AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Questions (9)
  • More Details
Credit Cards/AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

American Express Singapore KrisFlyer Card

1.1 mpd
LOCAL SPEND
2 mpd
FOREIGN SPEND
0.56 miles per point
CONVERSION

    American Express Singapore KrisFlyer Card

    1.1 mpd
    LOCAL SPEND
    2 mpd
    FOREIGN SPEND
    0.56 miles per point
    CONVERSION

Details

About American Express (Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card)

Since 1850, American Express (AMEX) has remained committed to providing its customers with the best products and services. Some popular credit cards include AMEX CapitaCard, AMEX Platinum Credit Card, AMEX True Cashback Card, AMEX Personal Card and AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card.

Read More about AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card
Reviews (24)

3.5

24 Reviews

  • 5
    8
  • 4
    5
  • 3
    6
  • 2
    1
  • 1
    4

Read Review About...

credit card

miles card

sign bonus

earn miles

promotions perks

card spend

krisflyer miles

krisflyer account

customer service

bonus miles

Most Recent

  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 11 Feb 2020

    Purchased

    American Express Singapore KrisFlyer Card

    To be entirely honest, I didn't really need another credit card in my wallet. But then I discovered I could earn 10,000 KrisFlyer miles at an effective rate of 10 mpd, and there was no way I was going to pass that up. [Application and Approval] Possibly one of the best of the 5 credit card applications I've submitted so far. There was a glitch with getting my details from MyInfo, but the manual approach was great, too – I had in-principle approval the moment I finished submitting the details, and the card within a few working days. [Promotions and Perks] 5,000 KrisFlyer for the first charge on the card, and another 5,000 KrisFlyer miles for signing up with a referral link and spending $1000 in 3 months is a great deal by any stretch. I also ended up referring a friend, which earned me another 5,000 miles when their application was approved. In theory, I've racked up a total of ~15,000 KrisFlyer miles with a total spend of $1000: good math in my books. [General] The AmEx app is very cleanly designed, and gives you a very clear overview of your transactions. Major banks could learn a thing or two about app design from Amex! Overall, this is unlikely to be my general spending card of choice with its measly 1.1 mpd earn rate. But between the signup/referral bonuses, the 3.1 mpd on Grab transactions (wallet top-ups included until end Feb), and the automatic transfer of miles to my KrisFlyer account at no cost, I have no regrets whatsoever about hopping on the co-brand credit card bandwagon.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 10 Feb 2020

    Purchased

    American Express Singapore KrisFlyer Card

    [Miles Card] [Promotions and Perks] [Useful For...] Recently signed up for this card due to the promotion in Jan with the free stay at Village Hotel Sentosa. Approval process was fast, took only 2-3 working days. Amex sg app is really user friendly and has a clean layout. It allows you to see the bonus KF miles that you earned from your transactions. I would recommend this card for the new sign up promotions, and gathering miles on transactions such as grab and other daily essentials that earn 3.1 mpd.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 28 Jan 2020

    Purchased

    American Express Singapore KrisFlyer Card

    [Promotions and Perks] As of 28 Jan 2020, you will recieve 5,000 Krisflyer miles upon first spend on card and 7,500 Krisflyer miles when you spend $1,000 in the first 3 months of card membership. You will also be able to earn the current promotion. 1 free night stay at Village Hotel Sentosa! For more information, check out my other post on Seedly.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 11 Dec 2019

    Purchased

    American Express Singapore KrisFlyer Card

    [Promotions and Perks] Got this at the start of the year with a pretty good sign up bonus, got 30,800 miles after meeting minimum spend of $6k in the first 6 months. Best thing about the card I think is the 3.1 miles for Grab spend (for first $200). With Grabpay and Grabpay card, the card is more usable as you can always top that up and use Grab to pay instead. Credit card spend also included for Paypal. Basically whatever you can use Amex for will count as card spend. Not the most impressive miles card but pretty decent perks.
    0 comments
    0
  • Posted on 20 Nov 2019

    Purchased

    American Express Singapore KrisFlyer Card

    [Promotions and Perks] I got my card over the weekend for the sign up bonus miles which was quite attractive for an entry level miles card like the AMEX KF credit card. I can get 31,000 Krisfyler miles which is broken down as such: - 5,000 miles upon first card spend - 7,500 miles for the first $5,000 spend in the first 3 months - 7,500 miles for the next $5,000 spend in the 4th to 6th month (following 3 months) - 11,000 miles earned on the $1.1 miles spent locally. [Useful For...] Bonus on the sign up spending [Miles Card] It gives me an earn rate of 1.1mpd on local spend, nothing to shout about but when stacked with my sign up bonus miles rate, it is actually a pretty good deal.
    0 comments
    0
Questions (9)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

