BOC Family Card

BOC Family Card

3.8
(8)
Write Review
Ask Question

Ratings Breakdown (8)

3.8
  • 5
    2
  • 4
    3
  • 3
    3
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0
Card NameBOC Family Card
Cashback Rate5%-10%
Monthly Cashback Cap$100 per month
Monthly Min Spend$700
HighlightsBOC SmartSaver account holders, Dining, Online (including GRAB rides)
More about BOC Family Card
Reviews (8)
Q&A (1)
Sort by:
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Upvote
  • Lowest to Highest
  • Highest to Lowest
  • Png Cheng Xi Damien
    5 Reviews, 98 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 10 Aug 2018
    A new review after one year. The refused to waive the annual fee fully even though my spend is prolly above 10k per year. The still charged a total of $50 for one main and one supp card. That said, I'm still going to use it because the rebates are pretty good so far for rebates. I might stop once I change to a full points/miles system.
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Wilson Tan
    2 Reviews, 3 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 10 Jul 2018
    Good for dining and Super marketing spending with a high cash back of 10%. Only draw back is the cash back cap and high minimum spending of $700.
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • ZhanQing Koh
    10 Reviews, 14 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 09 Jun 2018
    Well, this card is alright. nothing much i can complain about. serve as a decent credit card for casual spending monthly. 1 thing to note is that the annual fee is $230 and the fee waiver process takes at least 2 working week before you get any notification.
    Comments (1)
    2
    0
    Share this
  • YY Yin Yu
    2 Reviews, 31 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 08 Jun 2018
    This is the cash back card i will recommend to others. ATU NETS FlashPay for up to 4 times per month earns you 5%. So every $50 top up earns you $2.5 but only pay 50 cents service fee. You can use this on public transportation, make payments where credit card is not accepted, only NETS (like People Park Complex). The usual Ezlink Top Up doesn't earn you anything. Besides, telco bill, hospital bill also earn 5% which is not very common to other credit card. You can also use this card to pay income tax/property tax, insurance premium, seasoned parking, condo maintenance fee etc via CardUp earns you 5% cash back. There is no other credit card that can offer the same (as far as i know lar). However, you need to pay 2.6% service fee to CardUp. This transaction will be categorised under online transaction which cap at $600 spent per month. Grocery shopping at 5% is just normal cashback you can get from most credit card. Therefore, if you consolidate these expenses into one card, it is easy to achieve $700 min spent per month. The cashback is cap at $100.
    Comments (0)
    1
    0
    Share this
  • Mingli Lin
    12 Reviews, 22 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 21 May 2018
    One of my fave cards I would say because the cash back is simple to achieve as long as you meet the monthly minimum spending ($500 when I first got the card months ago, now they revised to $700 per month since end Apr but it’s very doable for me cos I charge nearly everything to this card). Although they increased the minimum spending, BOC also upped some Cashback %, like dining is now 10% Cashback compared to 7%? (I think) before. Easy to use because there’s no other hoops to jump (eg. Some other cards required minimum 8 transactions of $30 at least plus $500 total per month to get cash back) BOC family card is simple. Just hit the minimum $700 and next month you will get the cash back which is directly credited to your bill and deducted from payment. Easy! 5% off on supermarkets. Everyone needs that! I would have given it a 5 star rating except that the internet banking isn’t so user friendly and some websites or retailers machines don’t accept BOC cards. I’ve faced some problems making payment in some outlets but not a major problem. The BOC call center staff are fantastic. Would recommend this card!
    Comments (0)
    2
    0
    Share this
  • Choon Yuan Chan
    23 Reviews, 109 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 19 May 2018
    Rating it cheekily. This is the best "dating" card. Guys will be relieved to know with the BOC card, there is a smaller hole burnt in their pockets with the 10% rebate for local dining and movie tickets. Of course, there is a cap of $30 per billing cycle (approx $30 expenses); so guys don't indulge your girlfriends too much with the BOC card :P As for families, there is a 5% rebate for grocery shopping and teleco bills. While the overall rebate cap for expenditures is $100 per month, this is acceptable given that financially prudent individuals are unlikely to spend a large expenditure. Best card out there at the moment, putting our local banks' credit cards to shame!
    Comments (0)
    2
    0
    Share this
  • HC Tang
    17 Reviews, 795 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 19 May 2018
    Been using this card for the past 8 months plus and in the past their other services. BOC is still NKOTB, so kinda in the past not really good in their offers until recent 1 to 2 years. Still my main card due to : Pros: - One of the highest for dining + Movie at 10% but capped at $30 per billing cycle - Telco/supermarket/hospital bill /netflashpay[first 4 auto top up with fees at $0.50 each auto top up]/best denki, Bigbox, Toys r us , Unity, Watson, all shared at 5% BUT Cap at $40! (So max spend is $800) - Online spend at 5% but cap at $30 (max spend $600) - Good to consolidate all your household charges/ spending to get the max cash back out of it! Cons: - They changed the min spend from $500 to $700, effective 24th April 2018! TOO MUCH! - Need to call up CSO to find out your billing period and it is based on book-keeping date (posting date), and different CSO actually gave me different date! Furious! - With everyone posting date different, and transaction may post 2 to 3 days after transaction date(depends on merchant), you need to buffer: (a) 2 day before the starting of the posting date and (b) 3 days before end of posting date => to ensure your transaction safely fall into the cash back period for yourself eg. If your posting date is: 17th Mar to 16th Apr, you need to spend on 15th Mar to 13th Apr to ensure it safely falls into your billing period to fulfill the $700 min spend and then ensure each cash back category doesn't get over the max cashback cap of each category. - Probably they realize they are paying too much cash back due to many pro user using their card! haha.. so they started consolidating spending category and limit the cash back. sigh... - Worst Internet banking and apps ever, confusing bill, troublesome to login, LONGEST 2FA code in the world!!! Very hard to calculate the cash back transactions validity. Overall, still the only good cashback cash in the market than the rest with easier spending to meet.
    Comments (0)
    2
    0
    Share this
  • Kenneth Lou
    12 Reviews, 678 Upvotes
    Reviewed on 18 May 2018
    Have been using this card for the past 6 months plus. Hands down this was one of my favourite cards which I selected after doing an assessment here: https://blog.seedly.sg/best-cashback-cards-for-working-adults-in-2017/ Pros: - One of the highest for dining (10%) but capped at $30 per billing cycle - Same for online and supermarket purchases which stands at 5% - Additional interest for your savings account if you are on the BOC SmartSaver account - Ideal for larger family sizes where this can be your main utility cards Cons: - They changed the min spend from $500 to $700 last month (April 2018) which kinda sucks :( - Beyond that, some of the caps include categories like dining and online at $30 each a month - This is the main reason why I am giving it only 4 stars and not 5 stars - Cashback was delayed for 2 months before and the UI on the app kinda is not good LOL - But the customer service called me up to check on the status etc which is not bad Overall, I may be switching to a miles card depending on our progress as a couple. And if my spending drops below $700 per month. But we'll see, in the meantime, it's nice to get good cashback monthly :)
    Comments (1)
    2
    0
    Share this

Write a review

Manage your money for free today!

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
  • Quick overview
    Quick overview of your bank and card transactions.
  • Secure syncing
    Secure syncing of your bank or credit cards transactions
  • Automatic categorization
    Automatic categorization and analysis for your expenses
Seedly app