UOB One Account Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

UOB One Account

  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Questions (22)
  • More Details
Savings Accounts/UOB One Account

UOB One Account

4.2
49 reviews

USER RATINGS

Read reviews

Customer Support

4.5

Ease of online banking

4.6

UOB One Account

Up to 3.88% p.a.
INTEREST RATES
$1,000
MIN. INITIAL DEPOSIT
$500
MIN. AVG DAILY BALANCE

    UOB One Account

    Up to 3.88% p.a.
    INTEREST RATES
    $1,000
    MIN. INITIAL DEPOSIT
    $500
    MIN. AVG DAILY BALANCE
Reviews (49)

4.2

49 Reviews

  • 5
    25
  • 4
    16
  • 3
    4
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    4

Read Review About...

spend 500

uob card

credit salary

pay bills

giro transactions

account open

account high

uob bank

meet criteria

cash rebate

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 09 Feb 2020

    Purchased

    UOB One Account

    [Customer Service] Have been using uob for the past 10 years of my working life. Always prompt and provides swift assistance with anything from enabling/disabling magnetic strip, changing of credit cards, and additional one bonus interests. [Online Banking] Easy to log in and accessible.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 12 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    UOB One Account

    First time using UOB quite impressed by the banker and support. So far so good. Even UOB Malaysia staff was good
    0 comments
    1
  • Updated on 08 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    UOB One Account

    Quite easy to hit bonus interest rate monthly as long as set up 3x GIRO payments per month and $500 spend on credit card (which is relatively lower than other bank x credit card requirement). Good that it doesn’t need salary crediting either with above conditions fulfilled. Unclear bonus interest crediting for Grab spend in the recent months though.
    0 comments
    1
  • Posted on 30 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    UOB One Account

    I applied it via my ex-company's collaboration with UOB bank which allows salary crediting. Application process was fuss free especially with the corporate plan. The online banking and the UOB Mighty App are easy to use and straightforward. I like the flexibility of the cash withdrawal whereby customers are able to withdraw money from both OCBC and UOB ATM which saves a lot of waiting time. The downside is that their service fee ($5 and average account balance of $1000 is too high for me. I think they could consider the combined amount (ie current + savings) like how DBS (savings + dbs multiplier) does that it doesn't deduct the service fee as long as you maintain $500 in your account. Overall customer service is prompt and efficient.
    0 comments
    1
  • Posted on 24 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    UOB One Account

    Uob has a very good ecosystem in credit card expenditure giving upsized interest rates bonus for their Uob one account .opening account was easy and the online banking and Uob mighty secure app has very good ux design
    0 comments
    1
Questions (22)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

UOB One Account

Savings

Savings Accounts

Credit Cards

A quick search shows that instalment payment is in the list of exclusion: https://www.uob.com.sg/assets/pdfs/onecardfull_tnc.pdf I share quality content on estate planning and financial planning here.
👍 0

Savings

DBS Multiplier Account

UOB One Account

Investments

Interest Rates

Savings Accounts

Hi anon, You'll have to see if the hassle of changing is worth it. Personally, if the increase in interest from switching is going to be in the region of an extra dozens of dollars, I would rather focus on growing my human capital. Also, you need to be aware of the trade off of starting an investment portfolio with UOB. If the way to reach a higher interest was to charge a savings plan or equivalent to the card to reach a higher tier of credit card spend, you may actually be worse off if the plan is not a decent one. Or, if it was to buy unit trusts with sales charges, you'll be worse off as well, since there are zero sale charge platforms out there. However, if the increase is significant without requiring a change in your lifestyle or expenditure, then you will probably benefit from switching and should do so. When (it's going to happen) conditions change again, then evaluate the new situation and see if UOB is still the best account for you.
👍 2

UOB One Card

UOB One Account

Savings Accounts

Credit Cards

UOB One has one of the more broad criteria to earn its higher interest. For instance, you need to spend $500 on their UOB One card and credit salary or has 3 GIRO transactions in a calendar month. Hence, it is worth looking into; unless you spend less than $500 on credit card monthly. Here is everything about me and what I do best.
👍 0

