facebookStarr Insurance Travel Insurance Reviews and Comparison - Seedly

Starr Insurance Travel Insurance

  • Key Features
  • Reviews (44)
  • Discussions (0)
  • More Details
claimed
Unclaimed

This product has not been claimed by the company yet.

Summary

Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance Review

If you’re in need of that long-awaited vacation but scared that you might contract COVID-19 abroad, let Starr TraveLead Travel Insurance put your mind at ease. With three tiers to choose from — Bronze, Silver and Gold — you have the flexibility of choosing the level of coverage you need. Within each tier of plans, you can also customise your coverage further.

At the Gold tier, you’ll have up to S$100,000 of medical expenses covered if you contract COVID-19. If you’re hospitalised for other ailments aside from COVID-19, there is a cash benefit of up to S$15,000.

If your trip is cancelled due to the diagnosis of COVID-19, you’ll also get coverage of up to S$1,000 for the Gold tier, and up to S$600 at the Silver tier. The Bronze plan does not offer any coverage.

 SingSaver's Starr TraveLead Exclusive Promotion: Use promo code SS45 to get an exclusive 45% discount when you buy now. Valid till 30 April 2024. Earn a total of 4 miles per S$1 spend on your premium. Valid till 2 May 2024 8:59 am. Travel Miles Campaign and Additional 2 Miles Travel Giveaway T&Cs apply.

 

Product Page Transparency

  • Pays to access additional features

Features & Benefits:

+ Southeast Asia - Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Cambodia, Indonesia Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.

+ This is a basic travel insurance that provides Personal Accident and Medical Coverage.

+ (Covid-19) Medical Expenses Coverage of up to $65,000

+ Unlimited emergency medical evacuation and repatriation coverage.

+ Cover for terrorism.

+ Extend to cover amateur hazardous sports, such as hot air ballooning, scuba diving, skiing, etc., no restriction on height or depth.

+ Access additional protection when you add on the trip and baggage coverage riders.

- Major Exclusions - Pre-existing condition, war, suicide, pregnancy, childbirth, professional sport.

- Excludes travel booked or undertaken against medical advice or for the purpose of obtaining medical treatment.

- No coverage for Trip Disruption/ Cancellation.

- No coverage for Loss/ Delay of Bags and Belongings.

...see more

Popular Products

Summary

Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance Review

If you’re in need of that long-awaited vacation but scared that you might contract COVID-19 abroad, let Starr TraveLead Travel Insurance put your mind at ease. With three tiers to choose from — Bronze, Silver and Gold — you have the flexibility of choosing the level of coverage you need. Within each tier of plans, you can also customise your coverage further.

At the Gold tier, you’ll have up to S$100,000 of medical expenses covered if you contract COVID-19. If you’re hospitalised for other ailments aside from COVID-19, there is a cash benefit of up to S$15,000.

If your trip is cancelled due to the diagnosis of COVID-19, you’ll also get coverage of up to S$1,000 for the Gold tier, and up to S$600 at the Silver tier. The Bronze plan does not offer any coverage.

 SingSaver's Starr TraveLead Exclusive Promotion: Use promo code SS45 to get an exclusive 45% discount when you buy now. Valid till 30 April 2024. Earn a total of 4 miles per S$1 spend on your premium. Valid till 2 May 2024 8:59 am. Travel Miles Campaign and Additional 2 Miles Travel Giveaway T&Cs apply.

 

Product Page Transparency

  • Pays to access additional features

Features & Benefits:

+ Southeast Asia - Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Cambodia, Indonesia Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.

+ This is a basic travel insurance that provides Personal Accident and Medical Coverage.

+ (Covid-19) Medical Expenses Coverage of up to $65,000

+ Unlimited emergency medical evacuation and repatriation coverage.

+ Cover for terrorism.

+ Extend to cover amateur hazardous sports, such as hot air ballooning, scuba diving, skiing, etc., no restriction on height or depth.

+ Access additional protection when you add on the trip and baggage coverage riders.

- Major Exclusions - Pre-existing condition, war, suicide, pregnancy, childbirth, professional sport.

- Excludes travel booked or undertaken against medical advice or for the purpose of obtaining medical treatment.

- No coverage for Trip Disruption/ Cancellation.

- No coverage for Loss/ Delay of Bags and Belongings.

...see more

Plans (4)

Slide 1 of 4

Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

$40.80

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$200,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$5,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$3,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr Insurance TraveLead Silver Plan

$49.20

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$500,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$10,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$5,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr Insurance TraveLead Gold Plan

$63.60

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$1,000,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$15,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$7,500

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr TraveLead Cruise to Nowhere

$39

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$200,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$5,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$3,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

$40.80

PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)

$200,000

MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)

$5,000

TRIP CANCELLATION

$3,000

LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

📣 SIGN-UP BONUS

Enjoy 45% discount. Earn a total of 4 miles per S$1 spend on your premium.

