PhillipCapital (POEMS) Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

  • Overview
  • Reviews (128)
  • Questions (21)
  • More Details
Online Brokerages/PhillipCapital (POEMS)
Online Brokerages/PhillipCapital (POEMS)

USER RATINGS

Customer Support

4.5

User Experience

4.3
Online Brokerages/PhillipCapital (POEMS)

USER RATINGS

Read reviews

Customer Support

4.5

User Experience

4.3

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

$25
TRADING FEES
0.18% to 0.28%
MINIMUM FEE
CDP
STOCK HOLDING TYPE

    PhillipCapital (POEMS)

    $25
    TRADING FEES
    0.18% to 0.28%
    MINIMUM FEE
    CDP
    STOCK HOLDING TYPE

Details

Phillip's Online Electronic Mart System, or POEMS for short, is an online trading platform and brokerage by PhillipCapital. POEMS offers various types of accounts catered to the different needs of individual investors.

Types of Accounts available with PhillipCapital (POEMS)

The types of account provided are:

  • Basic Trading (Cash) Account
  • Securities Financing Account
  • Securities Borrowing Account
  • Leveraged FX Account
  • Futures Account
  • Equities Plus Account

Read More about PhillipCapital (POEMS)
Reviews (128)

4.3

128 Reviews

  • 5
    67
  • 4
    44
  • 3
    11
  • 2
    4
  • 1
    2

Read Review About...

customer service

user friendly

user interface

commission rate

market access

interface easy

products offered

poems platform

year poems

trading platform

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated 2d ago

    Purchased

    PhillipCapital (POEMS)

    Platform is user friendly. Customer support is average. Spoken to staff who are rude perhaps due to overwork. Be prepared to wait up to 20 minutes or so for your call to be picked up. After the 20 minutes or so wait, be prepared to receive sarcastic remarks from their call support team if you asked too many questions. So I would advise all traders to have a back up platform offered by other service providers just in case you find their support unsatisfactory like I did.
    2 comments
    0
    PhillipCapital
    PhillipCapital

    16h ago

    Dear Lai Meng, we apologise for your experience. We are continuously working to improve especially in such volatile times. Please use the PhillipCapital chatbot available at www.poems.com.sg to skip the waiting time. It is a 24/7 digibot that can help you with your POEMS trading account queries. Thank you.
    Wang Lai Meng
    Wang Lai Meng

    13h ago

    Dear PhillipCapital, I did try the Chatbot and send an email before I queue for the call pick up. It was a long queue for the Chatbot, I was 9th in line. The email response said I will receive a response within 1 to 3 working days time. If you play back the recordings of my conversation with your call support staff, you will understand why I had to make that call. The tone and language used by your call support person mimicks what I would receive from an overworked hawker auntie for asking one too many questions, not what I would expect from an award winning trading platform company such as Phillip Capital.
  • Updated on 04 Feb 2020

    Purchased

    PhillipCapital (POEMS)

    [Market Access] Very good market access. Can see a whole birds eye view of what the market is offering. [Commission Rates] A bit expensive, got cheaper ones out there.
    1 comment
    0
    PhillipCapital
    PhillipCapital

    12 Feb 2020

    Hi Anne, glad to hear that you like the market access. We offer competitive rates coupled with our many free services/seminars for our clients. For cheaper account types, pls refer to https://www.poems.com.sg/pricing/. If you require any help, feel free to contact us at [email protected] or 6531 1555. Thank you.
  • Updated on 20 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    PhillipCapital (POEMS)

    Yes, I also think that non-resident foreigners, should by default have a safe 2FA login option. In Europe it became obligatory for all financial institutions in 2019. Ameritrade in the U.S. also does not offer it for non-resident foreigners, but at least with their App you can login with Your smartphone Touch ID. Since on opening the POEMS account I received a single SMS alright (Singapore to Switzerland), there should be no technical barrier. ................................ One nice tweak would be to have in the account statements for every single lot bought: an annualized % performance figure as also an internal rate of return calculated % figure for the total portfolio. That would be great for long term buy&hold investors. Thank You, dear POEMS team for your ongoing support. bye FrankieS
    2 comments
    0
    PhillipCapital
    PhillipCapital

    13 Dec 2019

    Hi Frankie Scherff, thanks for your compliment! We are glad we served you well as your partner in finance.
    Frankie Aufhauser-Rappaport
    Frankie Aufhauser-Rappaport

    13 Dec 2019

    Thank You for the comment. really super service.
  • Updated on 12 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    PhillipCapital (POEMS)

    Hi, Its been wonderful to partner with you in my investment journey. I came to know about Poems at SGX Seminar and from there I maintained and grew my relationship with Phillips. At the seminar I opened 2 more Securities account, but I closed both of them. You know why!, but my account with Poems is still active. I attended some of your seminar in the office on Saturdays and got good advise my remeisser. I loved you promotions for transferring in my UTs from OCBC bank and also for buying UTs at no commission rate. In addition to that, I like you online (browser based) as well as mobile app-based trading interface. Kudos to Poems. Thanks for all your help. Best Regards ganesh
    1 comment
    0
    PhillipCapital
    PhillipCapital

