AIG Car Insurance Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
 

AIG Car Insurance

  • Overview
  • Reviews (3)
  • Questions (0)
  • More Details
Car Insurance/AIG Car Insurance
Car Insurance/AIG Car Insurance
1.0
3 reviews

Unclaimed

This product has not been claimed by the company yet.

Plans (3)

Slide 1 of 3
  • AIG AutoValue Plan

    Authorised
    WORKSHOP
    None
    NCD PROTECTION
    No
    24H ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE
  • AIG AutoPlan Plan

    Any
    WORKSHOP
    50%
    NCD PROTECTION
    No
    24H ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE
  • AIG AutoPlus Plan

    Authorised
    WORKSHOP
    50%
    NCD PROTECTION
    Yes
    24H ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE

    AIG AutoValue Plan

    Authorised
    WORKSHOP
    None
    NCD PROTECTION
    No
    24H ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE

Details

AIG Car Insurance Review 2020: Is it The Best Car Insurance in Singapore?

At a glance, what makes AIG Car Insurance AutoProtector stand out?

  • Designed to give you peace of mind, AIG Car Insurance provides coverage for third-party damage, car loss, liability for passengers and more
  • 3 tiers of comprehensive plans: AutoValue, AutoPlan, and AutoPlus
  • Enjoy courtesy car benefit for as long as you require
  • Get Up to S$100,000 personal accident coverage
  • The first claim during the policy year will not affect your NCD for 50%NCD
  • AIG's motor insurance covers a wide range of vehicles from Citroens to Subarus, allowing you to repair your vehicle at the authorised workshops and manufacturer authorised repairers, ensuring genuine quality.

Read More about AIG Car Insurance
Reviews (3)

1.0

3 Reviews

  • 5
    0
  • 4
    0
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    3

Read Review About...

Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated on 27 May 2020

    Purchased

    AIG AutoPlus Plan

    It started with the purchasing process. We really had no choice but to go with AIG as they had tied up with car dealers as a "bundle". If we do not go with the bundle, we have to top up a sum to the car price (which is very high! much higher than the difference in premium between AIG and other car insurers' premium). So we are indeed puzzled by their definition of "subsidy by AIG" as promoted to us on why we must go with AIG and why we must top up the purchase price if we opt to go with another insurer. And their is a 2 years plan ! ( We hope MAS can look into this as this form of so called subsidy is false marketing if we end up paying higher) Next the payment processing. We had signed up for a 24 months instalment via a credit card (why not when its zero interest rate). Even though we had signed on the form and marked out the 24 months instalment clearly and checks done by the motor company sales rep, we were billed for the full sum. It took them a couple of weeks to reverse this charge, by which time we had to pay the sum in full as according to UOB Card Center (which we charged the payment to), is to avoid "late interest and late payment" charges. OMG. We were even made to be responsible for someone's else error. So we are now waiting eagerly for the 2 years plan to end and we will be happy to switch to other insurer. Please be more transparent on the marketing tactic used in the so called subsidy and promotion.
    0 comments
    1
    Post
  • Updated on 15 Apr 2020
    Bought my motorcar insurance with AIG as i though it was reputable in singapore. However I did not expect to face serious problems when I sold my car and was expecting a refund for e pro rated premium. Car was sold in oct 2019 and i received a letter from AIG soon after with the premium amount and also that I should expect a 2 month process for the refund cheque to reach me. In December i contacted AIG to enquire on the status of my refund but the customer service officer (cso) informed me that I was not entitled to any refund as i had a claim! However i informed them that the claim was not in the same calendar year and that I have already received a black and white letter from AIG stating the refund amount. Thenafter, they informed me that they have made a mistake and that I would need to call assure company for my refund as my insurance was sublet to them. I was full of doubts but nevertheless called assure. Assure told me that they could not process with the refund as the refund is with AIG! However he provided me with the BDM (John) number to contact who would assist me with the refund. The timeline when we started chatting was 20th January 2020 already. Initially he as very responsive to my queries but kept telling me i had to wait for him to help me chase and it will probably be ready the next week... and the next week and the next week. Afterwards, he told me he was working from home. I waited for him to come back to me but he did not respond / gave me a specific date range when the refund will arrive. He mentioned that he would help me courier the refund but it also did not happen. Eventually John stopped replying me totally and I have no choice but to call back AIG Customer service to assist me. Chatted with Sarah end march / early april 2020 who was very specific and understood my frustrations and she would always call me back whenever we fixed a date to provide me with updates or even when there wasn't any updates she would always call me back. Finally received my refund on 9th April 2020. This is after half a year since I sold my car and 4 months behind on the schedule indicated on the letter sent in october 2019. As much as I thank sarah for the wonderful service, I would not consider AIG for future business anymore. John also did not even contact me until now to even check if I have received my refund when he was supposed to be the one to followup 1-1 for me.
    0 comments
    1
    Post
  • Posted on 10 Nov 2019
    In the 2000s, AIG is quite good but now their service is suck and expensive. I have lots of bad experience with their customer services as well. My Car insurance was with AIG. Recently I met an car accident which another car bump into my car. I called up AIG and told them I have video footage evident and asked them if they were supposed to engage a lawyer for this issue but to my surprise their replied is "No". This ended up I got to engage a lawyer but I luckily managed to win this case. Fyi guys, my friend told me other insurance companies will engage a lawyer if you have the video footage. He also met an accident last year but his insurance company engage a lawyer for him without him worry. Lastly, not recommend you to buy AIG insurance unless otherwise.
    0 comments
    0
    Post
Questions (0)
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending
No questions found.

