YouTrip
4
4 reviews
Reviews (4)
4
Reviews (4)
4
  • 5
    1
  • 4
    2
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Most Upvote

  • Most Upvote
  • Most Recent
  • Low to High
  • High to Low
  • Updated on 29 Nov 2018
    Got the card a month ago - received it within 4 days of signing up. So far so good. The currency exchange rates are really quite promising compared to local money changers' rates. I think what is really helpful (for frequent travellers) is that you can store currencies in the account. The only drawback is that you cannot withdraw money out of the account, but what I do is then use it for bus and train fares.
    0 comments
    1
  • I selected 3 stars because it's obviously not my first choice to use it again. Pros: Easy sign-up process; I didn't have to wait long for card to arrive and activation is easy. Also, rates vs banks & money exchange is good! I am actually using the card more and more until... Cons: I noticed that transactions isn't just appearing later; they are NOT appearing in the app at all. I went Malaysia, made a few big purchases and noticed the amount was charged but did not appear in the transaction at all. Now, if I need to use the card I need to consciously check it every time after usage to make sure I'm not being charged wrongly and that the transaction actually appears. Also, I've sent in request for more than a month to send me the breakdown statement and nobody has gotten back. Verdict: Would I use it again? Yes, because of the excellent exchange rates, convenience (mastercard, paywave applicable and don't have to hassle myself by topping up or activating the card at MRT stations) + the fact that it is a security feature to be able to deactivate the card simply by opening the app with fingerprint and click the button. Also, in case of theft; it's limited to what you have top up and not the entire bank a/c. But nah... I have to monitor my every transaction like a hawk is like nono... they need to fix it. Fast.
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 24 Apr 2019
    Registering for the card: - 1-2 weeks. Due to its high demand now, it has taken a longer time for me to get it vs. some others who may take a few days. - KYC process was quick, just the IC details and a snapshot of it Suitable for: - Multi-currency online purchases - Transacting G10 currencies. Not too sure about other currencies as the exchange rate will only be displayed after you make the transaction - Purchases under SGD6000, since that’s the daily spend limit Fees: - No transfer fees - SGD10 card replacement fee - SGD5 atm withdrawal fee, deducted from your YouTrip card - SGD5 per month if your YouTrip account is dormant for 12 months from last transaction. don’t worry, you’ll be reminded once it hits 9 months from last transaction The currency conversions, amount deposits, card activation-all works on the app and later paid with Youtrip card. I used it when I was travelling in Malaysia and London which was great & easy to use. Even better that I get credits after referring friends!
    0 comments
    0
  • Updated on 29 Nov 2018
    I met the YouTrip team once, and I'm surprised it was an actual mastercard and it took around 1 week for it to be activated. It was pretty straightforward, the typical KYC stuff, take photo of IC front and back etc. After that you get a SMS which says that you are activated. After that, the card can be used. I only used it locally so far (at any merchant which accepts Mastercard) which is a lot of them in Singapore, comes with a very nice app which shows you all the various currencies in the market which you can hold (up to 10 currencies). Will update again when I go overseas sometime in Feb 2019 (in Japan) :) Will definitely use this card while travelling, functions like a debit card. Only thing is that when you wanna withdraw money overseas it is $5 withdrawal fee in SGD. Worth a shot and One of the real big competitors to the DBS MCA!
    0 comments
    0
Questions (17)

Recent Activity

  • Recent Activity
  • Unanswered
  • Trending

YouTrip

General

Hi! I've actually just tried it. The thing is upon set up of the Youtrip app on your second phone, there would be a 6 digit PIN sent to your registered phone number. You need to activate that by keying in; so just make sure you are able to receive this pin by having your first phone ready next to you! Also note that access on your first phone would be logged out upon successful login on second phone. At any one time, only one device can access Youtrip app.

YouTrip

Credit Card

Unfortunately, pretty much everyone who has responded so far is quite on point. There are no perks for topping up to a preloaded credit card and even if there are, most banks do not acknowledge topups as a criteria to earn rewards. Mostly expenditures do.

YouTrip

Junus Eu
Junus Eu,
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (May)

Level 8. Wizard
Answered 2w ago
I got that as well, but it seems to be for checking purposes. I was charged $0.10 but later got a notification that it was reversed. Let me know if you have a similar situation!