Valid till 30 Apr 2024. T&Cs apply.

Dot Pattern
Handphone
Reviews (44)

1.1

44 Reviews

5
1
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
43

Service Rating

Claim Duration

1.3

Customer Support

1.2

Ease of Purchase

2.5

Ease of Claim

1.2

      Posted 2d ago

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Gold Plan

      Have been buying from Starr since travel resumed after the pandemic. The rate is probably the best in the market, especially after cash back through platforms like money smart. Didn’t check the reviews previously and was happy with everything. We didn’t have to make any claims for all our previous trips. We got really worried when we saw all the negative reviews just before our Northern Europe trip. We bought the highest tier insurance because of all the travel connections involved and also we were driving for the first time in winter. We ended up having to make 3 claims this time - travel misconnection (we missed our flight to Copenhagen due to the late arrival in Heathrow), a handphone lost to theft and damages to our rental vehicle. All 3 claims (submitted at different times) were approved within 1 or 2 business days. They did come back to ask for some information (was our oversight in not including that) but the way it was handled had been very expedient, professional and efficient. Payment was also made very quickly. The entire experience with Starr had been great. We’re now so much more confident in continuing to insure with them. In fact, we already got our travel insurance for our next trip from them. Note: I don’t usually post any reviews when things happened as it should but felt that I needed to do so to share an experience that’s totally different from all the other reviews.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 12 Mar 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      [Hidden terms] They insisted on exact wording and rejected my claim due to the airlines having different wording to explain flight delay. [Customer Service] Non-existent. I called them every other day and sent dozens of emails. It took showing up at their offices to get a response. [Claims Process] Painful and long and they would intentionally ignore you hoping you would forget about it and move it. Then they would insist on exact wording. Insurance was absolutely not sold in good faith. AVOID THEM AT ALL COSTS.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 28 Feb 2024

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Silver Plan

      [Claims Process] [Customer Service] [Hidden terms] [Terms and Conditions] COMPLETE SCAM! THEY ARE RIDICULOUS BASICALLY ALL THE TERMS HAS A WAY OF SHOWING YOU WILL NOT GET YOUR CLAIM. My baggage claim got rejected despite showing all the supporting documents required. My ski piste was close due to bad weather which was shown clearly as I can claim but they refer me to another clause saying oh it's a missed booking and you cannot claim. Like the heck! What's wrong with this scamming insurance. I think they should be reported everywhere for scamming consumers! What's the point of getting insurance and purposely add on a claim and it's shown on their clause and to be told you cannot claim and started pointing you to irrelevant clause.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 04 Dec 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Gold Plan

      Like many others, I didn't check reviews on travel insurance. Had bought many time but didn't many any claim (lucky). You will never be able to make claims. 1. The agent (local number) is route to overseas. They don't understand you and slow take their time to ask you questions. If you really need help overseas, you will not get one. 2. When you want to make claims for overseas medical treatment or back in Singapore follow up treatment, you will be disappointment. They will reply you that they don't cover your resident country medical assistance and claim that your policy don't cover or have expired. 3. They can't even spell properly in the email. For the once, I think Starr Insurance is a SCAM. Don't understand why MoneySmart still promoting their travel insurance. So everyone, you have been warned. Read reviews before you buy.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 02 Dec 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Silver Plan

      Unethical insurance company. Please do not buy. I did not check the reviews before I bought and regret. In their advert in Apr 23 they did not highlight tt coverage is not extended to China for Covid coverage, and put in very small words. If I had known china isn't covered I would not have bought for my parents. When they came down with Covid in China and require hospitalisation, I flew down to be with them. Subsequently when I claimed for the med expenses which were not high, about SGD1000+, the unethical co refused to approve the claim citing the exclusion in their policy which was worded in a convoluted legal manner which upon re reading I slso cannot tell it is an exclusion. I will be making a complaint to CASE and will let my network know never to buy from them incase they do not know how to readtheir policy docs. Bad customer service, tell us that cannot claim because policy already has exclusion, but I say their advert not clear. Then they ask us appeal. After appeal still fail and tell us because of policy wording. Which is so stupid because they go back to the 1st reason why it failed without considering tt they had a part to play in not properly representing the exclusion in their advert! Don't ever buy from them!

