MSIG TravelEasy Reviews and Comparison - Seedly
Seedly logo
Seedly logo
Ā 

MSIG TravelEasy

  • Overview
  • Reviews (130)
  • Questions (2)
  • More Details
Travel Insurance/MSIG TravelEasy
Travel Insurance/MSIG TravelEasy

MSIG TravelEasy

4.4
130 reviews

USER RATINGS

Ease of Claim

4.0

Claim Duration

4.2

Customer Support

4.4

Ease of Purchase

4.6

Plans (3)

Slide 1 of 3
  • MSIG TravelEasy Standard

    $32.00
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    $250,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $5,000
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $3,000
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE
  • MSIG TravelEasy Elite Plan

    $44.00
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    $500,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $10,000
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $5,000
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE
  • MSIG TravelEasy Premier Plan

    $62
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    $1,000,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $15,000
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $7,500
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

    MSIG TravelEasy Standard

    $32.00
    PER ADULT (THAILAND, 1 WK)
    $250,000
    MEDICAL COVERAGE (OVERSEAS)
    $5,000
    TRIP CANCELLATION
    $3,000
    LOSS OR DAMAGE OF BAGGAGE

Details

MSIG Travel Insurance Review 2020

Here're some benefits offered under MSIG TravelEasy's travel insurance plan:

  • Flight delays
  • Emergency Medical Evacuation
  • Change of traveler option
  • Insolvency of a travel agency or operator
  • Maternity-related overseas medical expenses
  • Personal Liability
  • Overbooked flight

Read More about MSIG TravelEasy
Reviews (130)

4.4

130 Reviews

  • 5
    85
  • 4
    30
  • 3
    6
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    7

Read Review About...

travel insurers

claim process

fuss free

customer service

purchase process

easy purchase

competitive price

msig traveleasy

submit claim

medical claim

Most HelpfulMost RecentLow to HighHigh to Low
  • Updated 2d ago

    Purchased

    MSIG TravelEasy Elite Plan

    I read a Seedly article last year that said MSIG's travel insurance has the best overall value and I have only used MSIG ever since. (Article: "Cheat Sheet: Best Travel Insurance Guide In Singapore 2019") :-P
    1 comment
    0
    MSIG Singapore
    MSIG Singapore

    04 Mar 2020

    Yes, that is absolutely true, Eunice! šŸ˜Š If you have other feedback, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] We'll be happy to help.
  • Updated 3w ago

    Purchased

    MSIG TravelEasy Elite Plan

    [Claims Process] Our Europe trip was cancelled due to Covid-19 and the travel agent refused to refund our deposit, they said there would be a cancellation fee (which is equal to the amount we paid for the deposit). Thankfully we had our insurance policy with MSIG and managed to claim the cancellation fee. We submitted our claim earlier (without the cancellation letter), and they helped to assess the claim. Once confirmed that the amount was claimable (took only a few days), we sent them the cancellation letter and the very next day, they replied saying that the claim was processed and would be paid out within the next 2 weeks. Super efficient! [Customer Service] Claims Executive was very very helpful, very clear and detailed in communicating the steps we have to take in order to process the claim. Very efficient as well, replies are typically made within 1 business day.
    1 comment
    0
    MSIG Singapore
    MSIG Singapore

    3w ago

    Dear Xin, thank you for taking time to leave your review. We are sorry that your Europe trip had to be cancelled due to Covid-19 and hope that the situation improves so you can start travelling again soon. Meanwhile, thank you for the positive comments, we truly appreciate it and will definitely forward this to our Claims teams who are working extra hard during these unprecedented times to handle the increased claims and enquiries as quickly as possible. You may also email us the name of the Claims Executive to [email protected] so we can thank him/her properly and make his/her day. šŸ˜Š We are all in this together! Stay safe and healthy always from all of us at MSIG.
  • Updated on 02 May 2020
    When I travel and need travel insurance I'll buy from MSIQ. It's always been my first choice. Application is easy and the rates are competitive. Edit. Hope when the covid situation eases, all companies can ride out this difficult periods and offers the best to consumers.
    1 comment
    0
    MSIG Singapore
    MSIG Singapore

    03 May 2020

    Hi Dexter, thank you for your support and we are glad that we have always been your first choice. If you have any other feedback, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] We will be happy to assist. Meanwhile, please take care of yourself and stay healthy! We will all get through this together. #SGUnited.
  • Updated on 08 Apr 2020
    Easy to apply with comprehensive coverage and information. Reasonable and competitive pricing as they have promotions now and then. Definitely one of the top choices to consider!
    1 comment
    0
    MSIG Singapore
    MSIG Singapore

