Maybank eVibes Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

Maybank eVibes Card

  • Overview
  • Reviews (4)
  • Questions (3)
  • More Details
Credit Cards/Maybank eVibes Card

Maybank eVibes Card - The Student Card Plan

1% on all spend
CASHBACK
Unlimited
CASHBACK CAP
$0
MINIMUM SPEND

    Maybank eVibes Card - The Student Card Plan

    1% on all spend
    CASHBACK
    Unlimited
    CASHBACK CAP
    $0
    MINIMUM SPEND
Reviews (4)

4.5

4 Reviews

  • 5
    2
  • 4
    2
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Read Review About...

credit card

card cashback

student card

cards working

working adult

cashback spending

minimum spend

annual fee

cash lot

quarterly annual

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Posted on 06 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    Maybank eVibes Card - The Student Card Plan

    This was my first credit card that I applied for as a student. I really recommend this card for students since the 1% cashback is quite good compared to other similar cards. I also like that there aren't any annual/service fees as long as the card is used at least once a quarter. Although after I started working, I asked Maybank to review my credit limit, but they couldn't increase the limit since it's a student card. But it doesn't really matter since there are better cashback cards out there for working adults.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 28 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Maybank eVibes Card - The Student Card Plan

    Had this card as a uni student, served me well. Used to think the 1% cash back was a lot, until I got my credit cards as a working adult...
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 17 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Maybank eVibes Card - The Student Card Plan

    Best student credit card! 1% cashback for all spending (even for ezlink card topups!). No cap for the cashback and no minimum spend as well. Im glad I've use it to purchase my $2k+ laptop previously and gotten a good $20+! Best for NSF and students because theres no requirement and no annual fee (just need to make sure you use the card regularly. As mentioned, use it to topup your ezlink card every month)
    2 comments
    0
    Valerie Wee

    13 Jan 2020

    Hi! Sorry if this question sounds a bit stupid, but how did you manage to purchase a $2k laptop with a $500 credit limit?
    Tay WenHao
    Tay WenHao

    14 Jan 2020

    Hi you can pay an advance payment. Then use it as a 'debit' card. So in a way you 'topup' your CC to increase it limit....
  • Posted on 16 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    Maybank eVibes Card - The Student Card Plan

    Hands down, one of the best credit card for students and NSFs. 1% cashback on all spending with no minimum required. The quarterly ("annual") fee is also easy to waive! Moreover, Maybank has quite a few good deals occasionally as opposed to CIMB which also gives 1% cashback but is only limited to telco, dining and online shopping. Customer service is easily reachable via the hotline with decent waiting time as opposed to other major banks like OCBC. However, the iBanking platform isn't as wonderful and smooth as compared to DBS or even CIMB, which got revamped recently. Nevertheless, I still highly recommend this credit card for all NSFs and students! Great way to earn rebates and build your credit score. Currently, this is my main card for all spending and expenses!
    0 comments
    0
Questions (3)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

Citi Clear Card

Maybank

Maybank eVibes Card

Citibank

Cashback

Miles

MileLion

SG Budget Babe

Credit Cards

Brandon Ho
Brandon Ho, Community Lead at Seedly
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (Feb)

Level 6. Master
Answered on 25 Feb 2020
Hi Anon, I'm assuming that you're considering applying for either one of these 2 cards because you're a uni student. Both of these cards are decent for this age demographic, however, I think that the Maybank eVibes Card edges the Citi Clear Card. Here are each cards' respective perks and rewards: Citi Clear Card - 1 Point (0.4 miles) per S$1 general spend - No minimum spend requirement - S$500 credit limit - Receive S$20 cashback w/ S$50 spend in 1st month - $29.96 Annual Fee, only waived for the first year. Maybank eVibes Card - 1% unlimited cash rebate on all spend - No minimum spend requirement - S$500 credit limit - S$5 quarterly service fee waived 2 years, then with use of card at least 1x/quarter - Access to Maybank TREATS discounts & privileges - Receive Adidas wristwatch (worth S$120) on 1st charge, during 1st month - Annual Fee of $20- Waived if you use the card minimally once every three months If you're looking to accumulate miles, and refuse to look at any other cards other than these 2, then I would reluctantly say that the Citi Clear Card would be the better option for you. However, since Citipoints expire after a year, you'd be unable to meaningfully accumulate enough miles to redeem something of value, and hence I'd suggest that getting this card is rather counter-intuitive. The Maybank eVibes Card would be a better option for uni students, as the 1% cashback and no minimum spend is definitely a better option- every cent helps during the most broke period of your life hahah Hope this helps!
ūüĎć 4

Maybank eVibes Card

Credit Cards

Yupe, the Maybank eVibes Card offers 1% cash rebate on all spend except to those entites that you highlighted. You can look at other cards with similar or better benefits such as Maybank FC Barcelona Visa Signature Card, Standard Chartered Unlimited Cashback Credit Card or Maybank Manchester United Platinum Visa Card I make videos about interesting stuff at youtube here
ūüĎć 0

DBS Live Fresh Visa Student Card

Maybank eVibes Card

CIMB AWSM Card

SG Budget Babe

Cashback

Education

Credit Cards

Bjorn Ng
Bjorn Ng
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 20 Dec 2019
For me, I got the Maybank eVibes, because it has a $500 limit to control my spending. It also gives 1% rebate on all things, so I don't have to bother to meet any min. spend. It's a fuss free card that I can use for everything. And yes, you can consider other cards when you start earning a steady salary, but at the end of it, as long as you remember not to overspend and only spend on what's necessary, that is fine!
ūüĎć 6

Eligibility for MayBank eVibes Student Card

  • Singaporean and Permanent Residents
  • Between 18 and 30 years of age (Those below 21 years of age must have the consent of parent/guardian)
  • Existing Tertiary student or NSF accepted into a local University
  • No Minimum Income

Fees and Charges for MayBank eVibes Student Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: S$5 quarterly
  • Fee waiver: Available
  • Interest-Free Period: 25 days
  • Annual Interest Rate: 25.90%
  • Minimum monthly payment: 3% or S$20, whichever is higher
  • Late payment charge: 5% or S$80, whichever is higher
  • Cash advance fee: 5% or $15, whichever is higher
  • Overlimit fee: N/A
  • Fees for foreign currency transactions: Up to 2.75% of the transaction amount

Key features of MayBank eVibes Student Card

  • S$500 credit limit
  • Earn 1% cash rebates on all your purchases (No minimum spending)
  • Track your expenses online 24/7 at your convenience
  • Fast and convenient mobile payment via Samsung Pay
  • Receive a stylish Adidas wristwatch worth S$120 upon application
  • Promotional Codes (Until 31 December 2019)
    - ZALORA: 15% off with minimum spend of S$100 [Promotion Code: MAYBANK2019]
    - AGODA: Up to 8% off accommodation bookings worldwide