facebookStarr Travel Insurance Ratings Jul 2024

Starr Travel Insurance

  • Key Features
  • Reviews (48)
  • Discussions (0)
  • More Details
claimed
Unclaimed

This product has not been claimed by the company yet.

Summary

Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance Review

If you’re in need of that long-awaited vacation but scared that you might contract COVID-19 abroad, let Starr TraveLead Travel Insurance put your mind at ease. With three tiers to choose from — Bronze, Silver and Gold — you have the flexibility of choosing the level of coverage you need. Within each tier of plans, you can also customise your coverage further.

At the Gold tier, you’ll have up to S$100,000 of medical expenses covered if you contract COVID-19. If you’re hospitalised for other ailments aside from COVID-19, there is a cash benefit of up to S$15,000.

If your trip is cancelled due to the diagnosis of COVID-19, you’ll also get coverage of up to S$1,000 for the Gold tier, and up to S$600 at the Silver tier. The Bronze plan does not offer any coverage.

SingSaver's Starr TraveLead Exclusive Promotion:  

 Enjoy 35% discount when you apply now. Valid till 31 July 2024. T&Cs apply. Also receive complimentary lounge access during flight delays. Valid till 30 Sep 2024 5:30pm.  T&Cs apply.

 

Product Page Transparency

  • Pays to access additional features

Features & Benefits:

+ Southeast Asia - Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Cambodia, Indonesia Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.

+ This is a basic travel insurance that provides Personal Accident and Medical Coverage.

+ (Covid-19) Medical Expenses Coverage of up to $65,000

+ Unlimited emergency medical evacuation and repatriation coverage.

+ Cover for terrorism.

+ Extend to cover amateur hazardous sports, such as hot air ballooning, scuba diving, skiing, etc., no restriction on height or depth.

+ Access additional protection when you add on the trip and baggage coverage riders.

- Major Exclusions - Pre-existing condition, war, suicide, pregnancy, childbirth, professional sport.

- Excludes travel booked or undertaken against medical advice or for the purpose of obtaining medical treatment.

- No coverage for Trip Disruption/ Cancellation.

- No coverage for Loss/ Delay of Bags and Belongings.

...see more

Summary

Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance Review

If you’re in need of that long-awaited vacation but scared that you might contract COVID-19 abroad, let Starr TraveLead Travel Insurance put your mind at ease. With three tiers to choose from — Bronze, Silver and Gold — you have the flexibility of choosing the level of coverage you need. Within each tier of plans, you can also customise your coverage further.

At the Gold tier, you’ll have up to S$100,000 of medical expenses covered if you contract COVID-19. If you’re hospitalised for other ailments aside from COVID-19, there is a cash benefit of up to S$15,000.

If your trip is cancelled due to the diagnosis of COVID-19, you’ll also get coverage of up to S$1,000 for the Gold tier, and up to S$600 at the Silver tier. The Bronze plan does not offer any coverage.

SingSaver's Starr TraveLead Exclusive Promotion:  

 Enjoy 35% discount when you apply now. Valid till 31 July 2024. T&Cs apply. Also receive complimentary lounge access during flight delays. Valid till 30 Sep 2024 5:30pm.  T&Cs apply.

 

Product Page Transparency

  • Pays to access additional features

Features & Benefits:

+ Southeast Asia - Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Cambodia, Indonesia Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.

+ This is a basic travel insurance that provides Personal Accident and Medical Coverage.

+ (Covid-19) Medical Expenses Coverage of up to $65,000

+ Unlimited emergency medical evacuation and repatriation coverage.

+ Cover for terrorism.

+ Extend to cover amateur hazardous sports, such as hot air ballooning, scuba diving, skiing, etc., no restriction on height or depth.

+ Access additional protection when you add on the trip and baggage coverage riders.

- Major Exclusions - Pre-existing condition, war, suicide, pregnancy, childbirth, professional sport.

- Excludes travel booked or undertaken against medical advice or for the purpose of obtaining medical treatment.

- No coverage for Trip Disruption/ Cancellation.

- No coverage for Loss/ Delay of Bags and Belongings.