KrisFlyer

AMEX KrisFlyer Ascend Card

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

Credit Cards

Kenneth Lou
Kenneth Lou, Co-founder at Seedly
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Updated on 22 Feb 2020
Found this online: "They're 2 different security codes for cards. Amex has 2 levels of security: they have the normal CVV (Card Verification Value) and the 3 digits are a CID . CVV is a calculated highly secure 4 digit code based on your card number that is not contained in the card magnetic strip, which is the reason why it's printed on the card itself. If someone were to take your magnetic strip or print your card. It would not contain your CVV or CID, so it could not be used for card not present transactions or most high-end merchants, which require CVV, CVV2, or CID as a form of further verification that the card is indeed there. CID (Card Identification Data) on the back of the card is similar to Visa/MC/Discover. It's a 3 digit number that again is not stored on the card magnetic strip and is not visible on the front of the card, but again ensures that the card is in your possession at that the numbers have been not tampered with. CVV and CID verification process of card numbers is not published or available for many, many reasons, so I have no idea how they verify your card number, but they do somehow. To get to your question why does Amex ask for those 3 digits? Because they can. They require most merchants these days to verify the CVV before processing payment, but for their measures of security they verify the CVV and CID. I think most of us who have had the card for many years memorize the CVV, but I couldn't for the life of me memorize the CID, so that could be the reason to." Found a super interesting QnA : Why your card number is embossed, but the CVV is not? This clever little bit from the banks is a matter of your money’s safety. One way of committing credit card fraud is to physically make an imprint of your card while holding it for just a brief moment. Afterwards they can give it back and you’re none the wiser. The CVV is therefore not embossed in order to protect you from someone making an imprint of your card (ex. in clay) and getting away with everything you have! Why the CVV is written on your card? You may think that this is so you can shop online and pay with your card not being present. However, this was not the original intention when writing the number on the card. This is in fact to make your card even more secure by protecting it from being skimmed, or scanned, as the CVV number is not contained within the magnetic strip on your card. Pretty neat! Why is the CVV on the front of the card rather than the back? Unfortunately there’s no magic behind this and a lot of it comes down to just how AMEX likes to classify and categorize things. American Express uses two numbers for security purposes. The 4-digit CVV is the one we know and use for CNP (Card Not Present) transactions. However, AMEX does actually have a 3-digit code on the back, it’s just the one known as CIP, which is essentially the same thing VISA and MasterCard will ask you for. AMEX has just developed a separate layer of security and added a CVV number on the front as well, because they simply care too much not to! What’s the difference between CVV, CVC, CID, CVV2? None… They’re all just safety measures, so you don’t have to worry about it and can finally get rid of those sleepless nights! SmartTrade Allows you take Visa, MasterCard and AMEX from any major banks with just an app. You can also get 0% card fees on transactions on all these card types, even AMEX.
👍 1

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

Miles

KrisFlyer

MileLion

It takes around one month for the crediting. If you don't see it after this, do give the hotline a call to check.
👍 3

AMEX Singapore Airlines Solitaire PPS Credit Card

AMEX KrisFlyer Ascend Card

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Ascend Credit Card

MileLion

Miles

Credit Cards

Hi anon, Frankly, the benefits of this card are really not worth the annual fee. Actually, I can hardly call them benefits because you could probably get them from other cards of similar income requirements, without having to pay the high annual fees. You'll be better off with the normal card or the KF Ascend if you want a co-branded card. The Milelion has written about the pros and cons here: https://milelion.com/2020/02/05/exploring-the-lesser-known-krisflyer-amex-cards-for-pps-and-solitaire-pps-members/
👍 2

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

KrisFlyer

MileLion

Miles

Credit Cards

To me, with the fact that my miles are credit to KF and start their 3 year expiry once I start spending on this card, I would only use this card if I knew I had an upcoming redemption. As you have mentioned, a $1K spend is quite achieveable, but the problem comes when your 10K miles sit in your FFP and can't be used to redeem anything, unless you can spend your way up to a decent number of miles within 3 years. I would use the $1K spend as a way to get 10K miles if I was just short of a redemption that I had in mind (and with miles from other cards already primed for transfer into KF), or, if I had big spend coming up and wanted to get the bigger bonus of 37K miles.
👍 2

MileLion

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

Miles

KrisFlyer

Credit Cards

Hi anon, Look at splitting the sign ups and doubling your sign up bonuses, especially if it is worth it. I have a client who is getting married and signed up for an SCB X-card for him and his wife to be. They are now sitting on 200K miles. Now, since the miles can't be transferred, most of the wedding spend is placed on the wife's card first till there are enough miles for a redemption to their dream destination (Tokyo in Suites, 140K saver), so that's another 40K miles needed on the wife's account. The plan after that is to ditch the wife's card, and carry on accumulating on the husband's since he is more into this than the wife. This might work for your case as well.
👍 3