    08 Apr 2020

    Hi Shougki, thank you for leaving your review. If you have any other feedback or require assistance, please reach out to us at [email protected] We will be happy to help. Thank you.
  • Updated on 04 Mar 2020

    Purchased

    MSIG TravelEasy Standard

    [Claims Process] Rather fast! [Purchase Process] Hassle free and convenient! [Customer Service] Patient and knowledgeable staff! Will recommend it to my family and friends!
    1 comment
    0
    MSIG Singapore
    MSIG Singapore

    05 Mar 2020

    Thank you, Kelvin. If you have any other feedback, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] We'll be happy to learn more.
Questions (2)
Recent ActivityUnansweredTrending

MSIG TravelEasy

Travel Insurance

Travel

Insurance

What would be a good alternative to MSIG TravelEasy travel insurance?
Kenneth Lou
Kenneth Lou, Co-founder at Seedly
Level 9. God of Wisdom
Answered on 11 Feb 2020
Hey friend! if you actually look at the reviews on Seedly I believe you can get a pretty balanced view of all the options available in the market: https://seedly.sg/reviews/travel-insurance For me personally, I bought Etiqa insurance for most of my longer trips and bigger ones, which may be more expensive or further (eg to EU or US) as I have had a very good experience with them recently for my mum's luggage which handle broke. They actually repaid the $150 amount for the luggage via paynow within 1 day of the claim itself, which is bloody impressive for a travel insurance company today. So massive kudos to them!
šŸ‘ 0

MSIG TravelEasy

Insurance

Does MSIG TravelEasy provide coverage for travellers with pre-medical conditions?
Hi Hamzah, You would have to look at MSIG Travel Easy Pre-ex, not the original Travel Easy plan. Please note that you'll be subject to a few questions when you apply to ensure that you do indeed qualify for the plan. The actual policy wording as follows: The insured person must meet all the following conditions to be eligible for TravelEasy Pre-Ex cover: 1. The insured person is following his treating doctor's advice for all his pre-existing medical conditions. This includes not refusing or delaying any monitoring, medical appointment, medical test, medication, treatment or surgery. 2. The insured person does not have any medical condition or symptom which he has not consulted a doctor for or for which he is waiting for medical test, medical result, diagnosis, treatment or surgery. 3. In the last 12 months, the insured person has not had any pre-existing medical condition which has required them to: - Receive treatment at a hospital's Accident and Emergency Department more than once; - Stay in a hospital as an inpatient for more than three days in a row; and - Stay in a hospital as an inpatient for more than once.
šŸ‘ 2

What Are Some Benefits of MSIG TravelEasy Travel Insurance?

  • Maternity-related overseas medical expenses: For pregnancy-related ailments, whether nausea and giddiness or otherwise
  • Change of traveller option: Should an insured person - whether a family member or travel partner - suffer serious injury or death 30 days prior to the trip, you'll be covered for your travel replacement companion.
  • Insolvency of travel agency or operator: If your travel operator/agency is declared insolvent, you'll be compensated - so long as it's registered with the Singapore Tourism Board. (That includes NATAS-registered travel agencies.)
  • Emergency medical evacuation: You'll get medical coverage for up to $1,000,000 on the Standard Plan
  • Flight delays: If you're caught in a a flight delay, you'll be compensated the excess administrative and travel fees incurred for alternative transport.

The full benefits are fleshed out below (see: Plan Tiers, Promo Codes and Prices).

What Countries Are Covered Under MSIG TravelEasy Travel Insurance?

Countries covered under its travel insurance plan are split into three areas, as follows:

  • Area A (ASEAN countries): Brunei, Cambodia, Thailand, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam
  • Area B (Countries in Asia): Countries in Area A - and Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, India, Korea, Sri Lanka, China (excluding Mongolia and Tibet)
  • Area C (Rest of world): Worldwide, including countries in Areas A and B

Plan Tiers Offered by MSIG TravelEasy

The cost depends on the destination and duration of travel. The complete list of prices can be found on the official MSIG TravelEasy page, but here's a quick overview of premiums for Single Trips and Annual Plans.