...see more

Plans (4)

Slide 1 of 4

Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

$40.80

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$200,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$5,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$3,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr Insurance TraveLead Silver Plan

$49.20

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$500,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$10,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$5,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr Insurance TraveLead Gold Plan

$63.60

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$1,000,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$15,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$7,500

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr TraveLead Cruise to Nowhere

$39

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$200,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$5,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$3,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

$40.80

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$200,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$5,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$3,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

📣 SIGN-UP BONUS

Enjoy up to 35% discount and enjoy complimentary lounge access during flight delays.

Valid till 31 Jul 2024. T&Cs apply.

Dot Pattern
Handphone
Reviews (48)

1.1

48 Reviews

5
1
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
47

Service Rating

Claim Duration

1.2

Customer Support

1.2

Ease of Purchase

2.6

Ease of Claim

1.2

      Posted 11 Apr 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Gold Plan

      Have been buying from Starr since travel resumed after the pandemic. The rate is probably the best in the market, especially after cash back through platforms like money smart. Didn’t check the reviews previously and was happy with everything. We didn’t have to make any claims for all our previous trips. We got really worried when we saw all the negative reviews just before our Northern Europe trip. We bought the highest tier insurance because of all the travel connections involved and also we were driving for the first time in winter. We ended up having to make 3 claims this time - travel misconnection (we missed our flight to Copenhagen due to the late arrival in Heathrow), a handphone lost to theft and damages to our rental vehicle. All 3 claims (submitted at different times) were approved within 1 or 2 business days. They did come back to ask for some information (was our oversight in not including that) but the way it was handled had been very expedient, professional and efficient. Payment was also made very quickly. The entire experience with Starr had been great. We’re now so much more confident in continuing to insure with them. In fact, we already got our travel insurance for our next trip from them. Note: I don’t usually post any reviews when things happened as it should but felt that I needed to do so to share an experience that’s totally different from all the other reviews.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 18d ago

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      Just called Star cause i injured my knee during my overseas trip and went for acupuncture treatment when I came back. Wanted to know the clam process. I was shocked to find out that as of Dec 2023... they changed their policy and I am only allowed to claim this when I am overseas and not back in Singapore for any duration!! Freaking ridiculous! Its small money but it is the principle of the matter... how to find acupuncture place when you are overseas (esp western countries) and waste time getting such treatments? So the cover is as good as nothing! So buyer beware. I will never buy from Star insurance again!!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 21d ago

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      Bought the Starr travel insurance thru Trip com. Made a claim in April, got an email acknowledgement. Sent email to them several times for an update but no response. Next action will be showing up at their office for an update. Frustrating.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 20 Jun 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Gold Plan

      [Claims Process] Beware of this company they use many terms and conditions to reject a legitimate claim of unable to take flight and trip disruption [Terms and Conditions] Raised up some point in terms and condition that were used to reject claims, and they did not assist. Their hotline was not functioning in Japan. [Hidden terms] Check their google review.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 05 Jun 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      Beware of this Starr Travel lead policy. If you want to claim medical expense, you must seek treatment overseas first, else when you return to Singapore, all medical expenses incurred here for the same sickness or injury will not be paid bec the first treatment is not overseas. So technically, if you slip and fall or got in injury at the airport just before your flight, you need to seek treatment there and then. You cannot board and fly back and seek treatment in Changi airport. What a strange requirement.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 15 Apr 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Silver Plan

      We purchased a Starr sliver travel insurance policy for 2 people for a ski trip to British Columbia. We also paid an additional premium for a CANCEL FOR ANY REASON plan. Due to lack of snow in Canada in Dec., we cancelled the trip. We then filed a claim with Starr for only the cost of the ski trip which was $18,229.42 USD. After a period of time and numerous phone calls, Starr's claims adjustor (Sedgwick) denied the claim stating that we did not insure for the full amount of the trip even though their agent that sold us the policy determined the trip cost. Starr stated that we only insured the trip for $15,088.00 USD, In other words, Starr sold us a $2,397.00 policy that was invalid from the day we purchased it. We have contacted John Hancock, Starr and Sedgwick with no results other than claim denial. Seems like this could be fraud to sell a claim that is invalid from day one? However, for some reason, with no explanation, they reimbursed us $799.00. We have no idea what this is? We would not ever recommend purchasing a travel policy for John Hancock/Starr.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 12 Mar 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      [Hidden terms] They insisted on exact wording and rejected my claim due to the airlines having different wording to explain flight delay. [Customer Service] Non-existent. I called them every other day and sent dozens of emails. It took showing up at their offices to get a response. [Claims Process] Painful and long and they would intentionally ignore you hoping you would forget about it and move it. Then they would insist on exact wording. Insurance was absolutely not sold in good faith. AVOID THEM AT ALL COSTS.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 28 Feb 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Silver Plan