YouTrip

Liam Lim Yu Zheng
Liam Lim Yu Zheng,
Level 3. Wonderkid
Updated 2h ago
I still hv referrals available (0 claimed, 10 available)! Get S$10 free money after your first top up! Get the app and accept the invitation with this special link : https://youtrip.app.link/ZI%20YANG105989

YouTrip

Credit Card

Chin Guo Qiang
Chin Guo Qiang,
Level 3. Wonderkid
Updated 2w ago
I personally use DBS SAFRA Credit Card as with $500 credit card spending comes a basic 3% cashback rebates, in the form of SAFRA$. Which can be used to offset credit card bill payments or redeem for Singapore Airlines (SQ) KrisFlyer Miles (not a good ratio though). Hope this helps. :)

YouTrip

Lok Yang Teng
Lok Yang Teng,
Level 6. Master
Updated 2w ago
Comparing between YouTrip and Revolut free plan: Both are able to store and exchange in 10 different currencies now (24 for Revolut users in Europe). For Revolut, you change exchange up to SGD 3,206 (Euro 5,000) subsequently a 2% fee whereas SGD 30,000 for YouTrip. The withdrawal limit is SGD 311 (Euro 200) for Revolut.

YouTrip

DBS Live Fresh Card

Credit Card

HC Tang
HC Tang, Financial Enthusiast, Budgeting at The Society
Level 8. Wizard
Answered on 07 Dec 2018
Yes it does. See: https://www.dbs.com.sg/iwov-resources/media/pdf/cards/dbs-lf-acqui-offer-q4-2018-tnc.pdf it's not in the list of exclusions then it's quite safe. You'll get also 10% cash back. Youtrip only good for travel to pay for items / trips / stuff overseas.

YouTrip

DBS Multi Currency Account

Travel

Lifestyle

Junus Eu
Junus Eu,
Top Contributor

Top Contributor (May)

Level 8. Wizard
Updated 2w ago
Personally, I prefer Youtrip for the competitive rates. I just used Youtrip on my Japan trip, and found rates to be comparable to what I could get from the Raffles Place money changers. Another big plus - when I was out of JPY for a transaction, it converted my SGD to JPY. Which also means, no small change that I need to change back to SGD when I get back! For me, that's a nice plus since I typically don't like to change it back to local currency. I don't mind using it as a one-way wallet, because I use Youtrip as an EZ-Link card as well for my local commute! Get S$10 free money after your first top up on Youtrip with this link! https://youtrip.app.link/HUI%20JUN128899 Update June 2019: 9 more available!

BOC Family Card

YouTrip

Credit Card

Png Cheng Xi Damien
Png Cheng Xi Damien, BSc Finance at SUSS
Level 4. Prodigy
Answered on 03 Nov 2018
Yes it counts as online spend to get 5% rebate. So does favepay, grabpay, and even Singtel online prepaid topup.

YouTrip

Lok Yang Teng
Lok Yang Teng,
Level 6. Master
Answered on 24 Nov 2018
Can take a look at this: https://seedly.sg/questions/what-are-the-main-differences-between-youtrip-rhb-travelfx-and-uob-mightyfx
Load more questions
About YouTrip
OperationsYouTrip is developed by You Technologies Group Limited. Based in Hong Kong and Singapore. Started in 2016 in with a core focus on travellers.
TypeMobile app with a physical Mastercard (also EZLINK)
Currencies SupportedIt also supports exchange of 10 currencies so you can conveniently lock-down competitive rates before your trip.
FeesFree signup for card 0% Transaction fee 0% Top up fee $5 Dormancy fee (after 12 months of inactivity)

About YouTrip

YouTrip is Singapore’s first multi-currency mobile wallet with a prepaid Mastercard. Specially designed for travellers to pay overseas with no fees in over 150 currencies, YouTrip’s app allows you to exchange and store up to 10 currencies in-app so you can conveniently lock-down competitive rates before your trip.

YouTrip Features

  • Supports currency conversion of over 150 currencies
  • Supports exchange and lock-down of competitive rates for up to 10 in-app currencies
  • Cash withdrawal available overseas with Mastercard, Maestro or Cirrus ATMs outside of Singapore at wholesale exchange rates. A withdrawal fee of SGD5 or foreign currency equivalent will apply.
  • Easy card deactivation through the app if YouTrip Mastercard is misplaced
  • Instant notifications each time a transaction is made

How It Works

  • Top up your YouTrip wallet on your mobile phone with any SGD credit or debit card for up to SGD3,000.
  • Monitor and exchange currencies at your preferred rates at any time. An alternative would be to utilise YouTrip’s SmartExchange technology, which allows automation in the exchange of current rates as you spend overseas.
  • Enjoy no transaction fees when used for cashless payments in-store and online worldwide.

More Info

You can visit YouTrip’s T&Cs here, and support here.

YouTrip Contact Info

  • Email: [email protected]
  • Contact number: +65 6904 9334
  • Address: 80 Robinsons Road, #02-00
  • Singapore 068898