FWD Travel Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

FWD Travel

  • Overview
  • Reviews (168)
  • Questions (2)
  • More Details
Travel Insurance/FWD Travel
Travel Insurance/FWD Travel

FWD Travel

4.3
168 reviews

USER RATINGS

Ease of Claim

3.7

Claim Duration

4.0

Customer Support

3.6

Ease of Purchase

4.6

Plans (3)

Slide 1 of 3
  • FWD Travel Premium Plan

    $18
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    $200,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $7,500
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $3,000
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE
  • FWD Travel Business Plan

    $24.48
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    $500,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $10,000
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $5,000
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE
  • FWD Travel First Plan

    $31.68
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    S$1,000,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $15,000
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $7,500
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

    FWD Travel Premium Plan

    $18
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    $200,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $7,500
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $3,000
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Details

FWD Travel Insurance Review 2020

Here's an overview of what's covered under FWD Travel Insurance, and the corresponding add-on options to suit your needs.

  • Overseas medical expenses incurred due to sickness or injury
  • Cashless medical claims via the FWD Flyer mobile app
  • Unlimited medical evacuation cover
  • Automatic coverage for outdoor activities - from scuba diving and skiing to bungee jumping and skydiving
  • Haze delay coverage
  • Emergency family travel
  • Loss of baggage and personal belongings, including laptop and jewellery
  • Fraudulent use of credit cards

Read More about FWD Travel
Reviews (168)

4.3

168 Reviews

  • 5
    104
  • 4
    41
  • 3
    6
  • 2
    3
  • 1
    14

Read Review About...

claim process

fuss free

customer service

claim submit

purchase process

highly recommend

process easy

price competitive

promo code

not claim

Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated 3w ago

    Purchased

    FWD Travel Premium Plan

    “Sir, may I suggest that you cancel your policy?” That was what I was told by Grace Chong from Customer Engagement when I tried to claim for my cancelled trip (by the airline) due to COVID-19 after failing to get a refund from AirAsia’s chatbot AVA (1 hour plus waiting time on 3 separate occasions, and connection dropped and/or timed out after waiting for more than 45 minutes), its only call centre in India which only handles India flights (I was not able to talk to anyone and the call ended after directing me to AVA), its Facebook Messenger (which directed me to AVA), Expedia’s online cancellation form (online acknowledgement but no news afterwards since mid March), Expedia’s customer service which refuse to process a refund because the charges are with AirAsia. And guess what? Cancelling your policy doesn’t get you a full refund of the premium but only a fraction of it, based on your coverage start date. When you buy insurance, you are buying peace of mind for unforeseen circumstances such as this and this insurer has failed to give me the protection I needed. They opted for the easy way out — paying me back the leftover of the premium is obviously much cheaper than cost of the ticket.
    0 comments
    0
  • Fwd is the cheapest travel insurance in the market and it has an app which you can download after purchasing the insurance plan. [Claims Process] I went to Taiwan in August 2019 and experienced a flight delay due to a typhoon plus earthquake. When I returned, I just had to send them pictures of my passport, boarding pass, original flight itinerary and an email proof from scoot showing that my flight was delayed. All this was done through their app and no email to them was needed. It was a simple and easy process and my money came in after about a week. Highly recommend it.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated 4w ago

    Purchased

    FWD Travel First Plan

    Bought their travel insurance for my trip to Australia but the claims process this time took way longer, close to 3 months :( won’t be purchasing from them in future
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 03 May 2020
    Value for money if buying annual travel insurance for couple without kids. Best to renew plan as new customer when there is promotion whereby discount and vouchers are given.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 02 May 2020
    [Updated 2 May 20] I purchased FWD travel insurance again for my trip to Penang in October 2019. Comparatively, I feel that FWD and Etiqa offer the best value for their travel insurance plans. I picked FWD again due to 2 reasons, namely, it's available on Shopback where I'll be able to get a $4 rebate from every travel insurance purchased and due to my previous hassle-free claim process for my trip to Taiwan. Honestly, I think that FWD will be my go-to for all of my travel insurance needs in the future. [Old Review] I was searching for a travel insurance that provides the best value in terms of premium payable and coverage for my graduation trip to Taiwan for 2 weeks in March earlier this year. After some comparison, I decided to go for FWD's travel insurance Premium plan. Overall, the process of purchasing the travel insurance to making my medical claim was pretty smooth and hassle-free. I used a promo code upon checking out and only had a pay a premium of $30.24. Shortly after, they sent over the insurance policy via email and created an account for me so that I can view the policy and make claims (if needed) through their website. During the last few days of my trip, I was down with sore throat and cough. So the next day after I returned to Singapore, I visited a doctor as according to the policy, I had to do so before 48 hours in order to be eligible for the claim. I then proceeded to make a medical claim under the travel insurance for my upper respiratory tract infection (URTI) online. After doing so, I mailed the physical medical receipt to their claims department. About a week after, I received the amount I paid for consulting the doctor through bank transfer. All in all, I highly recommend FWD and would definitely use it again!
    0 comments
    0
Questions (2)
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

FWD Travel

FWD Travel Insurance

Travel Insurance

Insurance

What are the perks to FWD Travel insurance?
Kathlyn Laiu
Kathlyn Laiu, Community Associate at Seedly
Level 6. Master
Answered on 25 Mar 2020
I wouldn't say there is anything particularly attractive about this plan honestly. there is unlimited medical evacuation cover where there is no limit to the number of claims you can make for medical. sports equipment protection where damage or lost equipment can be claimed. but during this covid-19 period, many of these conditions do not apply for claims. you will have to refer to the new rules for the covid-19 coverage as these perks may not apply, depending on the period you buy your pollicy. Not particularly attractive other than the unlimited medical claim (assuming you buy it when the virus is not around) so it would depend if you are looking for something more specific
👍 0