Standard

Elite

Premier

Single Trip (first 3 days): $32 to $80
Single Trip (daily rate): $5 to $11
Annual Plan: $225 to $450

Single Trip (first 3 days): $44 to $104
Single Trip (daily rate): $6.50 to $14
Annual Plan: $310 to $585

Single Trip (first 3 days): $62 to $145
Single Trip (daily rate): $9 to $18
Annual Plan: $435 to $720

MSIG Premiums (Area A)

Standard

Elite

Premier

Single Trip (first 3 days): $38 to $95
Single Trip (daily rate): $6.50 to $13
Annual Plan: $270 to $500

Single Trip (first 3 days): $52 to $132
Single Trip (daily rate): $8.50 to $17.50
Annual Plan: $350 to $640

Single Trip (first 3 days): $80 to $188
Single Trip (daily rate): $10.50 to $22
Annual Plan: $480 to $800

MSIG Premiums (Area B)

Standard

Elite

Premier

Single Trip (first 3 days): $55 to $140
Single Trip (daily rate): $9.50 to $17
Annual Plan: $385 to $650

Single Trip (first 3 days): $72 to $170
Single Trip (daily rate): $11 to $22
Annual Plan: $485 to $800

Single Trip (first 3 days): $100 to $230
Single Trip (daily rate): $15 to $27.50
Annual Plan: $650 to $1,000

MSIG Premiums (Worldwide, including Areas A and B)

If you're traveling in a group of two or more people (i.e. not solo), you'll appreciate that a group discount automatically applies.

You'll get 10% off for two to 10 insured persons, and 15% off for 11 to 20 insured persons.

Beyond travel insurance prices, here's an overview of some corresponding coverage types per plan:

What You'll Get

Standard Plan

Elite Plan

Premier Plan

Accidental death and permanent total disability

Individual cover: $50,000 (child) to $150,000 (adult below 70 years old)
Adult & child/family cover:
$400,000 collectively

Individual cover: $75,000 (child) to $200,000 (adult below 70 years old)
Adult & child/family cover:
$550,000 collectively

Individual cover: $10,000 (child) to $500,000 (adult below 70 years old)
Adult & child/family cover:
$1,200,000 collectively

Child education grant (upon accidental death of an insured parent)

Not covered

$5,000 per child; up to $20,000

$8,000 per child; up to $32,000

Overseas medical expenses

Individual cover: $150,000 (child) to $250,000 (adult below 70 years old)
Adult & child/family cover:
$800,000 collectively

Individual cover: $200,000 (child) to $500,000 (adult below 70 years old)
Adult & child/family cover:
$1,400,000 collectively

Individual cover: $300,000 (child) to $1,000,000 (adult below 70 years old)
Adult & child/family cover:
$2,600,000 collectively

Insolvency of licensed travel operator

Individual cover: $2,000
Adult & child/family cover:
$4,000 collectively

Individual cover: $4,000
Adult & child/family cover:
$8,000 collectively

Individual cover: $6,000
Adult & child/family cover:
$12,000 collectively

Unused entertainment tickets (e.g. theme parks, performances, concerts) oweing to death, injury or illness

Not covered

Individual cover: $300
Adult & child/family cover:
$600

Individual cover: $500
Adult & child/family cover:
$1,000

MSIG TravelEasy Travel Insurance Coverage

Additional Things to Know About MSIG TravelEasy Travel Insurance

  • The coverage limit for terrorism acts is collectively capped at $5,000,000 per event for all insured persons.
  • MSIG TravelEasy Travel Insurance does not cover claims relating to the Hong Kong protests.
  • Foreigners residing in Singapore may apply, so long as they hold an employment pass or work permit - and are being insured for a round trip (i.e. departing from and returning to Singapore) within the stated period.
  • Persons aged 70 and up are only eligible for Single Trip Plans, and not Annual Plans.
  • Travel insurance coverage extension can be requested for midway through your trip, at a minimum cost of $10.

Still unsure? Find out everything you need about travel insurance - including the claims process, who the best travel insurance providers in Singapore are, and the key differences between Single Trip and Annual Plans.

MSIG TravelEasy Travel Insurance Contact Info

  • 24-hour emergency hotline: +65 6323 8288
  • Customer service hotline: +65 6827 7602
  • SMS enquiries: +675 9158 1660
  • Address: MSIG Insurance, 4 Shenton Way, #02-01 SGX Centre 2
  • Email: [email protected]

About MSIG Insurance

Foreign-based insurer MSIG Insurance was established in 2002, and sits under MSIG Holdings (Asia) Pte Ltd. At large, its parent company - Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Company (MSI) - has net premiums totalling some US$13 billion, and assets worth almost US$59 million.

As a member of the MS&AD Group, MSIG Insurance is one of several well-established general insurers whose products in Singapore span personal and commercial insurance plans.