What does AIG Car Insurance cover?

Types Of AIG Car Insurance Plans

There are 3 tiers of AIG car insurance to choose from: AIG AutoValue, AIG AutoPlan, and AIG AutoPlus.

1. AIG AutoValue

The most basic and cheapest plan. It covers the basics like:

  • Third party damage
  • Car loss
  • Damage (eg. fire, flood, theft)
  • Personal accident benefits
  • Car towing
  • Repairs, which restricted to AIG authorised workshops only

2. AIG AutoPlan

The same coverage as AIG AutoValue, but with some additional benefits:

  • Repairs can be done at any workshop of your choosing
  • Replacement car benefit for cars under 3 years old: so if your vehicle is damaged beyond repair, AIG will pay for a new car of the same make and model.

3. AIG AutoPlus

The most comprehensive, similar coverage as AIG AutoPlan but with a whole slew of extra perks and benefits:

  • Option to waive your excess for free (up to $1,000 for 50% NCD, and up to $500 for NCD below 50%)
  • Able to use AIG's courtesy car for free for an unlimited period of time, when your car is stuck at the workshop
  • Free roadside assistance (even for tasks like changing a tyre)

AIG AutoProtector Accident and Repairs Coverage

Benefits

AutoPlus

AutoPlan

AutoValue

Brand new replacement car

included

included

Choice of workshop

If car is > 3 years old: AIG authorised workshops only

No restriction    

AIG authorised workshops  

24-hour towing and roadside assistance

Free

-

-

24-hour towing after an accident

Up to S$500 per accident

Up to S$300 per accident

Up to S$500 per accident

Waiver of excess on accident repairs

  • 50% NCD: Full waiver of Excess up to S$1,000
  • Below 50% NCD: Half waiver of Excess up to S$1,000

-

-

Cover for car key

Up to S$800

Up to S$800

Up to S$800

Windscreen replacement cover

Unlimited

Unlimited

Unlimited

AIG AutoProtector Personal Accident, Medical and Liability Coverage

Benefits

AutoPlus

AutoPlan

AutoValue

Personal accident cover

S$50,000

S$20,000

S$20,000

Personal accident cover for passengers

S$10,000 /passenger

S$10,000 /passenger

S$10,000 /passenger

Medical expense cover for everyone in the car

S$500 /person

S$500 /person

S$500 /person

Cover for liability to your passengers

Unlimited

Unlimited

Unlimited

Cover for third-party liability due to negligence of your passengers

Unlimited

Unlimited

Unlimited

Other benefits:

  • Coverage for loss or damage caused during a strike, riot or civil commotion: will depend on the market value of your car
  • Coverage for damages caused by floods or windstorm: will depend on the market value of your car
  • 24-hour claims procedure enquiry hotline: available for free for all tiers
  • (View AIG Car Insurance page for the full list of coverage and exclusions)

What Kind Of Add-Ons Are Available With AIG Car Insurance?

Want to add even more protection? Choose from options like:

1. NCD Protector

  • For those who painstakingly achieved a No Claim Discount (NCD) of 50% and wish protect it in the event that you have to make a claim
  • Available for free on your 50% NCD if you renew your AIG AutoPlan or AIG AutoPlus car insurance

2. Courtesy Car

  • Unlike the majority of insurers who only provide a daily transport allowance when your car is in the workshop, AIG will provide you with a courtesy car
  • The vehicle will be delivered to your doorstep and you have unlimited use of it till your car is back from the workshop
  • Available for free for AIG AutoPlus plan, but you can pay extra to enjoy this perk with the other AIG auto insurance plans

Young Inexperienced Driver Excess

  • A young and/or inexperienced driver is defined as a driver under the age of 23 and/or has less than 2 years’ driving experience according to AIG
  • AIG Young Inexperienced Driver Excess is S$3,000

AIG Car Insurance Review Verdict: Is It Worth It?

Undeniably, AIG is a longstanding traditional go-to for car insurance that offers comprehensive coverage.

However, their plans are on the pricier side and have fewer options for customisations.

For the price of AutoValue, you can get better plans outside of AIG.

Hence, to get the most out of your money, choose AutoPlan or AutoPlus instead

The courtesy car that comes with the most premium AutoPlus plan is a huge selling point for drivers who truly rely on their cars on a daily basis.

Still unsure? View our Ultimate Guide to Car Insurance here, to help you get a more holistic view of each plan compared against another.

Contact AIG

Visit AIG Online to get your AIG Car Insurance quote

Personal Insurance/Claims

  • General Claims/ Enquiries: +65 6419 3000
  • 24-Hour Auto Assist Hotline: +65 6338 6200

Premier Client Solutions

  • General Claims/ Enquiries: +65 6419 3099