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 16 Nov 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      Thank you for all the transparent reviews on STARR travel insurance. It must true since no company will pay people to review their products badly. I am avoiding it . Better not to buy this travel insurance than waste your money and get frustrated if u need to claim.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 07 Nov 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      [Claims Process] [Hidden terms] I purchased travel insurance from this company. I got a little cold during the trip. After coming back, I saw a doctor and applied for a claim of SGD$70+. After applying for more than a month, the insurance company finally said it could not pay the claim. I don't think the insurance from this insurance company is worth buying or trusting.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 03 Nov 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      [Claims Process] Super slow wait 4 weeks for reply. Not easy, requested for many different documents and even after providing the claim was not paid out. [Customer Service] No customer service, Emergency hotline not functioning in Japan. Not sure other countries. Doubtful of what kind of help their emergency response would be able to help with. [Hidden terms] They classify trip started on the day you leave Singapore. If anything happen during the trip and cannot come back in time due to illness / flight delay etc, it will not be covered as trip started before. [Terms and Conditions] They will find many terms and condition to prevent your legitimate claim from being paid out. They quantify Trip Started if it starts and during Trip no longer any cover for cancelled or unforeseen circumstances.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 01 Nov 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      Starr Insurance has the worst travel insurance coverage - inadequate and offers no assurance/peace of mind to the insured. Read the fine print carefully before you purchase OR better not purchase is my advice. Its policy wording/ T&C favours itself in the event of a claim. Go for more established, reliable & reputable insurers for your travel insurance needs. You have been warned. Read other reviews on Starr Insurance and you will get the drift. My recent experience to claim for trip cancellation with Starr Insurance was a disappointment. Starr Insurance's travel insurance does NOT cover disasters eg earthquakes in the place of travel and this is despite our Ministry of Foreign Affairs' issuance of a Travel Advisory against non-essential travel to Morrocco. Starr Insurance policy wording is very tightly worded & intentionally restrictive in coverage. As such, my claim for trip cancellation was rejected by Starr Insurance. In comparison, my travel companions who cancelled the trip just like me managed to successfully claim against their respective travel insurance with HL Assurance and FWD. The latter FWD, though did not have Travel Advisory clause in their wording for trip cancellation, in the spirit of safe travel, granted my travel companion a successful claim and full payout. If you are looking for a peace of mind and reasonably adequate coverage, please do NOT buy from Starr Insurance. Buying Starr Insurance for your travel needs is as good as don't buy. Learning from this, my strong advice is to buy from more established & reputable insurance companies eg FWD, HL Assurance, DirectAsia, NTUC as they are the dominant players in the travel insurance sector and they guard their reputations closely. In addition, do take note that Starr Insurance has a strict clause for non-refund/cancellation/change of travel insurance policy once the premium is paid. What this means is eg your airticket departure date has been re-scheduled by the airline (beyond your control) from say 2 Nov 2am to 1 Nov 11pm (ie cross over a day even though it is just 3 hrs difference), your policy with Starr Insurance unfortunately lapsed & you also don't get any refund. You are not able to amend the policy coverage date and top up the premium difference of 1 day for your travel insurance. This is a strange (definitely unreasonable) clause in Starr Insurance. Other insurers accept change in flight dates and you just need to top up the insurance premium difference accordingly. Sorry for the long post. Just thought that I should share my experience so that others can benefit from it.

      0

      What are your thoughts?

      Posted 23 Sep 2023

      Purchased

      Starr Insurance TraveLead Bronze Plan

      Complete scam, please avoid. Check out their google reviews. Never again. This company should be removed by MAS for the scam products that they peddle

      0

      What are your thoughts?

    Discussions (0)

      No Posts Found.

      Popular Products

      Plan Tiers Offered by Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance

      You'll find three tiers under Starr Insurance TraveLead Travel Insurance, including:

      • Bronze
      • Silver
      • Gold

      About Starr Insurance

      Starr Insurance Companies is a leading insurance and investment organization, providing commercial property and casualty insurance, including travel and accident coverage, to almost every imaginable business and industry in virtually every part of the world.

      Cornelius Vander Starr established his first insurance company in Shanghai, China in 1919.

      Today, Starr is one of the world’s fastest growing insurance organisations. Our experienced associates are capable of writing in 124 countries on 6 continents.

      Starr International Insurance Singapore Contact

      • Hotline: +65 3158 7515
      • Email: [email protected]
      • Address: Starr International Insurance Singapore Pte. Ltd, 138 Market Street, #16-04, CapitaGreen, Singapore 048946
      • Business Hours: Monday to Friday, 9:00am to 12:30pm and 1:30pm to 5:00pm (Closed on Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays)

      Contact us at [email protected] should you require any assistance or spot any inaccuracies.