    30 Jan 2020

    Hi Ganesh, glad that you enjoy our services. Thank you for reaffirming our efforts.
  • Posted on 18 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    PhillipCapital (POEMS)

    Platform is good and user friendly. However, sometimes system down recently, need to improve to zero time down because this is a trading platform. Fees are very competitive especially prepaid cash account, for US Market, at least during promo period. However, 2FA is only available for Singapore IC or Singapore Residents, and not available for foreigner non-residents. It is quite unfortunate, as when we open big names Singapore bank account as a non-resident foreigner, we get 2FA login security. This 2FA gives us more confident putting more money in Phillip. Especially, in high digital spam and crime environment we experience these days. Please consider to sponsor issuing 2FA by OneKey for foreigners non-residents, i do not mind paying a fee for getting one. Thank you.
    3 comments
    0

    1 more comments

    Frankie Aufhauser-Rappaport
    Frankie Aufhauser-Rappaport

    20 Jan 2020

    Absolutely true. I would love to have a 2FA option, thank You
    PhillipCapital
    PhillipCapital

    30 Jan 2020

    Hi Frankie, we will share with the team. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Questions (21)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Stocks Discussion

Investments

REITs

Interactive Brokers

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

ZT
Zachary Teo
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered 3d ago
I would say POEMS. I am using IB for US stocks because of their recency and lower transaction rate. Their forex is pretty good too for SGD to USD. If I am not wrong, you cannot trade Singapore stocks on IB since 2018. (Need more information about this)
👍 0

REITs

SAXO Capital Markets

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

FSM One

SGX

COVID-19

Choon Wang
Choon Wang
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered 5d ago
It'a pretty obvious malls and shopping centres are already significantly less crowded since the early days of COVID-19 and for that reason, REITs as a whole have already been badly affected. The entertainment venue ban includes karaoke outlets, cinemas, tuition and enrichment centres and certain open atrium sales events. That would mean even less traffic in the malls and shopping centres. In my opinion, whether REITs prices will continue to fall may largely depend on whether it is necessary for the government to impose even stricter measures to combat COVID-19 (worse case scenario, the L word), and of course, how long it takes for such measures to be lifted (bye bye COVID-19).
👍 0

Investments

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

Poems has several type of account If they did not ask u to open cdp or link cdp then it should be a custodian account. Please kindly check with them.
👍 2

Investments

Stocks Discussion

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

Regular Shares Savings Plans (RSS/RSP)

Jonathan Chia Guangrong
Jonathan Chia Guangrong, Fund Manager at JCG Fund
Level 8. Wizard
Answered on 17 Feb 2020
I'll avoid the Infinity US 500 fund if I were you. Costs doesn't make sense as Frankie mentioned. There are several choices when it comes to investing in the S&P500: https://www.investopedia.com/investing/top-sp-500-etfs/. Do pull the trigger only if you think the index will continue to rise further.
👍 1

Investments

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

Online Brokerages

Brokerages

Stocks Discussion

CH
CH
Level 6. Master
Updated on 31 Jan 2020
Bad experiences with philip. as a beginner, i wanted to educate myself by attending seminars and have someone to ask questions. but the seminars are usually some sales pitch for a magic formula trading course. and the brokers could not be bothered with me. had much lesser issues when i use 2 big local banks in house brokerages. am still using these two brokerages. but, if you ultimately want only one single platform to access all your shares, unit trusts, insurances, i guess philip is an option you might consider.
👍 1

Insurance

Investments

Stocks Discussion

Investment Linked Policies (ILP)

AIA

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

Hi anon, I don't recommend investing via an insurance policy. Investments and insurance should be clearly seperated. When you invest via a policy, you become bound by the T&Cs of that policy. Transactional costs aside, I personally feel that the need to liquidate as I wish is important in investing, as long as I can accept the market value at the time of liquidation. There are better ways to invest. You can do so on your own terms, or get an advisor to manage for you (note: this is not the same as commiting to a policy), we are talking about advisory here. You can easily set up an RSP with any brokerage firm to get yourself started, and have the complete freedom to start, stop and restart any time. Naturally, there are many options at this point, but you should take your time to learn about the various asset classes, and then decide what is best for you.
👍 2

Stocks Discussion

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

FSM INVEST EXPO 2020

DBS Vickers Securities

Lim Boon Tat
Lim Boon Tat, Mathematics at Cambridge University
Level 6. Master
Answered on 19 Jan 2020
I am only aware of POEMS
👍 0