Investments

Robo-Advisors

Regular Shares Savings Plans (RSS/RSP)

Bonds

Fresh Graduates

UOB One Account

Standard Chartered JumpStart Account

R
Rocker123
Level 2. Rookie
Answered 4w ago
Take it easy and have patience! If you have the time, do your own research and invest based on your investing style (growth, low-risk or dividends etc). If you like a hands off approach, ETFs and index funds are the way to go!
👍 1

UOB

UOB One Card

UOB KrisFlyer Credit Card

Citi PremierMiles American Express Card

MileLion

UOB One Account

Bjorn Ng
Bjorn Ng
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Updated on 12 Dec 2019
CitiPremier miles is a good general card as the miles don't expire. However for me, I am using OCBC 90N, also miles don't expire and you can change in blocks of 1,000 miles. Only downside is that it's only for Krisflyer miles and no lounge benefits. If you have an UOB One account, you should have at least 1 UOB CC also (miles/cashback it's up to you). Reason being is that if you can meet min. $500 spend per month, you would be able to hit your UOB One account criteria (Assuming you have 3 GIRO or salary credit to it). Also, UOB One has a tie up with Grab, where you can get up to 10% rebate on it. This is insane. I only just got to know of how good a deal it was! On your last point to be loyal to one bank, no not really, you should select the credit card which suits you!
👍 7

UOB One Card

UOB

Payments

UOB One Account

Savings Accounts

Credit Cards

HC Tang
HC Tang, Financial Enthusiast, Budgeting at The Society
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 04 Feb 2020
I have the same questions and called up UOB CSO, Yes the GIRO paying of the UOB CC bill is counted as eligible GIRO transaction for UOB1 A/C bonus interest. P/S: However, you must ensure that it does the GIRO deduction monthly to pay the bill. If a particular month you have no transaction or you have paid the bill manually via any other way other than GIRO, it WILL NOT be consider as a qualified GIRO transaction since no GIRO deduction happens. If you like my answer or think that my answer is useful or my answer has help you, please do upvote / like my answer / reply. Thank you :)
👍 1

Savings

UOB One Account

OCBC 360 Account

Savings Accounts

Credit Cards

Jacqueline Yan
Jacqueline Yan, Content Strategist at Seedly
Level 5. Genius
Answered on 04 Feb 2020
Hi Anon! Since your concern is being able to hit the $500 credit card minimum spend for higher interest, I'd say OCBC 360 is a better choice? I don't have a UOB One account but it seems like earning higher interest definitely requires you to spend at least $500 on your credit card. So even if you managed to fulfil the other criteria (salary credit of at least $2k OR 3 GIRO transactions), you still won't get the higher interest if you don't hit your CC minimum spend. On the other hand, all the bonus interest you can earn are standalone categories. If you managed to hit the minimum spend + salary credit, then you'll get two categories (and very likely also the Boost & Step-Up categories since you don't that much). But if for a particular month that you don't hit the minimum spend, you'll still be getting bonus interest for salary credit (and again, likely Boost & Step-Up). Personally, when I was taking on an internship, I was still earning bonus interest from the other categories even though I couldn't hit the min. $2k salary crediting category. Hope this helps!
👍 2

Payments

UOB One Card

UOB

UOB One Account

Savings Accounts

Credit Cards

B
Bayle
Level 4. Prodigy
Updated on 07 Jan 2020
3 GIRO Transactions: 1. Monthly payments for the UOB ONE card itself (yes, GIRO payments from the ONE account for the ONE card counts as a valid GIRO transaction). You can apply for this via the UOB online banking website; the mobile app does not have this option. 2. Tax payments to IRAS . This assumes that you have some form of tax to pay (individual income tax, property tax, etc.) and that you pay it via GIRO on a monthly basis. 3. Insurance premiums . Most insurance premiums that require monthly payments have a GIRO option. 4. Utilities & telco bills . I do not recommend that you pay these bills via GIRO because you can usually pay them via credit card instead (and have them count towards the monthly $500 credit card spend). But, they are an option. $500 credit card spend, a minimum of 5 transactions: 1. Grab Pay top-ups . UOB will almost certainly exclude Grab Pay top-ups at some point in the near future, but as of now, Grab Pay top-ups are still included. 2. Monthly subscriptions - Netflix, Spotify, gym memberships, etc. 3. Utilities & telco bills . In particular, some providers allow you to "overpay" or pay for your bills in advance. This is useful for evening out your spend across different months. 4. Grocery or shopping vouchers , such as Takashimaya vouchers (no expiry dates), NTUC vouchers, etc.
👍 1