MileLion

Miles

AMEX KrisFlyer Ascend Card

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Ascend Credit Card

UOB KrisFlyer Credit Card

KrisFlyer

Credit Cards

Hi anon, This is my view: I would skip the KF Co-branded cards if I didn't have a compelling reason to use them, as most cards will still allow you to earn miles that can then be transferred to KF anyway, which effectively extends the lifespan of your miles. KF co-branded cards will credit the earned miles to your KF account and that is where the 3 year countdown starts. Superior earn rates exists with cards like BOC Elite Miles for general spend, and 4 mpd cards for specialized spend, so if you get a co-brand card, you may miss out on some good opportunities (with the exception of the UOB KF card, which gives up to 3mpd....up to 1 year later) Although it may be a hassle at the start to track your points and miles from the bank side, you'll make up for it with a far superior number of KF miles than if you went with a co-brand strategy. The co brand cards, however, do have good sign up bonuses, so you can consider those as a quick way to boost your balance. Until KF becomes an activity based FFP where any activity extends the validity of all miles, I would rather keep my miles on the bank side till I'm ready.
👍 1

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

KrisFlyer

MileLion

Miles

Choon Yuan Chan
Choon Yuan Chan
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 18 Jan 2020
Yes, it is. My referrals who spend 5k gets the extra 1k miles for their first 1k spending so far
👍 1

Miles

MileLion

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

KrisFlyer

Credit Cards

Perhaps you could be a little more specific with the question, what do you mean by 'account for all spend'? Are you referring to a card with few exclusion categories?
👍 5

UOB KrisFlyer Credit Card

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

Credit Cards

Aik Kai
Aik Kai
Level 7. Grand Master
Updated on 04 Sep 2019
Short answer, yes. Case in point, I own both. It doesn't matter if you own multiple co-branded cards as it just means more channels for you to earn miles.
👍 0

American Express Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

American Express Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

Find out how a Cashback credit card works, and the difference between Cashbacks and cash rebates.

Eligibility for American Express Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

To be eligible for the AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card, you'll have to meet the following criteria:

  • 21 years old and above
  • Supplementary card application should be 18 years old and above
  • For Singaporeans and PRs: Minimum annual income of S$30,000
  • For foreigners: Minimum annual income of S$60,000

Fees and Charges for AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

  • Annual Principle Fee: $176.55
  • Annual Supplementary Card fee: $53.50
  • Fee waiver: Available for the first year
  • Interest-Free Period: 22 days
  • Annual Interest Rate: 25.90%
  • Minimum monthly payment: 3% or $50, whichever is higher
  • Late payment charge: $60
  • Cash advance fee: 5%

Key Features and Benefits of AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card

These are some features of the AMEX KrisFlyer Credit Card and the Cashback benefits it has to offer.

AMEX Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card Benefits

What You'll Get

KrisFlyer miles on Singapore Airlines

S$1 = 2 KrisFlyer miles on eligible purchases made on singaporeair.com, SingaporeAir mobile app, silkair.com and KrisShop (in-flight and online), with no cap.

Cashback

S$150 Cashback on your next purchase on singaporeair.com when you spend S$12,000

Miles

  • $1 = 1.1 KrisFlyer miles
  • $1 in foreign currency spent overseas on eligible purchases during June and December = 2 KrisFlyer miles
  • $1 spend on Grab Singapore = 3.1 KrisFlyer miles

Exclusive Hertz privileges worldwide

Enjoy Hertz Gold Plus Rewards® loyalty programme with special benefits over 8,500 participating locations across 150 countries around the world

Insurance

Up to S$350,000 Travel Inconvenience & Travel Accident Benefits

American Express Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card - Benefits

AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Credit Card Promotions

  • You can receive up to 26,000 KrisFlyer miles as you long as you satisfy the minimum spending in your first 3 months, apply for 2 Supplementary cards, and refer a friend:
  • Welcome bonus of 5,000 KrisFlyer miles
  • Up to 7,500 KrisFlyer miles when you spend S$5,000 within the first 3 months of Card Membership
  • For the first 2 approved Supplementary Cards, you can receive 1,500 KrisFlyer miles for each card
  • Receive 5,000 KrisFlyer miles when you refer a friend

Terms and conditions of AMEX Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer Card

  • Miles can only be earned with selected merchants
  • The following transactions will not accrue miles: finance charges, late payment and collection charges, tax refunds from overseas purchases, balance transfer, instalment plans and top-up charges for EZ-Link cards. For the full list, please visit the T&Cs here.

American Express Contact Info

Customer service: 1800 723 1339

Still unsure? Find out everything you need about credit cards - including what the best credit cards in Singapore are for miles and Cashback, factors to consider before getting one, fees to know, and why a good credit score matters.

You can also pose questions (anonymously, if you'd prefer) on the Seedly Q&A platform.