Savings

Investments

Family

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

Marriage

Hi anon, 1 year of base expenses would be my benchmark for emergency funds, but there is no harm to have 1 year of base salary either. Assuming you have your emergency funds set aside, you should aim to grow the rest of the monies, taking into account your time horizon and needs. Regardless of whether both of you are aiming for FIRE or not, do bear in mind that investments involve risk, so in the short-mid term (3 to 5 years), monies that are needed during this period should be placed in safer investments. FDs, SSBs, POEMS money market, and even short term endowments can be considered. You wouldn't want to invest your monies only to see 20%-40% of the portfolio value wiped out right before the downpayment for the house renovations or the wedding. Understand that time bound commitments will require a certain level of predictability for funding them (if you have to pay the wedding banquet, the hotel won't extend an extra year to you just because the market is down), whereas FIRE, which doesn't technically have a fixed time frame (if you FIRE a year later than you intened, it doesn't really hurt you). For context, although I don't know what you have in mind for your wedding/reno/car, I can provide some context for the wedding costs (these are more common, if you wish to engage other vendors, then it depends, eg. an emcee): - Wedding banquet: Tables are anywhere from $1000 - $1800 depending on the hotel. Restaurants are cheaper. Multiply that by the number of tables - Photog: $1200 onwards - Video: $1500 onwards - Bridal package: $2000 onwards depending on package details, number of dresses, etc - MUA: $700 onwards - Wedding Bands: $1000 onwards - Don't forget the ang baos for the actual day! It can add up Renovations can cost anywhere from $15K-$20K onwards. Home appliances will really depend, but actually you'd probably get by with a basic washing machine, dryer, fridge and TV, while slowly installing other stuff like home entertainment systems or robotic vaccum cleaners. I don't own a car, so hard for me to comment there. Sorry. Try getting a second hand though, to get an idea of the costs, without a significant capital outlay required.
👍 2

Investments

ETF

STI ETF

FSM One

Regular Shares Savings Plans (RSS)

OCBC

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

Jack
Jack
Level 3. Wonderkid
Answered on 10 Jan 2020
If your monthly investment among is big enough, I will say POEMs will be good for you. If I recall correctly, they even allow you to automatically reinvest your dividend at no extra fees.
👍 0

Investments

DBS

OCBC

PhillipCapital (POEMS)

ETF

Stocks Discussion

Dividends

STI ETF

Hi anon, I would not recommend doing RSP into the STI ETF.As an ETF, for capital gains, it is mediocre at best, for dividends, you are looking at 3% onwards, which is not exactly fantastic either. On the platform wise, it is my current understanding that POEMS SBP does give you the most choice in terms of what you can RSP into. You may consider doing around $3000-$5000 a month into a few counters for the next 3 - 4 years, based on your current cash holdings. However do take note that SBP only applies to equities. What you can do is to consider a multi asset strategy to better manage the risk of your portfolio. This includes - Fixed income funds for around 3%-5% yield, underlying asset would be bonds, this will add stability to your portfolio - Equity and REITs for 4% to 6% yield, although these have higher risk associated with them (although you did say that you don't have time to invest in individual stocks, so look at holding only a handful of good ones via POEMS SBP) - Deferred annuity for 3% - 5% yield, which will be immune to market conditions and hence form part of your basic floor for income solutions What you'll want to achieve is a portfolio giving a low volatility, stable and predictable income. As an example, you can start by earmarking around 1/4 of your funds to deploy via SBP over 3 - 4 years as I have mentioned earlier. 1/4 can be used to RSP into fixed income funds. 1/4 can be used to set up a deferred annuity and the last 1/4 will be held as a warchest to be deployed ad-hoc when opportunity manifests itself (you'll have to monitor the market for this, or work with someone who can advise, manage and monitor your portfolio).
👍 12
Load more questions

Types of services PhillipCapital POEMS provides

  • Poems 2.0 - a beginner friendly all encompassing interface for investors of all levels
  • Poems Mobile - for easy trading on the go
  • Poems Mercury - for more advanced traders
  • Other specialised platforms for CFD, Forex, UT and Futures
  • Access to over 40,000 products across more than 26 global markets
  • View your entire portfolio and access advanced features across all platforms anytime
  • Over 30 trading tools and features such as Enhanced Market Depth and Ticker Streamer for analysis and research

Types of accounts available with PhillipCapital (POEMS)

The types of account provided are:

  • Basic Trading (Cash) Account
  • Securities Financing Account
  • Securities Borrowing Account
  • Leveraged FX Account
  • Futures Account
  • Equities Plus Account

Brokerage fees and charges of PhillipCapital (POEMS)

The fees and charges of PhillipCapital (POEMS) are as follows:

Online

  • Minimum Commission: S$25
  • Investment of S$50,000 and below: 0.28%
  • Investment of S$50,000 to S$100,000: 0.22%
  • Investment above S$100,000: 0.18%

By Phone

  • Minimum Commission: S$40
  • Investment of S$50,000 and below: 0.50%
  • Investment of S$50,000 to S$100,000: 0.40%
  • Investment above S$100,000: 0.25%

Other transaction charges:

  • Clearing fee imposed by CDP: 0.0325%
  • SGX Trading fee: 0.0075%

Contact PhillipCapital (POEMS)