that the cashback is lower as compared to other with condition and there are still some merchants that does not accept amex. Since my total spending each month won't meet the requirement for higher cashback on other cards, I stick with this amex card. Most importantly is that it support Apple Pay.
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Katherine Goy
    Katherine Goy
    2 Reviews, 2 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 29 May 2018
    One of my favourite cards. I’ve seen AMEX being accepted by more merchants recently. Like that the 1.5% cashback offsets the current month’s bill rightaway, unlike most cards where the cashback is given in the following bill or even later.
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
See more reviews

Write a review

Fees and Charges for American Express (AMEX) True Cashback Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $171.20
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: First 2 Supplementary Cards fee permanently waived. S$85.60 (inclusive of GST) for each subsequent Supplementary Card.
  • Fee waiver: First year annual fee waiver
  • Interest Free Period: 22 days
  • Annual Interest Rate: At the prevailing effective interest rate of 25.90% p.a. subject to compounding; or 29.99% p.a. subject to compounding in the event that your account has three or more defaults~ and/or one default~ which remains unpaid for two or more consecutive months in the last 12 months.
  • Minimum monthly payment: The minimum payment amount due on a statement of account is 3% of the outstanding balance plus the total sum of any overdue minimum payment and late payment charges, and any amount exceeding your credit limit, or S$50. Whichever is greater.
  • Late payment charge: S$90 if the Minimum Payment specified in the Statement is not received by us by the Payment Date.
  • Cash advance fee: The fee for a cash advance is $5 or 3% of the transaction, whichever is greater

Eligibility for AMEX True Cashback Card

  • 21 years old and above
  • Income of S$30,000 and above per annum for Singaporeans and PR
    Income of S$60,000 and above per annum for foreigner

Key features of AMEX True Cashback Card

  • Receive 1.5% Cashback on any all spending.
  • Receive 3% cashback on up to $5,000 of purchases you make during the first 6 months.
  • Annual fee waived for the first year.
  • Exclusive Dining privileges all around the world, all year round with American Express Selects®

Terms and conditions of AMEX True Cashback Card

  • As a welcome bonus, you will earn Cashback at the rate of 3% on up to a total of S$5,000 of purchases of goods and services made on your account (which shall include both spending by you and your Supplementary Card Members) in the first 6 months of your American Express True Cashback Card Membership, subject to the other Cashback Terms and Conditions and any promotional offer we make. When the Cashback rate of 3% applies to a purchase of goods or services during the welcome bonus period, the Cashback rate of 1.5% will not be applied in addition to the Cashback rate of 3% to the same purchase. Purchases of goods and services in excess of S$5,000 during the welcome bonus period will earn Cashback at the standard rate of 1.5%, subject to the other Cashback Terms and Conditions and any other promotional offer we make.

Download Seedly’s free

Expense Tracking App
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
  • Sync all your banks in one place
    Sync all your banks in one place
  • Quickly add transactions and view reports
    Quickly add transactions and view reports
  • Community Q&A and blog integration
    Community Q&A and blog integration