UOB One Card

SG Budget Babe

Grab

GrabPay Card

Cashback

Finance Savvy

Lifestyle

UOB

UOB One Account

Credit Cards

In order to receive the 5% cashback from UOB One credit card, you will need to spend $2,000 monthly for a consecutive billing quarter, alongside with meeting its other eligibiltiy conditions, e.g. eligible spending. With this in mind, it depends on whether your billing cycle starts in January. Next, there is no restriction on when you wish to spend your credits. All things considered, you may wish to consider topping up or to spend money that you can afford and need to, rather than to overspend for the mere sake of the rebate. Here is everything about me and what I do best.
👍 0

UOB One Account

Savings Accounts

In order to maximise the interest earned from your UOB One account, you will need to meet the eligible spend from the UOB One card on each calendar month. Eligible Spend: Minimum $500 on the card every month. Furthermore, in order to maximise the cash rebate from the UOB One credit card, you will need to spend $500 or $1,000 monthly for a consecutive billing quarter to receive 3% cashback. If you spend $2,000 monthly for a consecutive billing quarter, you will receive 5% cashback. This cashback from the credit card is on top of the interest earned from the UOB One account. For your case, GIRO payment does not count towards the $500 spend. Instead, the $500 spending must come from the UOB One credit card. For your second question, yes, instead of using the credit card facility, you may use UOB One debit card as it is an eligible card to be used in conjunction with UOB One account. Accordingly, you will still receive the additional interest on your UOB One account if the conditions are met. Having mentioned the above points, I will suggest you to understand your cashflow first. Through this process, we will understand our earning ability and spending habit. Here is a guide to help you: https://www.blog.pzl.sg/understanding-your-personal-cash-flow/ This process is especially important as a student where you will want to keep expenses low. As a result, you may wish to evaluate if spending $500 every month is sustainable for you. Otherwise, you may wish to consider other alternatives. Here is everything about me and what I do best.
👍 0
Load more questions

How to maximise the interest rate for UOB One Savings Account?

Base interest rate(%) p.a.

The base interest rate per annum for UOB One savings account is 0.05%

Bonus Interest Rate(%) p.a

The bonus interest rate per annum for UOB One savings account comes with a few criteria:

If one spends S$500 on UOB One Card:

  • 1.0% p.a. bonus for the first S$10,000 of your account balance.
  • 1.5% p.a. bonus for the next S$20,000 of your account balance.
  • 2.0% p.a. bonus for the next S$20,000 of your account balance.
  • 0.05% p.a. bonus for anything over S$50,000 of your account balance.

If one spends S$500 on UOB One Card and Credit Salary of at least S$2,000:

  • 1.5% p.a. bonus for the first S$10,000 of your account balance.
  • 2.0% p.a. bonus for the next S$20,000 of your account balance.
  • 3.33% p.a. bonus for the next S$20,000 of your account balance.
  • 0.05% p.a. bonus for anything over S$50,000 of your account balance.

If one spends S$500 on UOB One Card and pay 3 monthly GIRO bills:

  • 1.5% p.a. bonus for the first S$10,000 of your account balance.
  • 2.0% p.a. bonus for the next S$20,000 of your account balance.
  • 3.33% p.a. bonus for the next S$20,000 of your account balance.
  • 0.05% p.a. bonus for anything over S$50,000 of your account balance.

Terms and fees for UOB One Savings Account

  • Initial deposit: S$1,000
  • Citizenship status: Singaporeans, PRs and foreigners
  • Minimum age to open account: 18
  • Minimum Average Daily Balance: S$500
  • Fall below fee: S$2
  • Early closure fee: S$30 if below 6 months

For more information, you can check out their website here.