      [Claims Process] [Customer Service] [Hidden terms] [Terms and Conditions] COMPLETE SCAM! THEY ARE RIDICULOUS BASICALLY ALL THE TERMS HAS A WAY OF SHOWING YOU WILL NOT GET YOUR CLAIM. My baggage claim got rejected despite showing all the supporting documents required. My ski piste was close due to bad weather which was shown clearly as I can claim but they refer me to another clause saying oh it's a missed booking and you cannot claim. Like the heck! What's wrong with this scamming insurance. I think they should be reported everywhere for scamming consumers! What's the point of getting insurance and purposely add on a claim and it's shown on their clause and to be told you cannot claim and started pointing you to irrelevant clause.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 04 Dec 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Gold Plan

      Like many others, I didn't check reviews on travel insurance. Had bought many time but didn't many any claim (lucky). You will never be able to make claims. 1. The agent (local number) is route to overseas. They don't understand you and slow take their time to ask you questions. If you really need help overseas, you will not get one. 2. When you want to make claims for overseas medical treatment or back in Singapore follow up treatment, you will be disappointment. They will reply you that they don't cover your resident country medical assistance and claim that your policy don't cover or have expired. 3. They can't even spell properly in the email. For the once, I think Starr Insurance is a SCAM. Don't understand why MoneySmart still promoting their travel insurance. So everyone, you have been warned. Read reviews before you buy.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 02 Dec 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Silver Plan

      Unethical insurance company. Please do not buy. I did not check the reviews before I bought and regret. In their advert in Apr 23 they did not highlight tt coverage is not extended to China for Covid coverage, and put in very small words. If I had known china isn't covered I would not have bought for my parents. When they came down with Covid in China and require hospitalisation, I flew down to be with them. Subsequently when I claimed for the med expenses which were not high, about SGD1000+, the unethical co refused to approve the claim citing the exclusion in their policy which was worded in a convoluted legal manner which upon re reading I slso cannot tell it is an exclusion. I will be making a complaint to CASE and will let my network know never to buy from them incase they do not know how to readtheir policy docs. Bad customer service, tell us that cannot claim because policy already has exclusion, but I say their advert not clear. Then they ask us appeal. After appeal still fail and tell us because of policy wording. Which is so stupid because they go back to the 1st reason why it failed without considering tt they had a part to play in not properly representing the exclusion in their advert! Don't ever buy from them!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

    Discussions (0)

      No Posts Found.

      Plan Tiers Offered by Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance

      You'll find three tiers under Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance, including:

      • Bronze
      • Silver
      • Gold

      About Starr Insurance

      Starr Insurance Companies is a leading insurance and investment organization, providing commercial property and casualty insurance, including travel and accident coverage, to almost every imaginable business and industry in virtually every part of the world.

      Cornelius Vander Starr established his first insurance company in Shanghai, China in 1919.

      Today, Starr is one of the world’s fastest growing insurance organisations. Our experienced associates are capable of writing in 124 countries on 6 continents.

      Starr International Insurance Singapore Contact

      • Hotline: +65 3158 7515
      • Email: [email protected]
      • Address: Starr International Insurance Singapore Pte. Ltd, 138 Market Street, #16-04, CapitaGreen, Singapore 048946
      • Business Hours: Monday to Friday, 9:00am to 12:30pm and 1:30pm to 5:00pm (Closed on Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays)

      Contact us at [email protected] should you require any assistance or spot any inaccuracies.