UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
 

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

  • Overview
  • Reviews (4)
  • Questions (6)
  • More Details
Credit Cards/UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

1X UNI$ per $5
ALL SPEND
10X UNI$ per $5
ONLINE SPEND
10X UNI$ per $5 on Contactless
SELECTED SPEND
2 Miles per UNI$
CONVERSION

    UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

    1X UNI$ per $5
    ALL SPEND
    10X UNI$ per $5
    ONLINE SPEND
    10X UNI$ per $5 on Contactless
    SELECTED SPEND
    2 Miles per UNI$
    CONVERSION
Reviews (4)

4.5

4 Reviews

  • 5
    2
  • 4
    2
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

card good

miles dollar

rare cards

cards rewards

rewards 4miles

4miles dollar

dollar paywave

paywave shop

shop online

online requirements

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 13 Jun 2019
    One of the must have credit card if you are accumulating miles (Paywave/Contactless spending = 4 miles per dollar). Easily the most used card. Just beware of the monthly spending limit ($1,000), points are awarded in blocks of $5 and the merchants that do not award UNI$ (miles) but Smart$ (cashback).
    2 comments
    2
    Jefferson Soh
    Jefferson Soh

    07 Jun 2018

    So little ppl use this card. I wonder why. This is the gem I feel.
    Chan Zui Mao Mao
    Chan Zui Mao Mao

    07 Jun 2018

    Haha. Yeah. I agree. Personally, I prefer this over DBS Woman's World. Paywave no dispute one. lol
  • Updated on 13 Jun 2019
    One of the rare cards that rewards 4miles per dollar when you -using paywave, -shop online. with almost no requirements and a rather high 1k monthly cap for the above bonus miles. combine this with uob privi miles - you will be on your way to many free trips round the world
    2 comments
    1
    Wayne Lim
    Wayne Lim

    26 May 2018

    I believe the monthly cap for 4mpd is 1k, not 2k:)
    Jefferson Soh
    Jefferson Soh

    01 Jun 2018

    Thanks. It's indeed 1k
  • Updated on 10 Jan 2019
    Found out about this recently. A good card if you want miles! Gives 4 miles per dollar spent if you use paywave (but only if you spend a minimum of $5)! Also gives 4 miles per dollar spent on popular sites such as fave and qoo10! Downside is, it took me 5 weeks to get the card. I applied for it, called them 2 weeks later when I didn't receive the card, and they said the card was likely lost in mail. They sent me another, and the same thing happened. Called them again, and this time I received it one week later. Took a total of 5 weeks to receive. Not sure if UOB or SingPost is at fault.
    0 comments
    1
  • Updated on 30 May 2018
    I have been using this card for years together with UOB Preferred Platinum Amex card. This is good for small expenditure to accumulate UNI$. I especially like the 10 times UNI$ for spending online and VISA paywave. As there is a cap on UNI$ earned, I do not recommend this for high expenditure though. But as my spending is moderate, this card is good for me.
    0 comments
    0
Questions (6)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Miles

Credit Card

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

HSBC Revolution Credit Card

DBS Live Fresh Card

DBS Multiplier

MileLion

Kelvin Chin
Kelvin Chin
Level 5. Genius
Answered on 06 Nov 2019
No huge monthly spending nor a traveler, maybe cashback cards are more suitable. Personally I am fresh into the workforce only.

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

Miles

UOB

MileLion

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 05 Nov 2019
1) The UOB $5 rule. Spend $4.99? Good luck. No points for you. Spend $9.99? Congrats. I am giving you the same amount of points as the guy who spend just nice $5. 2) 1K spend limit for 10X points on online and contactless transactions 3) Use the card at SMART merchant? No points for you. SMARTS points instead, which cannot be converted to miles Unfortunately, you can't work around point 2 and 3. For point 1, you have to monitor your spend very very closely. PS: I still trying to fit this card into my strategy but I have not succeeded.

Credit Card

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

Miles

Citi Rewards Credit Card

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Level 7. Grand Master
Answered on 08 Oct 2019
This sounds like a very late reply now but based on the categories you mentioned, I would choose Citi. The $5 block for UOB will make calculations a little bit tricky so I would avoid that. For Grab, these 2 cards don't give points. Citi is a hit and miss so it depends. Better miles card for your mentioned categories: Grab: Maybank Horizon Visa and AMEX Krisflyer card Dining Out: Maybank Horizon Visa. Refer to this for more information: https://milelion.com/credit-cards/guide/

Miles

UOB

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

UOB PRVI Miles Card

Javier Lim
Javier Lim
Level 5. Genius
Updated on 28 Jul 2019
Spending on UOB credit cards does not award you miles directly. Instead they are rewarded in the form UNI$ to be redeemed into miles. Not only do Miles/Travel card earn miles. Reward cards such as UOB Preferred platinum visa (PPV) earn UNI$ which can then be converted into miles. In fact not just UOB Cards work in this manner, DBS Cards work in the same way as well. So to answer your question, Yes you can (with the exception of Cashback/Rebate cards)

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

Credit Card

Citi Rewards Credit Card

Jonathan Chia Guangrong
Jonathan Chia Guangrong, Fund Manager at JCG Fund
Level 8. Wizard
Answered on 08 Oct 2018
Personally, I'll stick with Citi.. UOB's rewards structure is in blocks of S$5 spent. Whereas citi's as I recall is for every dollar. You'll also vomit blood getting fee waivers from UOB.

OCBC

UOB

OCBC Titanium Rewards Card

UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

Credit Card

YY Yin Yu
YY Yin Yu
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 08 Jun 2018
If i were you, i would get OCBC Titanium Rewards. At the moment, there is a partnership promotion that allows you to earn up to 11 miles per dollar. Take a look at this page which explains the calculation. http://milelion.com/2018/04/19/ocbc-titanium-rewards-offering-6-mpd-on-mileslife/ By the way, i don't use either of the cards above, i use Citi Rewards, Ascend Amex, Maybank Horizon and DBS World Woman Card to collect miles. One card is not enough to cater for my different needs.

Eligibility for UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

  • 21 years and above
  • Singaporeans and PR; Minimum annual income of $30,000
  • Foreigners; Minimum annual income of $40,000
  • Or fixed deposit collateral of minimum $10,000

Fees and Charges for UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $192.60
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: $96.30.( First supplementary card free, second supplementary card free for first year)
  • Fee waiver: Available for one year
  • Interest-Free Period: 21 days
  • Annual Interest Rate: 25.90%
  • Minimum monthly payment: 3% or $50, whichever higher
  • Late payment charge: $90
  • Cash advance fee: 6%
  • Overlimit fee: $40

Key features of UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

  • $5 = UNI$1
  • UNI$1 = 2 miles
  • Earn up to 10X UNI$ (or 4 miles) on online shopping and entertainment
  • Earn up to 10X UNI$ (or 4 miles) on contactless transactions

Terms and conditions of UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card

  • 10X UNI$ is awarded for Selected Online Transactions and Contactless Transactions only
  • UNI$ capped at UNI$2,000 for each calendar month
  • UNI$ will not be awarded on transactions at SMART$ merchants where SMART$ are issued
  • Please visit this page for full T&Cs

 

For more info, you can check out the UOB Preferred Platinum Visa Card’s page.