FWD Travel

Travel Insurance

Insurance

COVID-19

During this COVID-19 period, how does PWD travel insurance cover?
Kathlyn Laiu
Kathlyn Laiu, Community Associate at Seedly
Level 6. Master
Answered on 25 Mar 2020
As the COVID-19 is a known event, the policy's claim conditions has changed. If you bought the policy or booked your trip after 23 Jan 2020 (included) for a trip to mainland China, you cannot make any claims related to the outbreak. This does not apply to Macau, Taiwan and Hong Kong. If you boguht your policy or booked your trip after 31 Jan 2020 (included) to anywhere in the world, your claim does not cover trip cancellation, postponed, cut short or disruption related to the outbreak. if bought after 6 March (included) for travel plans to anywhere in the world, no claims related to the virus is covered.
👍 0

FWD Travel Insurance

It can be a little overwhelming choosing the right plan for yourself, particularly with the wealth of options in the market.

FWD travel insurance

FWD offers several types of travel insurance options - and each covers the basics such as missing baggage or an unforeseen flight delays. You'll find plans for everyone, including:

  • Individuals: For one pax
  • Couples: For two pax (regardless of relations or gender)
  • Families: For two adults (legal spouse) and their legal dependent child(ren). FWD defines a child as anyone 21 years or younger - or, for full-time students in a recognised institute of higher learning, up to 25 years old.
  • Groups: For up to 20 pax

Here's an overview of what's covered under FWD Travel Insurance, and the corresponding add-on options to suit your needs.

  • Overseas medical expenses incurred due to sickness or injury
  • Cashless medical claims via the FWD Flyer mobile app
  • Unlimited medical evacuation cover
  • Automatic coverage for outdoor activities - from scuba diving and skiing to bungee jumping and skydiving
  • Haze delay coverage
  • Emergency family travel
  • Loss of baggage and personal belongings, including laptop and jewellery
  • Fraudulent use of credit cards

Optional Add-Ons

  • Sports Equipment Protector: Up to $2,000 for damaged or stolen equipment, and $100 per day for rental replacements. This add-on covers golf clubs, diving gear, skis (board and poles), snowboards, wakeboards, bicucles and fishing tackle equipment.
  • Pet Care: $50 for every 6 hours that your return home is delayed. Additional kennel costs are capped at $150.
  • Home Contents Cover: Up to $6,000 coverage in case of theft or fire
  • Car Rental Excess: In case of overseas accidents FWD Travel Insurance Plans

Plan Tiers Offered by FWD Travel Insurance

FWD Travel Insurance offers 3 different tiers of insurance coverage - Premium, Business and First. As with all travel insurance plans, your premium is pegged to your chosen plan, destination and length of stay.

Here's a look at some highlights per category.

What You'll Get

Plan Type: Premium

Plan Type: Business

Plan Type: First

Overseas Medical Expenses (Per adult; under 70 years old only)

$200,000

$500,000

$1,000,000

Liability for Harm or Damage You Accidentally Cause

$500,000

$750,000

$1,000,000

Baggage Delay ($150 for every six hours of delay while overseas; $150 after six hours of delay in Singapore)

$150

$600

$900

Emergency Phone Charges

$200

$300

$400

Death or Permanent Disability Caused by Overseas Accident (per pax)

$40,0000 to $200,000 (capped at $500,000 for family plans)

$60,0000 to $300,000 (capped at $750,000 for family plans)

$80,0000 to $400,000 (capped at $1,000,000 for family plans)

FWD Travel Insurance Highlights

What Countries Does FWD Travel Insurance Cover?

  • ASEAN countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam
  • Asia: ASEAN countries, and 16 other countries - including Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Taiwan and South Korea
  • Worldwide excluding USA: All of the world, excluding the USA and any of its territories
  • Worldwide: All of the world

What's The Difference Between Single Trip and Annual Travel Insurance?

A Single Trip Plan covers you for up to 180 days overseas; conversely, an Annual Travel Plan offers year-round coverage.

Note, however, that each trip under the Annual Travel Plan cannot exceed 90 days at a time.

To be more cost-efficient, you might want to first consider estimating how many holidays you intend to take throughout the year - and the length of each trip.

Additional Things to Know About FWD Travel Insurance

  • The FWD emergency hotline is +65 6322 2072.
  • Claims can be made through the FWD Flyer app or WhatsApp (at +65 9128 8552), and must be made within 30 days of the incident.
  • Medical expenses and damaged or lost baggage claims must be made through the FWD online claims form. Original documents must then be mailed to the official FWD address (see below).
  • You must be at least 16 years old and a resident of Singapore, holding NRIC, FIN or S-Pass to be eligible to purchase FWD Insurance

FWD Insurance Contact Info

  • Main Office: +65 6820 8888 (Mon to Fri, 9am to 10pm; Sat, 9am to 1pm; closed on public holidays)
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Address: FWD Singapore Pte Ltd, 6 Temasek Boulevard, #18-01 Suntec Tower Four, Singapore 038986

About FWD Travel Insurance

As the fifth-largest group medical insurer in Singapore, FWD offers a myriad of life and general insurance products for individuals and businesses. Some options for insurance policies include travel, cancer, personal accidents, endowment, term life, HDB fires, and direct term life plans.

FWD Insurance sits under FWD Group, and Pacific Century Group (PCG) at large. Collectively, FWD Group has served over a million consumers across eight markets - including Singapore, Hong Kong, Macau, Thailand, Japan, Indonesia, Vietnam and the Philippines.